cameras
0
Review

Xiaomi Yi Dashcam Test - Smart Dash Camera

by 10. July 2018
After the hugely popular "Yi Action Cam", Yi Technology, a company associated with Xiaomi, released the "Yi Smart Dash Camera" in January 2016. For just 50 €, this dashcam offers extensive app support, a driving assistant and a high-resolution 1296p video resolution. How these functions were implemented and if the camera is good, you will learn in this review to the Yi Smart Dash Camera.
Overview
Manufacturer/Model

Yi Technology (Xiaoyi / Xiaomi)

Product

Xiaoyi Yi Smart Dash Camera

Specifications

Auflösung: 1296p@30, 1080p@60/30
Image processor: A12 (Novatek NT96660)
Image sensor: Semiconductor AR0230CS
Aperture ratio: F 1.8
Field of view: 165 °

Display: 2.7 inch TFT 960x240
WiFi: 2.4G; 802.11n
Battery: 240mAh
Memory: Micro SD

Microphone: Yes
GPS: No.
Other: ADAS

Size: 74 32 x x 19 mm
Weight: 74g

What's in the box

1x Yi Smart Dash Camera
1x 3.5m USB Charging Cable
1x Charging Adapter (USB Car)
1x bracket
1x warranty card and instruction manual

First impression of the Xiaomi Yi Dashcam

Xiaomi Yi (Xiaoyi) Dashcam review and unboxing

What's in the box

Delivered is the Yi Dashcam with the most necessary accessories. Included are next to the camera still one 3.5m long USB charging cable, One Vehicle mount with adhesive pad, Car Charging Adapter and a warranty card including an English-speaking one Manual.

"International Version" VS "China Version"

The Yi Dashcam is as international versionbut also as Chinese version available. Before you buy, you should make sure that you acquire the international version, which offers an English language interface. The Chinese variant is often sold in Chinese online shops. This is completely in Chinese and the language can only be changed over indirectly!

Design & Processing

The overall design of the Dashcam is visually appealing, modern and compact at the same time (74 x 32 x 19 mm), The camera is available with a anthracite or gold Front. The processing is according to the price. The entire camera is made of plastic and is processed neatly. Only the case frame looks a bit cheap at first glance. Also, the front lens is a bit too big for my taste and could be a bit simpler.

The included mount of the Yi camera is also made of plastic. The integrated ball joint allows the holder to be moved in any direction. Improvement is the possibility of attachment. Instead of an adhesive pad, a suction cup would have been an advantage!

Hardware & Equipment

Image processor and image sensor

According to Yi Technology, the Dashcam has one "A12 image processor" installed. This is actually one Novatek NT96660, which is also installed in Chinese action cameras. The image sensor amounts to one Semiconductor AR0230CS, In combination, a maximum resolution of 1296p with 30 pictures-per-second allows. With a resolution of 1080p are even liquid 60 images-per-second possible. The aperture ratio is F 1.8. The maximum field of view is 165 °.

Display

On the back is a 2.7 inch TFT displaywhich explodes with 960 x 240 pixels. Colors are so well represented. Depending on the viewing angle, however, these can fade.

WiFi

The Xiaomi Yi Dashcam has one 2.4G WiFi module integrated. Supported is only the 802.11n standard, The network is encrypted by means of WPA2.

other

A Microphone is located below the front lens. To power the Dashcam has a Micro USB socket, Although it is also a 240mAh battery but this serves as a pure emergency supply. The maximum battery life is about 3 minutes. To save recordings is on the left side of the case Micro SD memory card slot, Compatible are 8-64 GB Class 10 memory cards in FAT32 format.

recording quality

In a good two-week trial, we have collected several recordings in 1296p and 1080p. Both in good and in bad weather conditions, the shots were sufficiently sharp and detailed. A sharpness and a richness of detail, similar to a GoPro Action Cam is of course not to be expected. On the pictures were Identify the license plate well and through the wide field of vision is the entire road well visible.

By WDR 2.0 technology The image is adapted very quickly to the current lighting conditions. For example, if you drive the vehicle out of a dark underground car park, the Yi Dashcam immediately adapts to the light conditions and details remain visible. Even at night, the Xiaomi Yi Dashcam convince. An image noise is barely visible. Only the details are lost a bit. The recording quality of the microphone is sufficient. Conversations are clearly recorded, but the sound is a bit dull. Disturbing vehicle noise, however, are filtered well.

Menu and App

The usability of the Dashcam menu is simple and understandable. Overall there is 4 control buttons, These can be used to start recordings, you can switch to the gallery, watch recordings via the camera and there is a switch-on or adjustment button. The menu is clearly arranged and the menu is easy to handle.

The "Yi Dashcam" App is the mobile control center of the Dashcam. This is for both Android, as well as for Apple iOS available. The language of the app is English. In the main overview recordings of other users can be viewed, as well as share your own recordings. The camera can be used to transfer pictures from the camera to the smartphone. Anyone who has misplaced the Dashcam's operating instructions can retrieve them via the app.

A connection between smartphone / tablet and the camera is made via WiFi. The Yi Dashcam builds a dedicated Wi-Fi network to which the app can be connected in a few steps. With an existing connection, the settings of the camera can be made directly via the connected device. A live image output is also available, as well as recordings can be started directly from the connected device.

ADAS (driving assistant)

ADAS stands for Advanced Driver Assistance Systems, The ADAS of the Yi Dashcam indicates lane change and reminds you to drive up to the vehicle in front of you. In the test, the ADAS could not convince. Despite correct calibration and alignment, lane changes were displayed incorrectly. During the trip, many people warned about a vehicle in front that did not exist at all. The warnings are in bad English, which is more annoying than useful in the long term.

Price Comparison

Price history

Current prices

Amazon
1-5 working days
36,99€
Buy geekbuying
10-30 working days
62,98€

Price too high? Use our price alarm clock!

Prices last updated on: April 5st, 2020 17:01

Final Words

rating
Positive

High resolution with 30/60 FPS
Good day and night recording quality
WDR 2.0
Comprehensive app
Easy to handle

Negative

Viewing angle stability of the display
Only holder with adhesive pad
Inaccurate ADAS
No collision detection when parking

First impression
7.5
-
application
8.0
-
Design
8.0
-
Display
7.5
8.2
User Interface
8.5
-
Features
7.5
-
usability
8.0
-
video quality
7.5
-
picture quality
7.5
-
Microphone
6.5
-
App
8.0
-
Summary

The Xiaomi Yi Smart Dash Camera lives up to its price. Of course, no "egg-laying Wollmilchsau" is to be expected, but the recording quality is acceptable and the operation of the Yi Dashcam App is an interesting addition. Less convincing, however, was the inaccurate ADAS. Such a function should not be expected in a car camera in this price range, but if the function is integrated, it should at least be useful. Worth improving is the included bracket. Here an alternative Saugnapfhalterung would be desirable.

7.7
Our rating
8.2
user Rating
You have rated this

Leave a comment

avatar

Kameras
0
Review

Xiaomi Yi Dashcam Test – Smart Dash Camera

by 10. Juli 2018
Nach der ĂŒberaus beliebten "Yi Action Cam" hat Yi Technology, ein Unternehmen das Xiaomi zuzurechnen ist, im Januar 2016 die „Yi Smart Dash Camera“ veröffentlicht. FĂŒr gerade einmal 50€ bietet diese Dashcam eine umfangreiche App UnterstĂŒtzung, einen Fahrassistenten und eine hochauflösenden 1296p Videoauflösung. Wie diese Funktionen umgesetzt wurden und ob die Kamera was taugt, erfahrt ihr in diesem Review zur Yi Smart Dash Camera.
Überblick
Hersteller

Yi Technology (Xiaoyi / Xiaomi)

Produktbezeichnung

Xiaoyi Yi Smart Dash Camera

Spezifikationen

Auflösung: 1296p@30, 1080p@60/30
Bildprozessor: A12 (Novatek NT96660)
Bildsensor: Semiconductor AR0230CS
ÖffnungsverhĂ€ltnis: F 1.8
Blickfeld: 165°

Display: 2.7 Zoll TFT 960x240
WiFi: 2.4G; 802.11n
Akku: 240mAh
Speicher: Micro SD

Mikrofon: Ja
GPS: Nein
Sonstige: ADAS

GrĂ¶ĂŸe: 74 x 32 x 19 mm
Gewicht: 74g

Lieferumfang

1x Yi Smart Dash Camera
1x 3.5m USB-Ladekabel
1x Ladeadapter (USB-KFZ)
1x Halterung
1x Garantiekarte und Bedienungsanleitung

Erster Eindruck zur Xiaomi Yi Dashcam

Xiaomi Yi (Xiaoyi) Dashcam Review und Unboxing

Lieferumfang

Ausgeliefert wird die Yi Dashcam mit dem notwendigsten Zubehör. Enthalten sind neben der Kamera noch ein 3.5m langes USB-Ladekabel, eine Fahrzeughalterung mit Klebepad, ein KFZ-Ladeadapter sowie eine Garantiekarte samt einer englischsprachigen Bedienungsanleitung.

„International Version“ VS „China Version“

Die Yi Dashcam ist als internationale Version, aber auch als chinesische Version erhĂ€ltlich. Vor dem Kauf sollte man sich unbedingt vergewissern, dass man die internationale Variante erwirbt, welche eine englische SprachoberflĂ€che bietet. Die chinesische Variante wird hĂ€ufig in chinesischen Onlineshops vertrieben. Diese ist komplett auf Chinesisch und die Sprache lĂ€sst sich nur ĂŒber Umwege umstellen!

Design & Verarbeitung

Das Design der Dashcam ist insgesamt optisch ansprechend, modern und zugleich kompakt (74 x 32 x 19 mm). ErhĂ€ltlich ist die Kamera mit einer anthrazitfarbenen oder goldfarbenen Front. Die Verarbeitung ist dem Preis entsprechend. Die gesamte Kamera besteht aus Kunststoff und ist sauber verarbeitet. Lediglich der GehĂ€userahmen wirkt auf den ersten Blick etwas billig. Auch das vorderseitige Objektiv ist fĂŒr meinen Geschmack etwas zu groß geraten und könnte gerne etwas schlichter ausfallen.

Die im Lieferumfang enthaltene Halterung der Yi Kamera besteht ebenfalls aus Kunststoff. Durch das integrierte Kugelgelenk kann die Halterung in jegliche Richtungen bewegt werden. VerbesserungswĂŒrdig ist die Befestigungsmöglichkeit. Anstelle eines Klebepads wĂ€re ein Saugnapf von Vorteil gewesen!

Hardware & Ausstattung

Bildprozessor und Bildsensor

Laut Yi Technology hat die Dashcam einen „A12 Bildprozessor“ verbaut. Hierbei handelt es sich in Wahrheit um einen Novatek NT96660, der auch in chinesischen Actionkameras verbaut ist. Der Bildsensor belĂ€uft sich auf einen Semiconductor AR0230CS. In Kombination wird eine maximale Auflösung von 1296p mit 30 Bilder-pro-Sekunde ermöglicht. Mit einer Auflösung von 1080p sind sogar flĂŒssige 60 Bilder-pro-Sekunde möglich. Das ÖffnungsverhĂ€ltnis betrĂ€gt F 1.8. Das maximale Blickfeld liegt bei 165°.

Display

RĂŒckseitig befindet sich ein 2.7 Zoll TFT Display, welches mit 960 x 240 Pixel auflöst. Farben werden soweit gut dargestellt. Je nach Blickwinkel können diese jedoch verblassen.

WiFi

Die Xiaomi Yi Dashcam hat ein 2.4G WiFi Modul integriert. UnterstĂŒtzt wird lediglich der 802.11n Standard. VerschlĂŒsselt ist das Netz mittels WPA2.

Sonstige

Ein Mikrofon befindet sich unterhalb des vorderseitigen Objektivs. Zur Stromversorgung besitzt die Dashcam eine Micro USB-Buchse. Zwar ist auch ein 240mAh Akku verbaut, dieser dient allerdings als reine Notversorgung. Die maximale Laufzeit ĂŒber den Akku liegt bei ungefĂ€hr 3 Minuten. Um Aufnahmen speichern zu können befindet sich auf der linken GehĂ€useseite ein Micro SD-Speicherkartenslot. Kompatibel sind 8-64 GB Class 10 Speicherkarten im Format FAT32.

AufnahmequalitÀt

In einer gut zweiwöchigen Testphase haben wir mehrere Aufnahmen in 1296p und 1080p gesammelt. Sowohl bei guten, als auch bei schlechten Wetterbedingungen waren die Aufnahmen ausreichend scharf und detailliert. Eine SchĂ€rfe und einen Detailreichtum, Ă€hnlich einer GoPro Action Cam ist natĂŒrlich nicht zu erwarten. Auf den Aufnahmen waren Kennzeichen gut zu erkennen und durch das weite Blickfeld ist die gesamte Fahrbahn gut einsehbar.

Durch die WDR 2.0 Technologie wird das Bild sehr schnell an die aktuellen LichtverhĂ€ltnisse angepasst. FĂ€hrt man beispielsweise mit dem Fahrzeug aus einer dunklen Tiefgarage, passt sich die Yi Dashcam den LichtverhĂ€ltnissen sofort an und Details bleiben sichtbar. Auch bei Nacht kann die Xiaomi Yi Dashcam ĂŒberzeugen. Ein Bildrauschen ist kaum zu erkennen. Lediglich die Details gehen etwas verloren. Die AufnahmequalitĂ€t des Mikrofons ist ausreichend. GesprĂ€che werden deutlich aufgezeichnet, allerdings ist der Ton etwas dumpf. Störende FahrzeuggerĂ€usche werden hingegen gut gefiltert.

MenĂŒ und App

Die Bedienbarkeit des Dashcam MenĂŒs ist einfach und verstĂ€ndlich. Insgesamt gibt es 4 Bedientasten. Mit diesen lassen sich Aufnahmen starten, man kann in die Galerie wechseln, sich Aufnahmen ĂŒber die Kamera ansehen und es gibt eine Einschalt- bzw. Einstellungstaste. Das MenĂŒ ist ĂŒbersichtlich gestaltet und die MenĂŒfĂŒhrung geht einfach von der Hand.

Die „Yi Dashcam“ App ist die mobile Schaltzentrale der Dashcam. Diese ist sowohl fĂŒr Android, als auch fĂŒr Apple iOS erhĂ€ltlich. Die Sprache der App ist Englisch. In der HauptĂŒbersicht können Aufnahmen anderer Nutzer angesehen werden, als auch lassen sich eigene Aufnahmen teilen. Über die Galerie können Aufnahmen der Kamera auf das Smartphone ĂŒbertragen werden. Wer die Bedienungsanleitung der Dashcam verlegt hat, kann diese ĂŒber die App abrufen.

Eine Verbindung zwischen Smartphone / Tablet und der Kamera wird ĂŒber WiFi hergestellt. Die Yi Dashcam baut hierzu ein eigens WLAN auf, zu dem die App in wenigen Schritten verbinden. Mit bestehender Verbindung können die Einstellungen der Kamera direkt ĂŒber das verbundene GerĂ€t vorgenommen werden. Auch eine Live Bildausgabe steht zur VerfĂŒgung, als auch können Aufnahmen direkt ĂŒber das verbundene GerĂ€t gestartet werden.

ADAS (Fahrassistent)

ADAS steht fĂŒr Advanced Driver Assistance Systems. Das ADAS der Yi Dashcam zeigt Spurwechsel an und erinnert sofern man dem vorausfahrenden Fahrzeug zu dich auffĂ€hrt. Im Test konnte das ADAS nicht ĂŒberzeugen. Trotz korrekter Kalibrierung und Ausrichtung wurden Spurwechsel fehlerhaft angezeigt. WĂ€hrend der Fahrt wurde auch vielfach vor einem vorausfahrenden Fahrzeug gewarnt, das ĂŒberhaupt nicht existierte. Die Warnungen erfolgen in einem schlechten Englisch, was auf Dauer mehr störend als nĂŒtzlich ist.

Preisvergleich

Preisentwicklung

Aktuelle Preise

Amazon
1-5 Werktage
36,99€
Geekbuying kaufen
10-30 Werktage
62,62€

Preis zu hoch? Nutze unseren Preiswecker!

Preise zuletzt aktualisiert am: 2. Juli 2020 12:00

Testergebnis

Bewertung
Positiv

Hohe Auflösung mit 30 / 60 FPS
Gute AufnahmequalitÀt bei Tag und Nacht
WDR 2.0
Umfangreiche App
Einfach zu bedienen

Negativ

BlickwinkelstabilitÀt des Displays
Nur Halterung mit Klebepad
Ungenaues ADAS
Keine Kollisionserkennung beim Parken

Erster Eindruck
7.5
9.0
Verarbeitung
8.0
6.5
Design
8.0
8.7
Display
7.5
7.8
BenutzeroberflÀche
8.5
5.3
Funktionsumfang
7.5
7.6
Bedienbarkeit
8.0
2.4
VideoqualitÀt
7.5
7.9
BildqualitÀt
7.5
7.8
Mikrofon
6.5
8.7
App
8.0
5.8
Fazit

Die Xiaomi Yi Smart Dash Camera wird ihrem Preis gerecht. NatĂŒrlich ist keine „eierlegende Wollmilchsau“ zu erwarten, doch die AufnahmequalitĂ€t ist akzeptabel und auch die Bedienung mittels der Yi Dashcam App ist ein interessanter Zusatz. Weniger ĂŒberzeugen konnte hingegen das ungenaue ADAS. Eine solche Funktion sollte man bei einer Autokamera dieser Preisklasse zwar schon gar nicht erwarten, wenn die Funktion allerdings integriert ist sollte sie zumindest etwas nĂŒtzlich sein. VerbesserungswĂŒrdig ist die im Lieferumfang enthaltene Halterung. Hier wĂ€re eine alternative Saugnapfhalterung wĂŒnschenswert.

7.7
Unsere Bewertung
7.0
Nutzerbewertung
1 rating
You have rated this
guest
0 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments