Reviews
0
Review

Xiaomi Mi A1 / Mi 5X Review - 200 € Xiaomi middle class

by 29. July 2018

The Xiaomi Mi A1 and the Xiaomi Mi 5X are two identical, but in detail but completely different Xiaomi midrange smartphones. How the two smartphones differ and whether they go through as a cheap Daily Driver, you'll find out in the following review!

overview
Manufacturer/Model

Xiaomi

Product

Xiaomi Mi A1 / Xiaomi Mi5X

Specifications

Processor and memory
CPU: Qualcomm Snapdragon 625
GPU: Adreno 506
RAM: 4GB (LPDDR3)
Internal memory: 32GB / 64GB (eMMC5.1)
Memory extension: Yes

Display
Display Type: LTPS
Display diagonal: 5.5 inches
Display resolution: 1920 x 1080 pixels
Screen Protector: Unknown
Multitouch: 10 fingers

cameras
Main Camera: 12 Megapixel OmniVison OV12A10 + 13 Megapixel OmniVision OV13880
* 2-fold telephoto zoom
* Autofocus
* Dual Tone LED Flash
Front camera: 5 Megapixel Samsung S5K5E8

Network
Dual SIM: Yes
SIM size: Nano SIM

Bands - Xiaomi Mi A1
*2G:GSM 2/3/5/8
*3G:WCDMA 1/2/5/8
* 4G: TD-LTE 38 / 40
*4G:FDD-LTE 1/3/4/5/7/8/20

Ribbons - Xiaomi Mi 5X
*2G:GSM 2/3/5/8
* 2G: CDMA BC0
* 3G: CDMA EVDO BC0
*3G:WCDMA 1/2/5/8
* 3G: TDS-CDMA 34 / 39
*4G:TD-LTE 34/38/39/40/41
*4G:FDD-LTE 1/3/5/7/8

wireless
WiFi: 802.11 a / b / g / n / ac
Bluetooth: 4.2
GPS: Yes

sensors
* Ambient light sensor
* Accelerometer
* Proximity Sensor
* Hall sensor
* E-Compass
*Gyroscope
* Fingerprint Sensor

Accumulator
Battery: 3.080 mAh
Quick charge function: Quick Charge 3.0

Other
Connection: USB-C, 3.5 mm jack
Operating System: Android 7.1.2 (MIUI 8.5 / 9)
Size: 155.4 75.8 x x 7.3 mm
Weight: 165g

Scope of delivery

1x Xiaomi Mi A1 / Mi5X
1x charger
1x USB-C Charging Cable
1x SIM needle
1x user manual

Xiaomi Mi A1 / Mi 5X: Foreword

Meanwhile, the successor is the Xiaomi Mi A2, appeared. We also took a closer look at this in the test!

To the Xiaomi Mi A2 test

Xiaomi is known for launching a new smartphone almost every month. Often existing model series are extended by new devices, which quickly loses track of things. The 5er Mi model series alone, which also includes the Xiaomi Mi 5X, now consists of 5 models, which could not be more different. As an "international" version of the Mi 5X is the Android One Smartphone "Xiaomi Mi A1" appeared. This offers in addition to the pure stick Android experience also in this country usual mobile radio frequency bands.

Design, workmanship and delivery

First of all: The Xiaomi Mi 5X as well as the Xiaomi Mi A1 are identical and only differ in terms of the supported mobile radio frequencies and the operating system. The Xiaomi Mi 5X is intended and supported mainly for the Chinese market no LTE band 20, The user interface is MIUI 8 or 9. The Xiaomi Mi A1 on the other hand supports LTE Band 20 and will ship with Stock Android! As an Android One device receives the Mi A1 Software updates directly from Google!

The smartphone impresses with an appealing Aluminum unibody, in which both the case frame, as well as the back are made in one piece. Compared to other unibody models of the manufacturer, the frame is relatively flat and goes steeply into the back. The frame edges are simply rounded and only the antenna covers emerge discreetly. Regarding the case color are optional Colors Black, Gold and Rose Gold to select. The Dimensions of the 5.5 inch device are 155.4 mm in length, 75.8 mm in width and narrow 7.3 mm in thickness. The Weight is 165g.

Xiaomi Mi5X / Xiaomi Mi A1 front

front side is the 5.5 inch large display, which is from a 3.5 mm wide bezel is surrounded. By the 2.5 display glass The edges of the glass are clearly rounded, but do not go seamlessly into the unibody case. Below the display are three capacitive control buttonswhich are also lit. Above are the pinna, the front camera, a proximity sensor, and a white-shining Notification LED.

Xiaomi Mi5X / Xiaomi Mi A1 back

The housing frame has a typical layout with the SIM slot on the left, the power button on the right and the volume rocker, the USB-C jack with speaker and microphone next to it and an 3.5 mm audio port. The top of the housing frame form Infrared transmitter, as well as another, noise-canceling microphone.

The back is, as already mentioned, extremely simple. Top left is the dual main camera with LED flash. In the upper third of the case back, the round fingerprint scanner is also embedded in the housing. In the lower third is the "Mi logo". The back is not removable, so the battery can not be changed.

Xiaomi Mi5X / Xiaomi Mi A1 Front Side (2)

The build quality is not objectionable overall. The smartphone leaves a particularly high-quality impression with a good feel. The package includes the smartphone, a charger with NEMA-1 plug, a USB-C cable, a SIM needle, and a Chinese user manual.

Xiaomi Mi5X / Xiaomi Mi A1 connectors

Display

The display has a Diagonal of 5.5 inches and dissolves in it Full-HD on. The panel is of the type "LTPS" (Low Temperature Poly Silicon) and, in contrast to conventional LCDs, is characterized by lower power consumption, more compact production and higher display brightness. The dot density is 403 DPI, resulting in a crisp presentation. Colors are predominantly subtle, but still rendered natural. If you do not like the rather cool color reproduction, you can correct the color and the contrast within the display settings. An additional one read mode ensures that blue light is filtered, which helps protect one's eyes while reading and reduces the sleep-night rhythm.

At the same time the display of the Xiaomi Mi A1 or Mi 5X convinced by a accurate viewing angle stabilitywhich also withstands maximum viewing angles. The luminance 450 nit, which should make the display easy to read even in strong sunshine, at least in theory. In practice, however, the highly reflective display glass affected the readability in direct light. The automatic brightness adjustment functioned flawlessly in the test.

The Touchscreen supports up to 10 simultaneous input. All inputs were precisely recognized during the test phase. So-called ghost touches did not occur as expected. Which protective glass Xiaomi used in this smartphone is not known, however, even after several weeks of testing, with daily use, no signs of wear and tear.

Performance

The core piece forms Qualcomm Snapdragon 625 system-on-chipwhich belongs to the Qualcomm mid-range sector and has already appeared in early 2016. The im 14nm procedure manufactured processor consists of 8 Cortex-A53 coresthat clock up to 2 GHz. The processor graphics forms an Adreno 506 GPU. The storage facilities amounts to a 4GB LPDDR3 memory and, depending on the model 32GB or 64GB large eMMC 5.1 flash memory. A memory expansion by means of micro SD memory card is provided. Note, however, that a so-called Hybrid SIM slot which allows either the use of the dual SIM function or SIM + memory expansion.

Although the Snapdragon 625 can not keep up with the current high-end processors, it allows for the Practice a fluid user experience. Applications start in an appropriate framework and switching between multiple applications is fluent. Even in the multitasking The smartphone gives off a good figure, which is mainly due to the fast RAM. current Mobile Games are no problem for the smartphone. Depending on the game, however, smaller picture losses are to be expected. Here current flagships are clearly superior. The smartphone can score points in the development of heat, which is low even with intensive use.

User Interface

The Xiaomi Mi 5X is the first Xiaomi smartphone to release the new Xiaomi MIUI 9 had received. At least the first batch will be delivered with MIUI 8.5 Stable, which is based on Android 7.1.2. Anyone who has received an older model with MIUI 8.5, however, can easily update to MIUI 9. Updates are automatically distributed to the smartphone over the air (OTA). Meanwhile, however, the smartphone is delivered directly with MIUI 9.

The Mi 5X pre-installed MIUI user interface is mainly intended for the Asian market and offers a limited choice of languages ​​as well no Google PlayStore, as well as multiple apps that are of no use to us. A multi-lingual Global ROM destined for the Western market does not yet exist. The Google PlayStore can currently only be installed manually. An alternative to the MIUI stable is the Xiaomi EU ROM, a custom ROM that is based on the Chinese counterpart, but has been adapted. To flash this ROM, however, the Bootloader unlocked.

Xiaomi Mi A1 again, not with MIUI, but as "Android One" smartphone with a pure Stock Android delivered. The advantage is that you get a pure Android that has no manufacturer themes and apps preinstalled. In addition, the user interface has already been translated in several languages ​​and German can be selected without problems as the system language. Another advantage of the Xiaomi Mi A1 are the guaranteed updates (2 years) on Android Oreo to Android 9.

Camera

Shortly after the release of the smartphone rumor went around that the image sensors of the dual main camera with those of the Xiaomi Mi6 identical. Meanwhile, one is smarter and knows that the dual main camera of the device, although also from a normal image sensor and a telephoto zoom sensor composed, but not by Sony, but by OmniVision come. More precisely, it is one 12 Megapixel OmniVison OV12A10 sensor with f / 2.2 aperture and one 13 Megapixel OmniVision OV13880 sensor with f / 2.6 aperture, The 5 megapixel sensor of the front camera comes from Samsung and is called S5K5E8.

main camera

The pictures taken with the main camera can be quite impressive and are more than adequate for the assignment as a mid-range smartphone. With the dual camera setup of a Xiaomi Mi6 or OnePlus 5 still can not keep up with the main camera.

The color coordination The main camera is comparatively cold. On the one hand, this does not produce exaggerated bright colors, at the same time the color cold dominates, making white appear rather bluish. Plus points collects the main camera in the detail view and the definition, In particularly good lighting conditions crisp, sharp images are possible, on which details are particularly pronounced. Of the Phase Detection Autofocus (PDAF) Do a good job and shine with a fast and accurate focus. The same applies to the trip timethat allows fast, subsequent image captures. With increasingly poor lighting conditions, the image noise also increases significantly and details are visibly lost. There is also a negative impact on the focus, which requires much longer to focus and sometimes focuses incorrectly. By the missing optical image stabilization It will also be more difficult to take shake-free and sharp pictures at the same time.

Videos takes the main camera at maximum 4K resolution on. Overall, the recording quality. Nevertheless, there are also some criticisms here. First, additional image stabilization would have been desirable. In addition, the CAF (Continuous Autofocus) Slightly reacts. To criticize, however, is above all the quality of the recorded sound. The sound sounds a bit dull and sibilants are insufficiently filtered.

front camera

The front camera solve with 5 Megapixel on. Both the image and video recording quality are not objectionable, as long as you use the camera in good lighting conditions. With decreasing lighting conditions, the quality of the recording also decreases significantly.

Camera app

The Camera app, in this case the MIUI camera app, does not differ from the app of other Xiaomi smartphones. The app is clearly structured and allows you to change the recording mode or make camera settings with just a few clicks. interesting shooting especially with the main camera. In addition to the normal picture-taking mode, there is also a panorama mode, a beautify mode, the tilt-shift mode and a night mode. The most interesting picture-taking mode, however, is the portrait mode, which shoots with the so-called "Bokeh" effect provides. At the same time, what is superficial appears in focus, whereas the underlying is blurred. The implementation of the bokeh effect succeeds so far well, even if in contrast to current flagship smartphones with similar function more often calculation errors occur and you have to repeat the image capture.

Audio

The smartphone has one Mono speakerwhich was placed at the bottom of the rack. The sound quality is convincing. Above all, the solid bass reproduction, which even some flagship smartphones can not reach, was particularly surprising. Overall, the speaker sounds pleasantly balanced. Even at maximum volume no unpleasant drone comes to the fore. Despite the USB-C socket, one is 3.5 mm audio connection available. The sound quality is not objectionable and convinces with a well-tuned sound. Within the headset settings, MIUI also provides one Equalizer and Audio Enhancer available, which allows the sound to be customized.

connectivity

Mobile

Im Mobile supported both the Xiaomi Mi 5X, as well as the Xiaomi Mi A1, Mobile radio standards of current generations, Restrictions exist however with the frequencies. As already indicated, the Xiaomi Mi 5X is mainly intended for the Chinese market and does not typically rely on Xiaomi's LTE band 20, which is widespread in this country. Especially in rural areas and depending on the mobile operator LTE is therefore only limited use. In contrast, the Xiaomi Mi A1 is intended for the global market and offers broader mobile support including LTE Band 20. Here is an overview of the different bands of the two models:

Ribbons - Xiaomi Mi 5X

  • 2G:GSM 2/3/5/8
  • 2G: CDMA BC0
  • 3G: CDMA EVDO BC0
  • 3G:WCDMA 1/2/5/8
  • 3G: TDS-CDMA 34 / 39
  • 4G:TD-LTE 34/38/39/40/41
  • 4G:FDD-LTE 1/3/5/7/8

Ribbons - Xiaomi Mi A1

  • 2G:GSM 2/3/5/8
  • 3G:WCDMA 1/2/5/8
  • 4G: TD-LTE 38 / 40
  • 4G:FDD-LTE 1/3/4/5/7/8/20

However, the voice quality of both Mi 5X and Mi A1 is disappointing. Although in the test the interlocutor could be clearly and clearly understood both through the auricle and via the loudspeaker, in the opposite direction, however, there were communication problems. In some cases, the microphone consumes speech and noise is not adequately filtered.

WiFi and Bluetooth

The are supported WiFi protocols 802.11a / b / g / n / ac, which avoids any use in both the 2.4 GHz and 5 GHz networks. There are no disadvantages with data throughput or signal strength. Bluetooth is supported with version 4.2.

GPS and sensors

Navigation with the smartphone leaves nothing to be desired. On GPS fix takes place within a few seconds and also during navigation, the signal remains constant. Positioning proved to be extremely accurate in the test. In addition to GPS will still AGPS, GLONASS and Beidou supported. On E-Compass is present, so that the smartphone can also be used as a pedestrian navigation. The sensory equipment amounts to a gyroscope, an acceleration sensor, a proximity sensor, an ambient light sensor and a Hall sensor. Xiaomi renounces NFC on this smartphone. By means of the IR transmitter The Mi 5X can be used with a suitable app as a TV remote control. The back Fingerprint scanner Provides a decent recognition rate and unlocks the smartphone in no time.

Accumulator

The Accumulator bring it to one Capacity of 3.080 mAh, With normal use a battery charge was enough for one Running time of about 1 ½ days, With lush use of the smartphone had to be recharged in the evening. The included charging adapter is the smartphone Fully charged after about 110 minutes, Unfortunately, this is not a Quick Charge 3.0 Charger, although Quick Charge 3.0 is supported as a quick charge function.

Price Comparison

Price comparison - buy offer on Amazon
Shipping Shipped from Germany
170,99€
Price Comparison - Buy Banggood
Shipping Shipping from Hong Kong
181,29€
Price comparison - buy offer at Geekbuying
Shipping Shipping from Europe
181,29€
Price comparison - buy offer at GearBest
Shipping Shipping from Hong Kong
207,49€
Price comparison - buy offer at Geekbuying
Shipping Shipped from Germany
217,55€
Price comparison - buy offer at GearBest
Shipping Shipping from Europe
229,53€
Price comparison - buy offer at Geekbuying
Shipping Shipping from Hong Kong
235,68€

Price too high? Use our price alarm clock!

Prices last updated on: 7. October 2019 14: 01
Price comparison - buy offer on Amazon
Shipping Shipped from Germany
184,90€
Price Comparison - Buy Banggood
Shipping Shipping from Hong Kong
199,42€
Price comparison - buy offer at Geekbuying
Shipping Shipping from Europe
199,42€
Price comparison - buy offer at Geekbuying
Shipping Shipping from Hong Kong
226,52€
Price comparison - buy offer at Geekbuying
Shipping Shipped from Germany
235,68€
Price comparison - buy offer at GearBest
Shipping Shipping from Hong Kong
243,18€

Price too high? Use our price alarm clock!

Prices last updated on: 7. October 2019 14: 01

Final Words

Positive

►Good build quality
►A nice design
►Liquid everyday operation
►Camera quality in good lighting conditions
►Receiving quality GPS, WiFi and Bluetooth
►Fast fingerprint sensor
►Good audio quality
►Good battery life

Negative

► older processor
►Camera quality in low light conditions
►No image stabilization
►Gesprächsqualität
► (no LTE band 20)

rating
Our rating
user Rating
Rate Here
First impression
8.0
-
application
9.0
-
Design
8.5
-
Display
8.5
-
Performance
6.5
-
User Interface
8.0
-
Camera
7.5
6.3
Fingerprint scanner
8.5
10
connectivity
7.0
8.9
GPS & sensors
8.0
-
Audio
8.5
4.3
Accumulator
7.5
8.3
Summary

Xiaomi is attracting more and more to the global market, which becomes even clearer with the release of the Xiaomi Mi A1 and the identical Xiaomi Mi 5X. Anyone who attaches great importance to up-to-date software will receive a two-year guarantee on clean stock Android updates with the Mi A1 Android One Smartphone. But even with the Chinese model, which has received as one of the first Xiaomi smartphones MIUI 9, you get a smartphone with cutting-edge user interface.

Of course, a purely up-to-date user interface does not make a good smartphone! On the hardware side, the two identical smartphones score with a powerful, albeit older, mid-range processor and a dual main camera that impresses with its above-average recording quality in terms of price. If you decide on the Mi 5X, you have to do without LTE Band 20 again. For the Xiaomi Mi A1 of course this criticism does not apply. Criticisms share both models in terms of call quality, which had some unexpected dropouts in the test. All in all, both smartphones provide a cheap and good overall package. Nevertheless, you should prefer the identical Xiaomi Mi A1 to the Mi 5X because of the far-reaching mobile phone support.

8.0
Our rating
7.6
user Rating
You have rated this

Leave a comment

avatar
Subscribe
notification

Reviews
0
Review

Xiaomi Mi 5X / Mi A1 Test – 200€ Xiaomi Mittelklasse

by September 5, 2017

Das Xiaomi Mi 5X ist das erste Xiaomi Smartphone, das bereits mit seiner Veröffentlichung, die aktuelle Benutzeroberfläche "MIUI 9" erhalten hat. Inwiefern sich das Smartphone in die vielfältige 5er Modellreihe einordnet und ob es sich lohnt, das Gerät als Daily-Driver in Betracht zu ziehen, erfährst du in diesem Test!

Überblick
Hersteller

Xiaomi

Produktbezeichnung

Xiaomi Mi 5X / Xiaomi Mi A1

Spezifikationen

Prozessor und Speicher
CPU: Qualcomm Snapdragon 625
GPU: Adreno 506
RAM: 4GB (LPDDR3)
Interner Speicher: 32GB / 64GB (eMMC5.1)
Speichererweiterung: Ja

Display
Displaytyp: LTPS
Displaydiagonale: 5.5 Zoll
Displayauflösung: 1920 x 1080 Pixel
Displayschutz: Unbekannt
Multitouch: 10 Finger

Kameras
Hauptkamera: 12 Megapixel OmniVison OV12A10 + 13 Megapixel OmniVision OV13880
*2-fach Telezoom
*Autofokus
*Dual-Tone LED Blitz
Frontkamera: 5 Megapixel Samsung S5K5E8

Netz
Dual-SIM: Ja
SIM-Größe: Nano SIM

FDD-LTE 850 / 900 / 1800 / 2100 / 2600 MHz
TD-LTE 1900+ / 2300 / 2500 / 2600 MHz
WCDMA 850 / 900 / 1900 / 2100 MHz
GSM 850 / 900 / 1800 / 1900 MHz

Wireless
WiFi: 802.11 a/b/g/n/ac
Bluetooth: 4.2
GPS: Ja

Sensoren
*Umgebungslichtsensor
*Beschleunigungssensor
*Näherungssensor
*Hall-Sensor
*E-Kompass
*Gyroskop
*Fingerabdrucksensor

Akku
Akku: 3.080 mAh
Schnellladefunktion: Quick-Charge 3.0

Sonstige
Anschluss: USB-C, 3.5 mm Klinke
Betriebssystem: Android 7.1.2 (MIUI 8.5 / 9)
Größe: 155.4 x 75.8 x 7.3 mm
Gewicht: 165g

Lieferumfang

1x Xiaomi Mi 5X / Mi A1
1x Ladegerät
1x USB-C Ladekabel
1x SIM-Nadel
1x Bedienungsanleitung

Sonstige

Zum Preisvergleich

Xiaomi Mi 5X / Mi A1: Vorwort

Xiaomi ist dafür bekannt, fast schon monatlich ein neues Smartphone vorzustellen. Oftmals werden dabei bestehende Modellreihen durch neue Geräte erweitert, wodurch man schnell den Überblick verliert. Allein die 5er Mi-Modellreihe, der auch das Xiaomi Mi 5X zuzuordnen ist, besteht mittlerweile aus 5 Modellen, die unterschiedlicher nicht sein könnten. Als “internationale” Version das Mi 5X ist das Android One Smartphone “Xiaomi Mi A1” erschienen. Dieses bietet neben dem reinen Stock-Android Erlebnis auch die hierzulande üblichen Mobilfunk-Frequenzbänder.

Update 05. Oktober 2017

Derzeit gibt es das Xiaomi Mi A1 Smartphone in Rose Gold und mit 64GB Speicher beim Online-Händler GearBest für 189.35€! Gleichzeitig gibt es das Xiaomi Mi 5X für 206.11€. Weitere Infos zur Rabatt-Aktion findest du in der folgenden Box!

15€ Gutschein - Xiaomi Mi A1 (64GB - Rose Gold)

Das Xiaomi Mi A1 Smartphone mit LTE Band 20, 64GB Speicher in Gold für 189.35€.

15€ Gutschein - Xiaomi Mi A1 (64GB - Rose Gold)

Das Xiaomi Mi A1 Smartphone mit LTE Band 20, 64GB Speicher in Gold für 189.35€.

8€ Gutschein - Xiaomi Mi5X (64GB - Schwarz)

Mit diesem GearBest Coupon Code erhältst du das Smartphone zum Festpreis von nur 208.42€. Klicke auf Code anzeigen um den Rabatt-Code angezeigt zu bekommen.

8€ Gutschein - Xiaomi Mi5X (64GB - Schwarz)

Mit diesem GearBest Coupon Code erhältst du das Smartphone zum Festpreis von nur 208.42€. Klicke auf Code anzeigen um den Rabatt-Code angezeigt zu bekommen.

Design, Verarbeitung und Lieferumfang

Vorweg: Das Xiaomi Mi 5X als auch das Xiaomi Mi A1 sind baugleich und unterscheiden sich lediglich bezüglich der unterstützten Mobilfunkfrequenzen und dem Betriebssystem. Das Xiaomi Mi 5X ist hauptsächlich für den asiatischen Markt bestimmt und unterstützt kein LTE Band 20. Die Benutzeroberfläche ist MIUI 8 bzw. 9. Das Xiaomi Mi A1 hingegen unterstützt LTE Band 20 und wird mit Stock Android ausgeliefert!

Das Smartphone besticht durch ein ansprechendes Aluminium-Unibody-Gehäuse, bei dem sowohl der Gehäuserahmen, als auch die Rückseite aus einem Stück gefertigt sind. Im Vergleich zu anderen Unibody-Modellen des Herstellers, ist der Rahmen des Mi 5X vergleichsweise flach und geht steil in die Rückseite über. Die Rahmenkanten sind schlicht abgerundet und lediglich die Antennenabdeckungen treten dezent hervor. Bezüglich der Gehäusefarbe stehen wahlweise die Farben Schwarz, Gold und Rose Gold zur Auswahl. Die Abmessungen des 5.5 Zoll Gerätes betragen 155.4 mm in der Länge, 75.8 mm in der Breite und schmale 7.3 mm in der Dicke. Das Gewicht beträgt 165g.

Xiaomi Mi5X / Xiaomi Mi A1 Vorderseite

Vorderseitig befindet sich das 5.5 Zoll große Display, das von einem 3.5 mm breiten Bezel umgeben ist. Durch das 2.5 Displayglas sind die Ränder des Glases deutlich abgerundet, gehen aber nicht nahtlos in das Unibody-Gehäuse über. Unterhalb des Displays befinden sich drei kapazitive Bedientasten, die zudem beleuchtet sind. Oberhalb befinden sich die Ohrmuschel, die Frontkamera, ein Näherungssensor, sowie eine weiß-leuchtende Benachrichtigungs-LED.

Xiaomi Mi5X / Xiaomi Mi A1 Rückseite

Der Gehäuserahmen ist typisch aufgebaut und bietet links den SIM-Slot, rechts die Einschalttaste sowie die Lautstärkewippe, unterhalb die USB-C Buchse mit danebenliegendem Lautsprecher und Mikrofon sowie einen 3.5 mm Audioanschluss. Die Oberseite des Gehäuserahmens bilden ein Infrarot-Sender, sowie ein weiteres, geräuschunterdrückendes Mikrofon.

Die Rückseite ist, wie bereits erwähnt, überaus schlicht gehalten. Oben links befindet sich die duale Hauptkamera samt LED-Blitz. Im oberen Drittel der Gehäuserückseite ist zudem der runde Fingerabdruckscanner in das Gehäuse eingelassen. Im unteren Drittel befindet sich das „Mi-Logo“. Die Rückseite ist nicht abnehmbar, wodurch der Akku nicht gewechselt werden kann.

Xiaomi Mi5X / Xiaomi Mi A1 Vorderseite (2)

Die Verarbeitungsqualität des Xiaomi Mi 5X ist insgesamt nicht zu beanstanden. Das Smartphone hinterlässt einen besonders hochwertigen Eindruck mit guter Haptik. Der Lieferumfang umfasst das Smartphone, ein Ladegerät mit NEMA-1 Stecker, ein USB-C Kabel, eine SIM-Nadel, sowie eine chinesische Bedienungsanleitung.

Xiaomi Mi5X / Xiaomi Mi A1 Anschlüsse

Display

Das Display besitzt eine Diagonale von 5.5 Zoll und löst dabei in Full-HD auf. Das Panel ist vom Typ „LTPS“ (Low Temperature Poly Silicon) und zeichnet sich im Gegensatz zu herkömmlichen LCDs durch eine geringere Leistungsaufnahme, kompaktere Fertigung und höhere Displayhelligkeit aus. Die Punktdichte liegt bei 403 DPI, wodurch eine gestochen scharfe Darstellung erreicht wird. Farben werden überwiegend dezent, aber dennoch natürlich wiedergegeben. Wem die eher kühle Farbwiedergabe nicht gefällt, der kann innerhalb der Displayeinstellungen die Farbe und den Kontrast korrigieren. Ein zusätzlicher Lesemodus sorgt dafür, dass blaues Licht gefiltert wird, wodurch einerseits beim Lesen die Augen geschont werden und auch der Schlaf-Nacht-Rhythmus weniger beeinträchtigt wird.

Gleichzeitig überzeugt das Display des Mi 5X durch eine akkurate Blickwinkelstabilität, die auch maximalen Betrachtungswinkeln standhält. Die Leuchtdichte liegt bei 450 nit, wodurch das Display auch bei stärkerem Sonnenschein zumindest in der Theorie gut ablesbar sein sollte. In der Praxis beeinträchtigte jedoch das stark spiegelnde Displayglas die Ablesbarkeit bei direktem Lichteinfall. Die automatische Helligkeitsanpassung funktionierte im Test anstandslos.

Der Touchscreen unterstützt bis zu 10 gleichzeitige Eingaben. Alle Eingaben wurden im Laufe der Testphase präzise erkannt. So genannte Ghost Touches traten wie erwartet nicht auf. Welches Schutzglas Xiaomi bei diesem Smartphone verwendet ist nicht bekannt, allerdings haben sich selbst nach einem mehrwöchigen Test, bei täglicher Verwendung, keine Gebrauchsspuren bemerkbar gemacht.

Leistung

Das Kernstück bildet ein Qualcomm Snapdragon 625 System-on-Chip, das dem Qualcomm Mittelklasse-Sektor zuzuordnen und bereits Anfang 2016 erschienen ist. Der im 14nm Verfahren gefertigte Prozessor besteht aus 8 Cortex-A53 Kernen, die mit bis zu 2 GHz takten. Die Prozessorgrafik bildet eine Adreno 506 GPU. Die Speicherausstattung beläuft sich auf einen 4GB LPDDR3 Arbeitsspeicher und einen, je nach Modell 32GB oder 64GB großen eMMC 5.1 Flash-Speicher. Eine Speichererweiterung mittels Micro SD-Speicherkarte ist vorgesehen. Beachten sollte man allerdings, dass ein so genannter Hybrid-SIM-Slot verwendet wurde, der entweder die Nutzung der Dual-SIM Funktion oder SIM + Speichererweiterung erlaubt.

Obwohl der Snapdragon 625 nicht mit den aktuellen High-End Prozessoren mithalten kann, ermöglicht er in der Praxis ein flüssiges Nutzererlebnis. Anwendungen starten im angemessenen Rahmen und der Wechsel zwischen mehreren Anwendungen gelingt fließend. Selbst im Multitasking gibt das Xiaomi Mi 5X eine gute Figur ab, was vor allem auf den schnellen RAM zurückzuführen ist. Aktuelle Mobile-Games sind für das Smartphone kein Problem. Je nach Spiel ist allerdings mit kleineren Bildeinbrüchen zu rechnen. Hier sind aktuelle Flaggschiffe deutlich überlegen. Punkten kann das Smartphone bei der Wärmeentwicklung, die selbst bei intensiver Nutzung gering ausfällt.

Benutzeroberfläche

Das Xiaomi Mi 5X ist das erste Xiaomi Smartphone, das mit seiner Veröffentlichung das neue MIUI 9 erhalten hat. Ausgeliefert wird zumindest die erste Charge noch mit MIUI 8.5 Stable, das auf Android 7.1.2 basiert. Wer MIUI 9 nutzen möchte, muss die MIUI Developer ROM installieren, die zudem wöchentliche Updates erhält.

Die vorinstallierte MIUI 8.5 Stable ist hauptsächlich für den asiatischen Markt bestimmt und bietet neben einer begrenzten Sprachauswahl auch keinen Google PlayStore, sowie vielfache Apps, die für unsereiner nicht von Nutzen sind. Eine mehrsprachige Global ROM, die für den westlichen Markt bestimmt ist, gibt es bislang noch nicht. Der Google PlayStore kann derzeit nur manuell installiert werden. Eine Alternative zur MIUI Stable ist die Xiaomi EU ROM, eine Custom ROM die sich zwar an dem chinesischen Pendant orientiert, allerdings angepasst wurde. Um diese ROM zu flashen muss jedoch zuvor der Bootloader entsperrt werden.

Das Xiaomi Mi A1 wiederum wird nicht mit MIUI, sondern als “Android One” Smartphone mit einem reinen Stock-Android ausgeliefert. Der Vorteil ist, dass man ein pures Android erhält, das keinerlei Hersteller-Themes und Apps vorinstalliert hat. Außerdem ist die Benutzeroberfläche bereits mehrsprachig übersetzt und Deutsch kann ohne Probleme als Systemsprache ausgewählt werden. Ein weiterer Vorteil des Xiaomi Mi A1 sind die garantierten Updates über Android Oreo bis Android 9.

Kamera

Kurz nach der Veröffentlichung des Xiaomi Mi 5X ging das Gerücht umher, dass die duale Hauptkamera des Smartphones die gleichen Bildsensoren wie das Xiaomi Mi6 verwendet. Mittlerweile ist man schlauer und weiß, dass die duale Hauptkamera des Mi 5X sich zwar ebenfalls aus einem normalen Bildsensor und einem Telezoom-Sensor zusammensetzt, diese jedoch von Sony, sondern von OmniVision stammen. Genauer handelt es sich um einen 12 Megapixel OmniVison OV12A10 Sensor mit f/2.2 Blende und einen 13 Megapixel OmniVision OV13880 Sensor mit einer f/2.6 Blende. Der 5 Megapixel Sensor der Frontkamera stammt hingegen von Samsung und trägt die Bezeichnung S5K5E8.

Hauptkamera

Die mit der Hauptkamera geschossenen Bildaufnahmen können sich durchaus sehen lassen und werden der Zuordnung als Mittelklasse-Smartphone mehr als gerecht. Mit dem Dual-Kamera Setup eines Xiaomi Mi6 oder OnePlus 5 kann die Hauptkamera des Mi 5X dennoch (noch) nicht mithalten.

Die farbliche Abstimmung der Hauptkamera ist vergleichsweise kalt. Einerseits werden dadurch nicht übertrieben grelle Farben erzeugt, gleichzeitig dominiert die farbliche Kälte, wodurch Weiß eher bläulich erscheint. Pluspunkte sammelt die Hauptkamera bei der Detaildarstellung und der Bildschärfe. Bei besonders guten Lichtverhältnissen sind knackig scharfe Bildaufnahmen möglich, auf denen Details besonders ausgeprägt zu erkennen sind. Der Phase-Detection-Autofokus (PDAF) verrichtet eine gute Arbeit und glänzt durch ein schnelles und akkurates Fokussieren. Gleiches gilt für die Auslösezeit, die schnelle, nachfolgende Bildaufnahmen erlaubt. Mit zunehmend schlechteren Lichtverhältnissen nimmt auch das Bildrauschen deutlich zu und Details gehen sichtlich verloren. Negative Auswirkungen gibt es auch bei dem Aufofokus, der zum Fokussieren deutlich länger benötigt und teils fehlerhaft fokussiert. Durch die fehlende optische Bildstabilisierung wird es zudem schwieriger wackelfreie und zugleich scharfe Bilder aufzunehmen.

Videos nimmt die Hauptkamera bei maximaler 4K Auflösung auf. Insgesamt überzeugt die Aufnahmequalität. Trotzdem gibt es auch hier einige Kritikpunkte. Zum einen wäre eine zusätzliche Bildstabilisierung wünschenswert gewesen. Hinzu kommt, dass der CAF (Continuous Autofocus) etwas träge reagiert. Zu kritisieren ist jedoch vor allem die Qualität des mitaufgenommenen Tones. Der Ton klingt leider etwas dumpf und Zischlaute werden unzureichend gefiltert.

Frontkamera

Die Frontkamera löst mit 5 Megapixel auf. Sowohl die Bild- als auch Videoaufnahmequalität sind nicht zu beanstanden, solange man die Kamera bei guten Lichtverhältnissen verwendet. Mit abnehmenden Lichtverhältnissen nimmt auch hier die Aufnahmequalität deutlich ab.

Kamera-App

Die Kamera-App des Xiaomi Mi 5X unterscheidet sich nicht von der App anderer Xiaomi Smartphones. Die App ist übersichtlich aufgebaut und erlaubt es mit wenigen Klicks den Aufnahmemodus zu wechseln bzw. Kameraeinstellungen vorzunehmen. Interessante Aufnahmemodi gibt es vor allem bei der Hauptkamera. Neben dem normalen Bildaufnahmemodus gibt es noch einen Panoramamodus, einen Beautify-Modus, den Tilt-Shift Modus und einen Nachtmodus. Der interessanteste Bildaufnahmemodus ist jedoch der Portrait-Modus, der Aufnahmen mit dem so genannten „Bokeh-Effekt“ versieht. Dabei erscheint Vordergründiges im Fokus, wohingegen Hintergründiges verschwommen dargestellt wird. Die Umsetzung des Bokeh-Effektes gelingt dem Mi 5X soweit gut, auch wenn im Gegensatz zu derzeitigen Flaggschiff-Smartphones mit ähnlicher Funktion häufiger Berechnungsfehler auftreten und man die Bildaufnahme wiederholen muss.

Audio

Das Xiaomi Mi 5X besitzt einen Mono-Lautsprecher, der am unteren Teil des Gehäuserahmens platziert wurde. Die Klangqualität überzeugt. Überrascht hat vor allem die solide Basswiedergabe, die selbst so manches Flaggschiff-Smartphone nicht erreicht. Insgesamt klingt der Lautsprecher angenehm ausgewogen. Selbst auf maximaler Lautstärke tritt kein unangenehmes Dröhnen zum Vorschein. Trotz der USB-C Buchse besitzt das Mi 5X einen 3.5 mm Audioanschluss. Die Klangqualität ist auch hier nicht zu beanstanden und überzeugt durch ein gut abgestimmtes Klangbild. Innerhalb der Kopfhörereinstellungen stellt MIUI zudem einen Equalizer und Audio Enhancer zur Verfügung, wodurch sich der Klang individuell anpassen lässt.

Konnektivität

Mobilfunk

Im Mobilfunk unterstützt das Xiaomi Mi 5X sowohl 2G, 3G als auch 4G Standards. Einschränkungen gibt es jedoch bei den Frequenzen, weshalb das hierzulande weit verbreitete LTE Band 20, also 800 MHz, nicht unterstützt wird. Gerade in ländlichen Gegenden und je nach Mobilfunkbetreiber ist LTE somit nur eingeschränkt nutzbar. Die Sprachqualität enttäuscht jedoch. Zwar konnte im Test der Gesprächspartner sowohl über die Ohrmuschel, als auch über den Lautsprecher klar und deutlich verstanden werden, in umgekehrter Richtung gab es jedoch Verständigungsprobleme. Teilweise wird vom Mikrofon Gesprochenes verschluckt, als auch werden Störgeräusche nicht ausreichend gefiltert. Inwiefern sich dieses Problem softwareseitig beheben lässt, bleibt abzuwarten.

WiFi und Bluetooth

Unterstützt werden die WiFi-Protokolle 802.11a / b / g / n / ac, wodurch einer Verwendung sowohl im 2.4 GHz, als auch 5 GHz Netz nichts im Wege steht. Nachteile beim Datendurchsatz oder der Signalstärke gibt es nicht. Bluetooth wird mit Version 4.2 unterstützt.

GPS und Sensoren

Navigieren gelingt mit dem Mi 5X problemlos. Ein GPS-Fix erfolgt binnen weniger Sekunden und auch während der Navigation bleibt das Signal konstant erhalten. Neben GPS werden noch AGPS, GLONASS und Beidou unterstützt. Ein E-Kompass ist vorhanden, sodass sich das Smartphone auch als Fußgängernavi einsetzen lässt. Die sensorische Ausstattung beläuft sich auf ein Gyroskop, einen Beschleunigungssensor, einen Näherungssensor, einen Umgebungslichtsensor und einen Hall-Sensor. Auf NFC verzichtet Xiaomi bei diesem Smartphone. Mittels des Infrarot-Senders kann das Mi 5X mit passender App als TV-Fernbedienung genutzt werden. Der rückseitige Fingerabdruckscanner liefert eine ordentliche Erkennungsrate und entsperrt das Smartphone in kürzester Zeit.

Akku

Der Akku bringt es auf eine Kapazität von 3.080 mAh. Bei normaler Nutzung genügte eine Akkuladung für eine Laufzeit von etwa 1 ½ Tagen. Bei üppiger Nutzung musste das Smartphone bereits am Abend wieder aufgeladen werden. Mit dem mitgelieferten Ladeadapter ist das Smartphone nach ungefähr 110 Minuten komplett aufgeladen. Leider handelt es sich dabei um kein Quick Charge 3.0 Ladegerät, obwohl Quick Charge 3.0 als Schnellladefunktion unterstützt wird.

Preisvergleich

15€ Gutschein - Xiaomi Mi A1 (64GB - Rose Gold)

Das Xiaomi Mi A1 Smartphone mit LTE Band 20, 64GB Speicher in Gold für 189.35€.

15€ Gutschein - Xiaomi Mi A1 (64GB - Rose Gold)

Das Xiaomi Mi A1 Smartphone mit LTE Band 20, 64GB Speicher in Gold für 189.35€.

8€ Gutschein - Xiaomi Mi5X (64GB - Schwarz)

Mit diesem GearBest Coupon Code erhältst du das Smartphone zum Festpreis von nur 208.42€. Klicke auf Code anzeigen um den Rabatt-Code angezeigt zu bekommen.

8€ Gutschein - Xiaomi Mi5X (64GB - Schwarz)

Mit diesem GearBest Coupon Code erhältst du das Smartphone zum Festpreis von nur 208.42€. Klicke auf Code anzeigen um den Rabatt-Code angezeigt zu bekommen.
gearbestprice
  • 210.52€*
  • Versand CN
banggoodprice
  • 220.85€
  • Versand CN
geekbuyingprice
  • 217.97€
  • Versand CN
tomtop
  • 223.59€
  • Versand CN
Positiv

►Gute Verarbeitungsqualität
►Ansprechendes Design
►Flüssiger Alltagsbetrieb
►Kameraqualität bei guten Lichtverhältnissen
►Empfangsqualität GPS, WiFi und Bluetooth
►Schneller Fingerabdrucksensor
►Gute Audioqualität
►Gute Akkulaufzeit

Negativ

►Älterer Prozessor
►Kameraqualität bei schlechten Lichtverhältnissen
►Keine Bildstabilisierung
►Gesprächsqualität
►Kein LTE Band 20

Bewertung
Punkte
Erster Eindruck
8.0
Verarbeitung
9.0
Design
8.5
Display
8.5
Leistung
6.5
Benutzeroberfläche
8.0
Kamera
7.5
Fingerabdruckscanner
8.5
Konnektivität
7.0
GPS & Sensoren
8.0
Audio
8.5
Akku
7.5
Fazit

Das Xiaomi Mi 5X hat zwar nicht viel mit den anderen Smartphones der 5er Modellreihe zutun, bietet allerdings ein überaus ansprechendes Gesamtpaket. Wer viel Wert auf eine aktuelle Software legt, bekommt mit dem Mi 5X bereits MIUI9 geboten. Zusätzlich liefert das Smartphone in Anbetracht des Preises eine überdurchschnittliche Kameraqualität, die (zumindest bei guten Lichtverhältnissen) fast schon an Flaggschiff-Niveau herankommt. Verzichten muss man wiederum auf LTE Band 20, als auch gab es im Review bei der Gesprächsqualität einige unerwartete Aussetzer, die zumindest in zukünftigen Softwareupdates nicht mehr auftreten dürften. Alles in allem liefert das Xiaomi Mi 5X ein preiswertes und gutes Gesamtpaket. Dennoch sollte man wegen der weitreichenden Mobilfunkunterstützung das baugleiche Xiaomi Mi A1 dem Mi 5X vorziehen.

8.0
Punkte
You have rated this

Hinterlasse einen Kommentar

Sei der Erste, der kommentiert!

Benachrichtigung
avatar
wpDiscuz