Reviews
0
Review

Realme Buds Air Test - wireless headphones with game mode

by 23. April 2020
The young brand "Realme" not only wants to win the European market for itself with smartphones, but also brings the right accessories with it. This also includes the Realme Buds Air, so-called true wireless headphones, which not only want to outperform the competition in terms of sound, but also functionally. This test reveals whether this works.
Overview
Manufacturer/Model

Realme

Product

Realme Buds Air

Specifications

General
Driver: Dynamic driver
Size: 12 mm

Frequency range: unknown
Impedance: unknown
Sensitivity: Unknown

device
Default: 5.0 BLE
Range: up to 10 meters

P
* HSP
* HFP
* A2DP
* AVRCP

codec:
* SBC
* AAC

other
Microphone: yes (CVC)
Operation: Touch
Battery: 2-3 hours

Size: 41 16 x x 15 mm
Weight: 4g per earphone

What's in the box

1x Realme Buds Air
1x loading box
1x USB-C Charging Cable
1x user manual

Design, workmanship and delivery

If there were a ranking for Apple AirPods clones, the Realme Buds Air would be very far ahead. Except for small deviations in the details, the design is based on the expensive branded headphones. The plastic Realme Buds Air is available in white, black and yellow. A single earphone brings light weight 4 grams on the scales. The earphone head is ergonomically shaped and dispenses with interchangeable ear pieces.

To the left of the earbuds, to the right the charging case.

The earphone head is not just a loudspeaker, but also contains some sensors. So there is the side Proximity sensor for carrier detection. If you take the earbuds out of your ear, the music playback pauses automatically.

The touch operation is done via the outside of the earphone head. This finally merges into a slim shaft with a noise-reducing microphone in the upper part. The end of the shaft is formed by the two charging points and another microphone. The Realme Buds Air own no IP certification and are not waterproof in any other way.

The charging case is also very compact and can be easily stowed in your pocket. The weight of the case including earphones is 42 grams. The earbuds hold magnetically in the charging case. The same applies to the lid, which closes magnetically. Inside the bottom of the charging case is the USB-C socket, which is used to charge the case. The front is adorned with a discreet pairing button with a status LED above it.

Realme Buds Air scope of delivery with ear buds and charging cable.

The quality of workmanship the earphone is mediocre. One criticism is the seam of the earpiece, which is made up of two parts. This is not only unattractive to look at, it also accumulates dirt very quickly. The processing quality of the charging case is again not objectionable. The What's in the box includes the earbuds, the charging case, a USB-C charging cable and a quick guide.

Comfort

The Realme Buds Air fall under the category "Semi-in-ear". In contrast to conventional in-ear headphones, the earbuds sit only slightly in the ear canal. How well the Realme Buds Air holds in the ear depends heavily on the wearer. Because of the missing earmolds, there is no individual adjustment option. Instead, there is only one size that, according to Realme, is at least not a problem for most wearers.

From our own experience, the Buds Air are comfortably light in the ear. There is a certain hold, but there is no feeling of security. Jerky movements in particular quickly cause the earphones to slip and need to be readjusted. It is often the case that the touch control is triggered, which then interrupts the music playback or starts the smartphone assistant.

commissioning

The Realme Buds Air are Google Fast Pair compatible. This facilitates the connection process with an Android device. To pair, you only have to open the charging case. Nearby devices then receive the Fast Pair request, which can be accepted by simply tapping. The connection is established automatically without having to search for the device in the Bluetooth settings.

The connection process without Google Fast Pair is also straightforward. Open the charging case, press and hold the pairing button for 3 seconds and select the Realme Buds Air in the Bluetooth settings. The flashing green status LED indicates whether the headphones are in pairing mode.

Realme Buds Air in Apple AirPods look.

sound quality

Every earphone has one 12 mm driver with liquid crystal polymer membrane installed. Unfortunately, there is no information on the frequency response, impedance and sensitivity.

Depths, mid and highs

How well a headphone sits or, in the case of in-ear headphones, seals the ear canal has a decisive impact on the sound. The semi-in-ear design of Realme Buds Air is not the best choice, especially when it comes to insulation.

This is especially true in low end noticeable, which in a way lacks the "bang". To counteract this, Realme raised the bass (Dynamic Bass Boost). Nevertheless, the Realme Buds Air do not achieve a solid bass foundation. There is a lack of depth and the bass is audibly lacking in precision.

The In the middle are displayed in a pleasantly warm way. Vocals in particular come into their own. At high volume, the middle area appears a little too harsh. The location of individual instruments is possible to a certain extent. If too much happens at once, the Realme Buds Air are quickly overwhelmed and tend to get washed out.

The treble is somewhat weakened and the brilliance is missing a little bit. Despite the many small construction sites, the Realme Buds Air are not bad sounding in-ear headphones overall. A certain one dynamics is conveyed and there is a pleasant spatial image with stable location. Listening fun in everyday life is guaranteed. Realme Buds Air, however, does not meet high demands.

The 12 mm driver from Realme Buds Air.

device

The audio processor bears the name "Realme R1". The chip supports the current one Bluetooth 5.0 Connection standard and is characterized by a particularly low Latency of only 120 milliseconds out. High-resolution audio codecs, such as aptX, are not supported. Instead, you have to AAC / SBC to be satisfied. The stable transmission range is between 8 and 10 meters.

The low latency of Realme Buds Air is understandable. Bluetooth headphones often have to cope with delays in picture-sound synchronicity. This is not the case with realme earbuds. Image and sound are synchronized, which is why the headphones are also suitable for watching films.

Gaming Mode

To achieve the lowest possible latency, Realme Buds Air offer a special one Gaming mode. To activate, the touch field of both ear buds must be touched for a few seconds. The active gaming mode can be recognized by the sound of a starting engine. There are hardly any tonal differences between the music mode and the gaming mode. However, sound dropouts can occasionally occur in gaming mode.

The Realme earbuds with oval speakers and proximity sensors.

Operation and headset

Touch control

There is a touch sensor inside the outside of the earphone head that registers touches. Depending on the touch pattern, the Music playback (play, pause, skip) Taxes, Calls can be accepted or rejected or the Smartphone assistant can be called up. It is not possible to control the volume.

In the test, the touch control proved to be reliable despite the small contact area. In 9 out of 10 cases the touch was recognized and implemented correctly.

Microphone

Each earbud is equipped with two microphones. The microphone placed at the bottom is the main microphone. The microphone located in the transition between the shaft and the earphone head is responsible for reducing noise.

The voice quality is good and noise is effectively filtered. A slightly tinny or dull sound is perceptible depending on the situation, but is largely limited.

To the left of the earbuds, to the right is the open charging case.

Accumulator

There are good and bad approaches when it comes to batteries. The fast charging time of Realme Buds Air has been successful. Only 15 minutes into the charging case and the earbuds are already charged by 60 percent. A full charge takes approximately 25 minutes. With a full charging case, the earbuds can be charged up to four times.

The downside is the term. Here the Realme Buds Air just reach 2½ to 3 hours of music playback in one piece. This puts them at the lower end compared to other TWS headphones.

The charging case can be USB-C (USB 2.0) or even contactless charging (Qi). The charging process takes about 80 minutes via USB-C and 130 minutes without contact. Depending on the charge level, the LED indicator lights up in red (empty), yellow or green (full).

Price Comparison

Price history

Current prices

Edwaybuy
1-5 working days
54,99€
Coupon available!
4€Discount
EDWBBUDSAIR
Show

Price too high? Use our price alarm clock!

Prices last updated on: 27. May 2020 11: 02

Final Words

rating
Positive

Compact design
Hangs easily in the ear
Google Fast Pair
Sound with a warm character
Low latency
touch operation
Charging time of the earphones

Negative

Processing quality of earbuds
Poor outside noise insulation
Bad fit due to missing earmolds
Little draft
Mids quickly overwhelmed
Below average battery life

First impression
7.0
-
application
7.5
-
Design
6.5
-
Klang
6.0
-
Comfort
5.0
-
Features
7.5
-
Battery life
7.0
-
Summary

You have to like the design of semi-in-ears. Regardless of whether it's an expensive brand model or Realme Buds Air, the special shape of the earbuds has disadvantages. Missing earmolds also mean that the wearer cannot be adjusted. This adversely affects comfort and even the sound. In contrast to the conventional in-ear, which usually fills the ear canal, gaps arise in the semi-in-ear, which affect the overall sound.

The Realme Buds Air clearly lacks depth, which the advertised Dynamic Bass Boost does not compensate for. The mids sound pleasantly warm and full, the highs lack a bit of brilliance.

Touch control is an interesting approach. In the test, it worked surprisingly well and showed consistently high detection accuracy. The speech quality of the microphone is convincing.

There are good and bad approaches to the battery. With a total charging time of just 25 minutes, the earbuds can be charged relatively quickly. But the battery only lasts for 3 hours. There is a plus for the Qi charging option of the charging case.

6.6
Our rating
-
user Rating
You have rated this
guest
0 Comments
Inline feedback
View all comments

Reviews
0
Review

Realme Buds Air Test – Wireless Kopfhörer mit Game-Mode

by 23. April 2020
Die junge Marke „Realme“ möchte den europĂ€ischen Markt nicht nur mit Smartphones fĂŒr sich gewinnen, sondern bringt auch gleich die passenden Accessoires mit. Dazu gehören auch die Realme Buds Air, sogenannte True-Wireless Kopfhörer, die nicht nur klanglich, sondern auch funktional die Konkurrenz ĂŒbertreffen wollen. Ob das gelingt, verrĂ€t dieser Test.
Überblick
Hersteller

Realme

Produktbezeichnung

Realme Buds Air

Spezifikationen

Allgemein
Treiber: Dynamischer Treiber
GrĂ¶ĂŸe: 12 mm

Frequenzbereich: Unbekannt
Impedanz: Unbekannt
Empfindlichkeit: Unbekannt

Bluetooth
Standard: 5.0 BLE
Reichweite: bis 10 Meter

Profile:
*HSP
*HFP
*A2DP
*AVRCP

Codec:
*SBC
*AAC

Sonstige
Mikrofon: Ja (CVC)
Bedienung: Touch
Akku: 2-3 Stunden

GrĂ¶ĂŸe: 41 x 16 x 15 mm
Gewicht: 4g je Ohrhörer

Lieferumfang

1x Realme Buds Air
1x Ladebox
1x USB-C Ladekabel
1x Bedienungsanleitung

Design, Verarbeitung und Lieferumfang

GĂ€be es ein Ranking fĂŒr Apple AirPods Klone, dann wĂŒrden die Realme Buds Air sehr weit vorne liegen. Bis auf kleine Abweichungen im Detail, ist das Design dem teuren Markenkopfhörer nachempfunden. Die aus Kunststoff gefertigten Realme Buds Air gibt es in Weiß, Schwarz und in Gelb. Ein einzelner Ohrhörer bringt leichte 4 Gramm auf die Waage. Der Ohrhörerkopf ist ergonomisch geformt und verzichtet auf austauschbare OhrpassstĂŒcke.

Links der Earbuds, rechts das Ladecase.

Der Ohrhörerkopf ist kein reiner Lautsprecher, sondern beinhaltet auch einiges an Sensorik. So befindet sich seitlich der NÀherungssensor zur TrÀgererkennung. Nimmt man die Earbuds aus dem Ohr, pausiert die Musikwiedergabe automatisch.

Die Touchbedienung erfolgt ĂŒber die Außenseite des Ohrhörerkopfes. Dieser geht schließlich in einen schlanken Schaft ĂŒber, bei dem sich im oberen Teil ein gerĂ€uschreduzierendes Mikrofon befindet. Das Ende des Schafts bilden die zwei Ladepunkte und ein weiteres Mikrofon. Die Realme Buds Air besitzen keine IP-Zertifizierung und sind auch in sonstiger Weise nicht wasserdicht.

Das Ladecase ist ebenfalls sehr kompakt gehalten und lĂ€sst sich problemlos in der Hosentasche verstauen. Das Gewicht des Case samt Ohrhörer betrĂ€gt 42 Gramm. Die Earbuds halten magnetisch im Ladecase. Gleiches gilt fĂŒr den Deckeln, der magnetisch schließt. Innerhalb der Unterseite des Ladecase befindet sich die USB-C Buchse, worĂŒber das Case geladen wird. Die Vorderseite ziert ein dezenter Pairing-Knopf mit darĂŒberliegender Status-LED.

Realme Buds Air Lieferumfang mit Earbuds und Ladekabel.

Die VerarbeitungsqualitĂ€t der Ohrhörer ist mittelmĂ€ĂŸig. Ein Kritikpunkt ist die Naht, des aus zwei Teilen zusammengesetzten Ohrhörers. Diese ist nicht nur unschön anzusehen, in ihr sammelt sich auch sehr schnell Schmutz an. Die VerarbeitungsqualitĂ€t des Ladecase ist wiederum nicht zu beanstanden. Der Lieferumfang umfasst die Earbuds, das Ladecase, ein USB-C Ladekabel und eine Kurzanleitung.

Tragekomfort

Die Realme Buds Air fallen unter die Kategorie „Semi-In-Ear“. Im Gegensatz zu herkömmlichen In-Ear Kopfhörern, sitzen die Earbuds nur leicht im Gehörgang. Wie gut die Realme Buds Air im Ohr halten, hĂ€ngt stark vom jeweiligen TrĂ€ger ab. Wegen der fehlenden OhrpassstĂŒcke gibt es keine individuelle Anpassungsmöglichkeit. Stattdessen gibt es nur eine EinheitsgrĂ¶ĂŸe, die laut Realme zumindest den meisten TrĂ€gern keine Probleme bereitet.

Aus eigener Erfahrung, liegen die Buds Air angenehm leicht im Ohr. Ein gewisser Halt ist vorhanden, allerdings fehlt das GefĂŒhl von Sicherheit. Gerade ruckartige Bewegungen fĂŒhren sehr schnell dazu, dass die Ohrhörer verrutschen und man nachjustieren muss. Dabei wird nicht selten die Touchbedienung ausgelöst, die dann die Musikwiedergabe unterbricht oder den Smartphone Assistenten startet.

Inbetriebnahme

Die Realme Buds Air sind Google Fast Pair kompatibel. Das erleichtert den Verbindungsvorgang mit einem Android GerĂ€t. Zum Koppeln muss man lediglich das Ladecase öffnen. Umliegende GerĂ€te erhalten anschließend die Fast Pair Anfrage, die sich durch bloßes antippen annehmen lĂ€sst. Der Verbindungsaufbau erfolgt automatisch, ohne dass man das GerĂ€t in den Bluetooth-Einstellungen suchen muss.

Der Verbindungsvorgang ohne Google Fast Pair ist ebenfalls unkompliziert. Ladecase öffnen, den Pairing-Knopf fĂŒr 3 Sekunden gedrĂŒckt halten und die Realme Buds Air in den Bluetooth-Einstellungen auswĂ€hlen. Die grĂŒn-blinkende Status-LED gibt zu erkennen, ob sich der Kopfhörer im Pairing-Modus befindet.

Realme Buds Air im Apple AirPods Look.

 

KlangqualitÀt

Jeder Ohrhörer hat einen 12 mm Treiber mit FlĂŒssigkristallpolymer-Membran verbaut. Angaben zum Frequenzgang, der Impedanz und der Empfindlichkeit gibt es leider nicht.

Tiefen, Mitten und Höhen

Wie gut ein Kopfhörer sitzt, beziehungsweise im Falle von In-Ear Kopfhörern den Gehörkanal versiegelt, hat entscheidende Auswirkungen auf den Klang. Die Semi-In-Ear Bauweise der Realme Buds Air ist, gerade was die Isolierung betrifft, nicht die beste Wahl.

Das macht sich vor allem im Tieftonbereich bemerkbar, dem gewissermaßen der „Wumms“ fehlt. Um dem entgegenzuwirken hat Realme den Tiefton angehoben (Dynamic Bass Boost). Trotzdem erreichen die Realme Buds Air kein solides Bassfundament. Es mangelt an Tiefgang und den BĂ€ssen fehlt es hörbar an PrĂ€zision.

Die Mitten werden angenehm warm abgebildet. Gerade Vocals kommen gut zur Geltung. Auf hoher LautstĂ€rke erscheint der Mittenbereich etwas zu harsch. Die Ortung einzelner Instrumente ist bis zu einem gewissen Grad möglich. Passiert zu viel auf einmal, sind die Realme Buds Air schnell ĂŒberfordert und neigen dazu, zu verwaschen.

Der Hochtonbereich ist etwas abgeschwĂ€cht und es fehlt ein klein wenig die Brillanz. Trotz der vielen kleinen Baustellen, sind die Realme Buds Air insgesamt keine schlecht klingenden In-Ear Kopfhörer. Eine gewisse Dynamik wird vermittelt und es entsteht eine angenehme Raumabbildung mit stabiler Ortbarkeit. FĂŒr Hörspaß im Alltag ist durchaus gesorgt. Gehobenen AnsprĂŒchen werden die Realme Buds Air jedoch nicht gerecht.

Der 12 mm Treiber der Realme Buds Air.

Bluetooth

Der Audioprozessor trĂ€gt die Bezeichnung „Realme R1“. Der Chip unterstĂŒtzt den aktuellen Bluetooth 5.0 Verbindungsstandard und zeichnet sich durch eine besonders geringe Latenz von nur 120 Millisekunden aus. Hochauflösende Audio-Codecs, wie z.B. aptX, werden nicht unterstĂŒtzt. Stattdessen muss man sich AAC / SBC zufriedengeben. Die stabile Übertragungsreichweite liegt zwischen 8 und 10 Metern.

Die geringe Latenz der Realme Buds Air ist nachvollziehbar. HÀufig haben Bluetooth Kopfhörer mit Verzögerungen bei der Bild-Ton-SynchronitÀt zu kÀmpfen. Auf die Realme Earbuds trifft das nicht zu. Bild und Ton verlaufen synchron, weshalb sich der Kopfhörer auch zum Filmeschauen eignet.

Gaming Mode

Um eine möglichst geringe Latenz zu erreichen, bieten die Realme Buds Air einen speziellen Gaming Modus. Zum Aktivieren muss das Touchfeld beider Earbuds fĂŒr wenige Sekunden berĂŒhrt werden. Den aktiven Gaming Modus erkennt man am GerĂ€usch eines startenden Motors. Klangliche Unterschiede zwischen dem Musik Modus und dem Gaming Modus sind kaum vorhanden. Im Gaming Modus können jedoch vereinzelt Tonaussetzer auftreten.

Die Realme Earbuds mit ovalem Lautsprecher und NĂ€herungssensor.

Bedienung und Headset

Touchsteuerung

Innerhalb der Außenseite des Ohrhörerkopfes befindet sich ein Touchsensor, der BerĂŒhrungen registriert. Je nach BerĂŒhrungsmuster lĂ€sst sich die Musikwiedergabe (play, pause, skip) steuern, Anrufe lassen sich annehmen oder ablehnen oder der Smartphone-Assistent lĂ€sst sich aufrufen. Die Steuerung der LautstĂ€rke ist nicht möglich.

Im Test erwies sich die Touchsteuerung trotz kleiner BerĂŒhrungsflĂ€che als zuverlĂ€ssig. In 9 von 10 FĂ€llen wurde die BerĂŒhrung erkannt und korrekt umgesetzt.

Mikrofon

Jeder Earbud ist mit zwei Mikrofonen ausgestattet. Das am unteren Ende platzierte Mikrofon ist das Hauptmikrofon. Das im Übergang zwischen Schaft und Ohrhörerkopf befindliche Mikrofon ist fĂŒr die StörgerĂ€uschreduzierung zustĂ€ndig.

Die SprachqualitÀt ist gut und StörgerÀusche werden effektiv gefiltert. Ein leicht blecherner bzw. dumpfer Klang ist je nach Situation zwar wahrnehmbar, hÀlt sich jedoch weitestgehend in Grenzen.

Links der Earbuds, rechts das geöffnete Ladecase.

Akku

In Sachen Akku gibt es gute und schlechte AnsÀtze. Gelungen ist die schnelle Ladezeit der Realme Buds Air. Nur 15 Minuten ins Ladecase und die Earbuds sind bereits um 60 Prozent geladen. Ein kompletter Ladevorgang dauert ungefÀhr 25 Minuten. Mit einem vollen Ladecase lassen sich die Earbuds bis zu viermal laden.

Die Kehrseite ist die Laufzeit. Hier erreichen die Realme Buds Air gerade einmal 2 Âœ bis 3 Stunden Musikwiedergabe am StĂŒck. Damit liegen sie im Vergleich zu anderen TWS Kopfhörern am unteren Ende.

Das Ladecase lĂ€sst sich per USB-C (USB 2.0) oder sogar kontaktlos laden (Qi). Der Ladevorgang dauert per USB-C ungefĂ€hr 80 Minuten und kontaktlos 130 Minuten. Der LED-Indikator leuchtet je nach Ladestand in rot (leer), gelb oder grĂŒn (voll).

Preisvergleich

Preisentwicklung

Aktuelle Preise

Edwaybuy
1-5 Werktage
54,99€

Preis zu hoch? Nutze unseren Preiswecker!

Preise zuletzt aktualisiert am: 31. Mai 2020 23:01

Testergebnis

Bewertung
Positiv

Kompaktes Design
HĂ€ngt leicht im Ohr
Google Fast Pair
Klang mit warmem Charakter
Geringe Latenz
Touchbedienung
Ladezeit der Ohrhörer

Negativ

VerarbeitungsqualitÀt der Earbuds
Schlechte AußengerĂ€uschisolierung
Schlechte TrĂ€geranpassung wegen fehlender OhrpassstĂŒcke
Wenig Tiefgang
Schnell ĂŒberforderte Mitten
Unterdurchschnittliche Akkulaufzeit

Erster Eindruck
7.0
Verarbeitung
7.5
Design
6.5
Klang
6.0
Tragekomfort
5.0
Funktionsumfang
7.5
Akkulaufzeit
7.0
Fazit

Das Design von Semi-In-Ears muss man mögen. Egal ob teures Markenmodell oder Realme Buds Air, die spezielle Form der Earbuds bringt Nachteile mit sich. Fehlende OhrpassstĂŒcke heißt auch fehlende Anpassungsmöglichkeit an den TrĂ€ger. Das wirkt sich nachteilig auf den Tragekomfort und sogar den Klang aus. Im Gegensatz zum herkömmlichen In-Ear, der meist den Gehörgang ausfĂŒllt, entstehen beim Semi-In-Ear LĂŒcken, die das gesamte Klangbild beeintrĂ€chtigen.

So fehlt es den Realme Buds Air eindeutig an Tiefgang, den auch der beworbene Dynamic Bass Boost nicht ausgleicht. Die Mitten klingen wiederum angenehm warm und fĂŒllig, den Höhen fehlt es etwas an Brillanz.

Ein interessanter Ansatz ist die Touchbedienung. Im Test funktionierte diese ĂŒberraschend gut und zeigte eine durchweg hohe Erkennungsgenauigkeit. Die SprachqualitĂ€t des Mikrofons ĂŒberzeugt.

Gute und schlechte AnsĂ€tze gibt es beim Akku. Mit nur 25 Minuten Gesamtladezeit sind die Earbuds vergleichsweise schnell aufgeladen. DafĂŒr hĂ€lt der Akku aber auch nur 3 Stunden. Einen Pluspunkt gibt es fĂŒr die Qi-Lademöglichkeit des Ladecase.

6.6
Unsere Bewertung
Nutzerbewertung
You have rated this
guest
0 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments