Other
0
Review

Xiaomi VR glasses "Mi VR Play" test - Virtual reality headset

by 16. September 2016

Xiaomi jumped on the Virtual Reality bandwagon and released a first, "cardboard-like" VR glasses. The Xiaomi "Mi VR Play" glasses can be used with a 4.7 - 5.7 inch smartphone and should show above all first VR options. What makes the Mi VR Play and different from many other VR glasses or headsets, you'll learn in this review.

overview
Manufacturer/Model

Xiaomi

Product

Xiaomi Mi VR Play

Specifications

Material: Elastane (Lycra)
Lenses: aspherical, coated
Compatible: 4.7-5.7 inch smartphones
App: Yes
Switch: Yes

Size: 20.10 x 10.70 x 9.10 cm
Weight: 209g

Scope of delivery

1x Xiaomi Mi VR Play
1x tether
1x hint card

First impression of the Xiaomi VR glasses

Xiaomi Mi VR Play Virtual reality headset in the test

Scope of delivery

The scope of delivery of the Xiaomi VR glasses is more or less unspectacular. In addition to the actual Glasses, which is delivered in quite appealing cardboard box, are still in this Tether for head attachment and Note card in Chinese.

Design & Processing

In terms of design, Xiaomi has taken an interesting path, which is why the Mi VR Play differs from conventional VR glasses. Instead of putting on a PVC housing, that is Xiaomi VR Elasthane Headset (Lycra), As a result, the VR only weighs glasses 209g whereby a long-lasting and pleasant wearing feeling is achieved. Also interesting is the slot in which the smartphone is inserted. This one is going through two zippers open, own two side openings adequate ventilation and allows active use of the smartphone camera. The smartphone is powered by a extensive upholstery protected from damage and sits by Silk-Touch coated upholstery non-slip in the holder.

Also at the application can score the Xiaomi VR Headset. The zipper closes clean, the seams are made clean, the lenses are firmly in the inlet and have no errors and the headband is solid processed.

Use and App

You can use the Xiaomi VR glasses with standard ones 4.7 to 5.7 inch smartphones, The glasses are compatible with different VR apps and have a top side metal switches, about that too Google Cardboard Apps can be controlled. Xiaomi itself also offers a matching VR app, which can be downloaded via the included QR code. This app offers both the ability to download VR videos and play, as well as VR games can be downloaded. Unfortunately, this app is only available in Chinese language, as well as the films and games offered are mainly aimed at Chinese consumers.

Nonetheless, the Xiaomi Mi VR Play can be used like a traditional Cardboard goggle. Operation is extremely easy thanks to the additional switch. Also the quality of aspherical lenses convinced, which are a little too small for my taste, which is why the field of view is limited. Also, I miss a way of lens correction. Both the distance between the pupils and the distance between the lenses and the smartphone can not be adjusted individually. Especially those who are very short-sighted, the Xiaomi VR glasses can unfortunately only use with additional visual aid.

Comfort

The wearing comfort convinced. With the included headgear, the glasses are taut in front of the face. The used spandex creates a comfortable fit especially in the face area, which is why the Xiaomi Mi VR Play can be used for a longer period of time than other VR goggles.

Price Comparison

Price comparison - buy offer at Geekbuying
Shipping Shipping from Europe
18,12€
Price Comparison - Buy Banggood
Shipping Shipping from China
18,12€
Price comparison - buy offer at Geekbuying
Shipping Shipping from Hong Kong
18,12€

Price too high? Use our price alarm clock!

Prices last updated on: 7. October 2019 08: 02

Final Words

Positive

►Design and processing
►Very easy
►Solid holder
►Tragekomfort
►Cardboard compatible

Negative

►No lens correction
►Small field of view

rating
Our rating
user Rating
Rate Here
First impression
8.0
-
Design
8.5
-
Comfort
8.0
-
Features
5.0
-
everyday practicality
7.5
-
Summary

The Xiaomi Mi VR Play is one of the better "Google Cardboard" alternatives. The glasses are particularly pleasantly surprised by the comfortable zipper holder and the pleasant wearing comfort. With the additional metal switch, the Xiaomi VR Headset can also control Cardboard Apps. On the other hand, the lack of lens correction and the comparatively small field of view are critical.

7.4
Our rating
-
user Rating
You have rated this

Leave a comment

avatar
Subscribe
notification

Sonstige
0
Review

Xiaomi VR Brille „Mi VR Play“ Test – Virtual Reality Headset

by 16. September 2016

Xiaomi ist auf den Virtual Reality Zug aufgesprungen und hat eine erste, „cardboardähnliche“ VR Brille veröffentlicht. Die Xiaomi „Mi VR Play“ genannte Brille kann mit einem 4.7 – 5.7 Zoll Smartphone verwendet werden und soll vor allem erste VR Möglichkeiten aufzeigen. Was die Mi VR Play ausmacht und von vielzähligen, anderen VR Brillen bzw. Headsets unterscheidet, erfahrt ihr in diesem Testbericht.

Überblick
Hersteller

Xiaomi

Produktbezeichnung

Xiaomi Mi VR Play

Spezifikationen

Material: Elasthan (Lycra)
Linsen: asphärisch, beschichtet
Kompatibel: 4.7 -5.7 Zoll Smartphones
App: Ja
Schalter: Ja

Größe: 20.10 x 10.70 x 9.10 cm
Gewicht: 209g

Lieferumfang

1x Xiaomi Mi VR Play
1x Haltegurt
1x Hinweiskarte

Erster Eindruck zur Xiaomi VR Brille

Xiaomi Mi VR Play Virtual Reality Headset im Test

Lieferumfang

Der Lieferumfang der Xiaomi VR Brille ist mehr oder weniger unspektakulär. Neben der eigentlichen Brille, die im durchaus ansprechenden Pappkarton ausgeliefert wird, befinden sich in diesem noch der Haltegurt für die Kopfbefestigung und eine Hinweiskarte auf Chinesisch.

Design & Verarbeitung

Hinsichtlich des Designs hat Xiaomi einen interessanten Weg eingeschlagen, weshalb sich die Mi VR Play von herkömmlichen VR Brillen unterscheidet. Statt auf ein PVC Gehäuse zu setzen, besteht das Xiaomi VR Headset aus Elasthan (Lycra). Dadurch wiegt die VR Brille lediglich 209g wodurch ein langanhaltendes und angenehmeres Tragegefühl erreicht wird. Interessant ist auch der Schacht, in den das Smartphone eingelegt wird. Dieser wird durch zwei Reißverschlüsse geöffnet, besitzt durch zwei seitliche Öffnungen eine ausreichende Belüftung und ermöglicht die aktive Verwendung der Smartphone-Kamera. Das Smartphone wird durch eine umfangreiche Polsterung vor Schäden geschützt und sitzt durch Silk-Touch beschichtete Polster rutschfest in der Halterung.

Auch bei der Verarbeitung kann das Xiaomi VR Headset punkten. Der Reißverschluss schließt sauber, die Nähte sind sauber ausgearbeitet, die Linsen sitzen fest im Einlass und weisen keinerlei Fehler auf und auch die Kopfhalterung ist solide verarbeitet.

Verwendung und App

Verwenden lässt sich die Xiaomi VR Brille mit gängigen 4.7 bis 5.7 Zoll Smartphones. Die Brille ist zu verschiedenen VR Apps kompatibel und besitzt oberseitig einen Metallschalter, worüber auch Google Cardboard Apps gesteuert werden können. Xiaomi selbst bietet auch eine passende VR App an, die über den im Lieferumfang enthaltenen QR-Code heruntergeladen werden kann. Diese App bietet sowohl die Möglichkeit VR Videos herunterzuladen und abzuspielen, als auch können VR Spiele heruntergeladen werden. Leider ist diese App nur in chinesischer Sprache verfügbar, als auch richten sich die angebotenen Filme und Spiele hauptsächlich an den chinesischen Konsumenten.

Nichtsdestotrotz kann die Xiaomi Mi VR Play wie eine herkömmliche Cardboard-Brille genutzt werden. Die Bedienung gestaltet sich dank des zusätzlichen Schalters als überaus einfach. Auch die Qualität der asphärischen Linsen überzeugt, wobei diese für meinen Geschmack etwas zu klein ausfallen, weshalb auch das Sichtfeld begrenzt ist. Auch vermisse ich eine Möglichkeit der Linsenkorrektur. Sowohl der Pupillenabstand, als auch der Abstand der Linsen zum Smartphone, können nicht individuell eingestellt werden. Gerade wer stark kurzsichtig ist, kann die Xiaomi VR Brille leider nur mit zusätzlicher Sehhilfe verwenden.

Tragekomfort

Der Tragekomfort überzeugt. Durch den mitgelieferten Kopfgurt sitzt die Brille straff vor dem Gesicht. Durch das verwendete Elasthan entsteht gerade im Gesichtsbereich ein angenehmes Tragegefühl, weshalb die Xiaomi Mi VR Play im Gegensatz zu anderen VR Brillen auch längere Zeit verwendet werden kann.

Preisvergleich

Preisvergleich - Angebot bei Geekbuying kaufen
Versand Versand aus Hongkong
10,55€
Preisvergleich - Angebot bei Geekbuying kaufen
Versand Versand aus Europa
19,99€
Preisvergleich - Angebot bei Banggood kaufen
Versand Versand aus China
18,99€
Preise zuletzt aktualisiert am: 15. Dezember 2018 16:03
Positiv

►Design und Verarbeitung
►Sehr leicht
►Solide Halterung
►Tragekomfort
►Cardboard kompatibel

Negativ

►Keine Linsenkorrektur
►Kleines Sichtfeld

Bewertung
Punkte
Erster Eindruck
8.0
Design
8.5
Tragekomfort
8.0
Funktionsumfang
5.0
Alltagstauglichkeit
7.5
Fazit

Die Xiaomi Mi VR Play ist eine der besseren „Google Cardboard“ Alternativen. Besonders positiv überrascht die Brille durch die komfortable Reißverschlusshalterung und den angenehmen Tragekomfort. Durch den zusätzlichen Metallschalter kann das Xiaomi VR Headset auch Cardboard Apps steuern. Kritisch zu beurteilen sind hingegen die fehlende Linsenkorrektur und das vergleichsweise klein ausfallende Sichtfeld.

7.4
Punkte
You have rated this

Hinterlasse einen Kommentar

avatar
  Subscribe  
Benachrichtigung