cameras
2
Review

Yi Home Camera 2 Review - Surveillance Camera

by 8. September 2016

The Yi Home Camera 2 is the successor of the first Xiaomi Yi surveillance camera. In addition to new smart functions, the new model is now also available in Full HD. But is the new surveillance camera from Yi Technology really that smart, and what about the data being transferred to the Yi Cloud? More in this review!

overview
Manufacturer/Model

Yi Technology

Product

Yi Home Camera 2

Specifications

Image sensor: Panasonic 1 / 2.8 "2.12 megapixel CMOS
Image processor: Ambarella Cortex-A9
Resolution: 1080p @ 25 / 20 or 720p @ 20
Codec: H.264 HP Level 5.1, Smart AVC
Field of view: 130 °

Memory: 2GB DDR3 RAM; 1GB Flash
Memory extension: Micro SD memory card

WiFi: 2.4GHz; 802.11 b / g / n
Encryption: WEP / WPA2

Night Vision: 11 IR LED 940nm
Speaker: 1W
Microphone: Yes

Size: 122x70x59mm
Weight: 132g

Scope of delivery

1x Yi Home Camera 2
1x adhesive pad
1x USB cable
1x power adapter
1x user manual

First impression of the Yi Home Camera 2

Scope of delivery

The scope of delivery is clear. In addition to the Yi Home Camera 2 are still one Charging cables, AC adapter, adhesive pad and a multilingual one Manual contain. A separate bracket is missing because the stand connected to the camera is also the bracket.

Design and workmanship

With a Size of only 122 x 70 x 59 mm and a Weight of 132g the Yi surveillance camera is comparatively small and light. The design is simple and the compact size makes the camera unassuming, so it can be placed inconspicuously. The design is more reminiscent of a modern webcam than a smart surveillance camera.

As already used by other Yi products, the workmanship is convincing. The plastic housing makes a valuable impression and the included accessories are processed error-free.

Hardware and equipment

Image processor and image sensor

Inside works one Ambarella Cortex-A9 image processorclocking with 600MHz. The storage equipment amounts to 2GB DDR3 memory and one 1GB SLC NAND flash memory, Using an SD memory card slot, recordings can be saved directly to a MicroSD memory card (8GB - 64GB).

The image sensor is on 2.12 Megapixel CMOS from Panasonic with vMaicovicon technology, which produces a detailed picture even in low light conditions. Videos are at maximum resolution of 1080p at 25 images-per-second added. The aperture ratio of the lens is F2.0. In addition, the camera has an extremely wide field of view of 130 °. The video compression is based on the H.264 Level 5.1 and MJPEG standard. An additional image enhancement is achieved by an 3D noise filter, the 3D LUT color correction and WDR (Wide Dynamic Range) as well as HDR (High Dynamic Range).

Yi Home Camera 2 Review - Security Camera / Security Camera FullHD

IR night vision, WiFi and audio system

There are a total of around the lens 11 Infrared LEDs (940nm), With increasing darkness or in low light conditions, the Yi Home Camera 2 automatically switches to night vision mode. This feature can also be disabled in the camera settings. On the housing of the camera are more Status LEDs (yellow and blue) indicating a power connection (yellow) and an existing wireless connection (blue).

For data transmission, the Yi Home Camera 2 has one 2.4GHz WiFi module integrated. The are supported Standards 802.11 b / g / n, as well as the encryption WEP or WPA2. About one Two-way audio system Spoken can be received and played back. For this purpose, the security camera with a 1W speaker and a Microphone equipped.

commissioning

Electricity gets the Yi security camera over the enclosed AC adapter with USB cable. This solution is comfortable because an arbitrarily long USB cable can be used. Even the power adapter is identical to that of a smartphone, which is why this can be easily replaced. Less comfortable is the mounting option. Due to the firmly attached holder, the camera can stand there perfectly, but the Yi surveillance camera can only be attached to the wall with an adhesive pad. There is no screwing possibility.

For commissioning is a Android or iOS device needed. First, the so-called "Yi Home" App be downloaded. Then you have to create a "Yi account". To do this, you either sign up with an email address or use the "Facebook Login".

Next you will be guided through the necessary steps for commissioning. The language of the app is German. An additional English language output explains the current status of the camera. In order to use the Yi Home Camera 2, it must be integrated into an existing WLAN. The WLAN data is transmitted by means of QR Codethat you create with the app and hold in front of the camera lens.

Yi Home App and Features

The app is clearly designed and offers numerous settings. Here you can manage several Yi cameras, as well as get a live picture of the respective connected camera.

main display

If you have selected a connected camera, video and photo recordings can be made via the app, you can send and receive voice messages, as well as get an overview of the triggered alarms.

In the test, the main display convinces by a simple operability and clarity. All necessary functions can be reached by a few steps.

alarm function

How and when an alarm is triggered can be set individually. Among other things, one can activity region be set one people detection can be activated and there is even one "Crying baby detection", The person recognition triggers as soon as a person is recognized. The "crying baby detection" is triggered by loud baby crying. There are additional types for each type of recognition 3 Sensitivity Levels (High / Medium / Low), One Alarm Frequency (High / Medium / Low) as well as one schedulewhen the alarm should be activated or muted.

A triggered alarm will save a short shot. This is with the "Yi Cloud" synchronized and is also available on the go. That too Live image is synced to Yi Cloud and can be viewed remotely from anywhere. That the camera constantly syncs with the Yi Cloud is already noticeable on the Delay of the video signal, This is delayed by about 6 seconds even though the receiving device used in the test was in the same network. The remote access is unfortunately not completely switched off. Only the saving of alarm recordings within the Yi Cloud can be deactivated. If you want to continue using the alarm function then you have to SD Memory Card Insert.

Although Yi technology promises that the data transmission is encrypted, as well as the security camera can be provided with a PIN, but unauthorized access can never be ruled out! The test detected about 90% of deliberately triggered alerts. The person recognition is overall rather inaccurate. Even pets were recognized as "person".

gesture control

With the function "gesture control" video messages can be transmitted. To do this, stand in front of the camera at a distance of about 2 meters and hold the outstretched hand at shoulder level. The Yi Home camera then lights up with a green LED to indicate that the gesture has been detected. If you then fold your hand into a fist, the video recording begins.

The gesture control worked fine during the test. If you followed the steps exactly, the error rate was zero.

Settings

The settings are extensive. There are other settings for:

  • Resolution (1080p @ 25 / 20 or 720p @ 20)
  • volume
  • Microphone
  • Status LED
  • object distortion
  • night vision

Updates

Once a Firmware update or app update is available, you will be notified via the Yi Home app. Updates are then downloaded and installed fully automatically.

Picture and sound quality

The image representation is high-resolution sharp and very detailed. Colors are accurately reproduced. Even in low light conditions, the Yi Home Camera 2 produces useful pictures. The change to the night vision mode succeeds well. However, the refresh rate is felt to be reduced in this mode, resulting in a slight "tightening". The picture quality, however, remains in line with expectations.

The sound transmitted to the Yi Home Camera 2 is clearly visible. Even at the highest transmission volume this does not sound tinny. Also, the transmitted to the receiver sound is understandably clear.

Price Comparison

Price comparison - buy offer on Amazon
Shipping Shipped from Germany
32,99€
Price comparison - buy offer at Geekbuying
Shipping Shipping from Hong Kong
46,22€
Price comparison - buy offer at Geekbuying
Shipping Shipped from Germany
81,58€

Price too high? Use our price alarm clock!

Prices last updated on: 7. October 2019 08: 02

Final Words

Positive

►Design and processing
►Bedienbarkeit
►Funktionsumfanng
►Picture and audio quality
►SD memory card slot
►USB power supply

Negative

►Remote access not deactivated
►Fixing with adhesive pad
►Übertragungsverzögerung

rating
Our rating
user Rating
Rate Here
First impression
8.5
8.8
application
8.0
8.3
Design
9.0
8.9
Features
8.5
8.7
usability
8.0
8.3
video quality
8.0
8.6
picture quality
8.5
8.5
Microphone
8.5
8.2
Loudspeakers
7.0
8.5
App
8.5
8.3
Summary

The Yi Home Camera 2 from Yi Technology is a comfortable monitoring solution that offers a comprehensive and well-implemented range of functions and surprises with a very good picture and sound quality. Thus, the Yi surveillance camera is in direct competition with the "Nest Cam" and represents a much cheaper alternative.

Just the range of functions and convenient operation, but to some extent due to the "Yi Cloud", which stores recorded videos, among others, and allows remote access to the video stream. Although Yi Technology promises a secure data connection (P2P) and data encryption, you never know where the data will be stored and how it will ultimately be used. If you want to be on the safe side, should completely exclude the Internet access for the Yi surveillance camera. The video stream is also available locally.

8.3
Our rating
8.5
user Rating
1 rating
You have rated this

2
Leave a comment

avatar
1 Comment threads
1 Thread replies
0 Followers
Mostïve comment
Hottest comment thread
2 Comment authors
TimoAlexander Reder Recent comment authors
Subscribe
Latest Oldest
notification
Alexander Reder
guest
Alexander Reder

Dear TECHREVIEWER team,
I found the contribution to the Yi Home Camera 2 very helpful, but I have 2 for questions that are very important to me. Firstly, I would like to know if the Yi Camera could also be operated via a power bank instead of the power supply and secondly whether "a 2.4GHz WiFi module integrated" means that the camera itself WiFi-direct capable. If this is not the case, is it then possible to pair the camera with a WiFI-direct capable device like a cell phone (ie without a router)?
Thank you,

Alexander Reder

Timo
admin
Timo

Hi Alexander, you can operate the camera with a power bank. WiFi-Direct is not available. By WiFi is meant that the camera does not create its own Wi-Fi, to which you can connect, but as a client must be integrated into an existing Wi-Fi.

Kameras
2
Review

Yi Home Camera 2 Testbericht – Überwachungskamera

by 8. September 2016

Die Yi Home Camera 2 ist der Nachfolger der ersten Xiaomi Yi Überwachungskamera. Neben neuen smarten Funktionen nimmt das neue Modell nun auch in Full HD auf. Doch ist die neue Überwachungskamera von Yi Technology wirklich so smart und wie steht es um die Daten, die in die Yi Cloud übertragen werden? Dazu mehr in diesem Testbericht!

Überblick
Hersteller

Yi Technology

Produktbezeichnung

Yi Home Camera 2

Spezifikationen

Bildsensor: Panasonic 1/2.8“ 2.12 Megapixel CMOS
Bildprozessor: Ambarella Cortex-A9
Auflösung: 1080p@25/20 oder 720p@20
Codec: H.264 HP Level 5.1, Smart AVC
Sichtfeld: 130°

Speicher: 2GB DDR3 RAM; 1GB Flash
Speichererweiterung: Micro SD-Speicherkarte

WiFi: 2.4GHz; 802.11 b/g/n
Verschlüsselung: WEP / WPA2

Nachtsicht: 11 IR LED 940nm
Lautsprecher: 1W
Mikrofon: Ja

Größe: 122x70x59mm
Gewicht: 132g

Lieferumfang

1x Yi Home Camera 2
1x Klebepad
1x USB-Kabel
1x Netzadapter
1x Bedienungsanleitung

Erster Eindruck zur Yi Home Camera 2

Lieferumfang

Der Lieferumfang fällt übersichtlich aus. Neben der Yi Home Camera 2 sind noch ein Ladekabel, ein Netzadapter, ein Klebepad und eine mehrsprachige Bedienungsanleitung enthalten. Eine separate Halterung fehlt, denn der mit der Kamera verbundene Standfuß ist zugleich die Halterung.

Design und Verarbeitung

Mit einer Größe von nur 122 x 70 x 59 mm und einem Gewicht von 132g ist die Yi Überwachungskamera vergleichsweise klein und leicht. Das Design ist schlicht und durch die kompakte Größe wirkt die Kamera unscheinbar, weshalb sie sich unauffällig platzieren lässt. Die Bauform erinnert viel mehr an eine moderne Webcam, als an eine smarte Überwachungskamera.

Wie bereits von anderen Yi Produkten gewohnt, überzeugt die Verarbeitung. Das Kunststoffgehäuse macht einen wertigen Eindruck und auch die enthaltenen Zubehörteile sind fehlerfrei verarbeitet.

Hardware und Ausstattung

Bildprozessor und Bildsensor

Im Inneren arbeitet ein Ambarella Cortex-A9 Bildprozessor, der mit 600MHz taktet. Die Speicherausstattung beläuft sich auf 2GB DDR3 Arbeitsspeicher und  einen 1GB SLC-NAND-Flashspeicher. Über einen SD-Speicherkartenslot können Aufnahmen direkt auf eine MicroSD-Speicherkarte (8GB – 64GB) gespeichert werden.

Der Bildsensor ist ein 2.12 Megapixel CMOS von Panasonic mit vMaicovicon Technologie, der auch bei schlechten Lichtverhältnissen ein detailreiches Bild erzeugt. Videos werden mit maximaler Auflösung von 1080p bei 25 Bildern-pro-Sekunde aufgenommen. Das Öffnungsverhältnis der Linse beträgt F2.0. Zudem besitzt die Kamera ein äußerst weites Sichtfeld von 130°. Die Videokompression erfolgt nach dem H.264 Level 5.1 und MJPEG Standard. Eine zusätzliche Bildverbesserung wird durch einen 3D Rauschfilter, die 3D LUT Farbkorrektur und WDR (Wide Dynamic Range) sowie HDR (High Dynamic Range) erreicht.

Yi Home Camera 2 Review – Security Camera / Überwachungskamera FullHD

IR Nachtsicht, WiFi und Audiosystem

Um die Linse herum befinden sich insgesamt 11 Infrarot-LEDs (940nm). Mit zunehmender Dunkelheit oder bei unzureichenden Lichtverhältnissen wechselt die Yi Home Camera 2 automatisch in den Nachtsichtmodus. Diese Funktion lässt sich auch in den Kameraeinstellungen deaktivieren. Am Gehäuse der Kamera befinden sich weitere Status-LEDs (Gelb und Blau) die eine Stromverbindung (Gelb) und eine bestehende WLAN-Verbindung (Blau) anzeigen.

Zur Datenübertragung hat die Yi Home Camera 2 ein 2.4GHz WiFi Modul integriert. Unterstützt werden die Standards 802.11 b/g/n, sowie die Verschlüsselungen WEP oder WPA2. Über ein Zwei-Wege-Audiosystem kann Gesprochenes empfangen und wiedergegeben werden. Hierzu ist die Überwachungskamera mit einem 1W Lautsprecher und einem Mikrofon ausgestattet.

Inbetriebnahme

Strom erhält die Yi Überwachungskamera über den beiliegenden Netzadapter samt USB-Kabel. Diese Lösung ist komfortabel, da ein beliebig langes USB-Kabel verwendet werden kann. Auch der Netzadapter ist mit dem eines Smartphones identisch, weshalb sich auch dieser leicht austauschen lässt. Weniger komfortabel ist die Halterungsmöglichkeit. Durch die fest verbundene Halterung lässt sich da Kamera zwar hervorragend hinstellen, an der Wand lässt sich die Yi Überwachungskamera allerdings nur mit einem Klebepad befestigen. Eine Schraubmöglichkeit gibt es nicht.

Zur Inbetriebnahme wird ein Android oder iOS Gerät benötigt. Zunächst muss die so genannte „Yi Home“ App heruntergeladen werden. Anschließend muss man sich ein „Yi Konto“ anlegen. Hierzu meldet man sich entweder mit einer Email-Adresse an oder verwendet den „Facebook-Login“.

Als nächstes wird man durch die zur Inbetriebnahme notwendigen Schritte geführt. Die Sprache der App ist Deutsch. Eine zusätzliche, englische Sprachausgabe erklärt den aktuellen Status der Kamera. Um die Yi Home Camera 2 verwenden zu können, muss diese in ein bestehendes WLAN eingebunden werden. Die WLAN Daten übermittelt man mittels QR Code, den man mit der App erzeugt und vor die Kameralinse hält.

Yi Home App und Funktionen

Die App ist übersichtlich gestaltet und bietet zahlreiche Einstellungsmöglichkeiten. Hierüber lassen sich mehrere Yi Kameras verwalten, als auch bekommt man ein Live Bild der jeweiligen, verbundenen Kamera angezeigt.

Hauptanzeige

Hat man eine verbundene Kamera ausgewählt, können über die App Video- und Fotoaufnahmen angefertigt werden, man kann Sprachnachrichten übermitteln und empfangen, als auch erhält man eine Übersicht zu den ausgelösten Alarmen.

Im Test überzeugt die Hauptanzeige durch eine einfache Bedienbarkeit und Übersichtlichkeit. Alle notwendigen Funktionen sind durch wenige Schritte erreichbar.

Alarmfunktion

Wie und wann ein Alarm ausgelöst wird, kann individuell eingestellt werden. Unter anderem kann eine Aktivitätsregion festgelegt werden, eine Personenerkennung kann aktiviert werden und es gibt sogar eine „Weinendes Baby Erkennung“. Die Personenerkennung löst aus, sobald ein Mensch erkannt wird. Die „Weinendes Baby Erkennung“ wird bei lautem Babygeschrei ausgelöst. Zu jeder Erkennungsart gibt es zusätzlich 3 Empfindlichkeitsstufen (Hoch / Mittel / Niedrig), eine Alarmhäufigkeit (Hoch / Mittel / Niedrig) sowie einen Zeitplan, wann also der Alarm aktiviert bzw. stummgeschaltet sein soll.

Bei einem ausgelösten Alarm wird eine kurze Aufnahme gespeichert. Diese wird dabei mit der „Yi Cloud“ synchronisiert und ist dabei auch von unterwegs aus abrufbar. Auch das Live Bild wird mit der Yi Cloud synchronisiert und ist mittels Fernzugriff von überall aus anzusehen. Dass die Kamera ständig mit der Yi Cloud synchronisiert bemerkt man bereits an der Verzögerung des Videosignals. Dieses ist um etwa 6 Sekunden verzögert, obwohl sich das im Test verwendete Empfangsgerät im gleichen Netzwerk befand. Der Fernzugriff ist leider nicht komplett abschaltbar. Lediglich das Speichern von Alarmaufnahmen innerhalb der Yi Cloud kann deaktiviert werden. Wer die Alarmfunktion anschließend weiterhin verwenden möchte, der muss eine SD-Speicherkarte einlegen.

Zwar verspricht Yi Technologie, dass die Datenübertragung verschlüsselt ist, als auch kann die Überwachungskamera mit einem PIN versehen werden, ein unberechtigter Zugriff ist allerdings nie auszuschließen! Im Test wurden etwa 90% der absichtlich ausgelösten Alarme erkannt. Die Personenerkennung ist insgesamt eher ungenau. Selbst Haustiere wurden als „Person“ erkannt.

Gestensteuerung

Mit der Funktion „Gestensteuerung“ können Videonachrichten übermittelt werden. Hierzu stellt man sich im Abstand von etwa 2 Metern vor die Kamera und hält die ausgestreckte Hand auf Schulterhöhe. Anschließend leuchtet die Yi Home Kamera mit einer grünen LED und gibt zu erkennen, dass die Geste erkannt wurde. Faltet man anschließend die Hand zur Faust, beginnt die Videoaufnahme.

Die Gestensteuerung funktionierte im Laufe des Tests problemlos. Hat man die einzelnen Schritte exakt befolgt, lag die Fehlerrate bei Null.

Einstellungen

Die Einstellungsmöglichkeiten sind umfangreich. Es gibt unter anderes Einstellungen zur:

  • Auflösung (1080p@25/20 oder 720p@20)
  • Lautstärke
  • Mikrofon
  • Status-LED
  • Objektverzerrung
  • Nachtsicht

Updates

Sobald ein Firmware-Update oder App-Update verfügbar ist, wird man über die Yi Home App benachrichtig. Updates werden anschließend vollautomatisch heruntergeladen und installiert.

Bild- und Tonqualität

Die Bilddarstellung ist hochauflösend scharf und sehr detailreich. Farben werden akkurat wiedergegeben. Selbst bei schlechten Lichtverhältnissen produziert die Yi Home Camera 2 brauchbare Aufnahmen. Der Wechsel zum Nachtsichtmodus gelingt gut. Die Bildwiederholrate wird in diesem Modus allerdings gefühlt reduziert, wodurch ein leichtes „Nachziehen“ entsteht. Die Bildqualität bleibt allerdings den Erwartungen entsprechend.

Der an die Yi Home Camera 2 übertragene Ton ist klar und deutlich wahrnehmbar. Selbst auf höchster Übertragungslautstärke klingt dieser nicht blechern. Auch der an das Empfangsgerät übermittelte Ton ist verständlich klar.

Preisvergleich

Preisvergleich - Angebot bei Amazon kaufen
Versand Versand aus Deutschland
39,99€
Preisvergleich - Angebot bei Geekbuying kaufen
Versand Versand aus Hongkong
44,89€
Preisvergleich - Angebot bei Geekbuying kaufen
Versand Versand aus Deutschland
44,01€
Preise zuletzt aktualisiert am: 15. Dezember 2018 16:04
Positiv

►Design und Verarbeitung
►Bedienbarkeit
►Funktionsumfanng
►Bild- und Audioqualität
►SD-Speicherkartenslot
►USB Stromversorgung

Negativ

►Fernzugriff nicht abstellbar
►Befestigung mit Klebepad
►Übertragungsverzögerung

Bewertung
Punkte
Erster Eindruck
8.5
Verarbeitung
8.0
Design
9.0
Funktionsumfang
8.5
Bedienbarkeit
8.0
Videoqualität
8.0
Bildqualität
8.5
Mikrofon
8.5
Lautsprecher
7.0
App
8.5
Fazit

Die Yi Home Camera 2 von Yi Technology ist eine komfortable Überwachungslösung, die einen umfangreichen und gut umgesetzten Funktionsumfang bietet und durch eine sehr gute Bild- und Tonqualität überrascht. Damit steht die Yi Überwachungskamera in direkter Konkurrenz zur "Nest Cam" und stellt einer weitaus preiswertere Alternative dar.

Gerade der Funktionsumfang und die komfortable Bedienung sind aber gewissermaßen auf die „Yi Cloud“ zurückzuführen, die unter anderem aufgenommene Videos speichert und einen Fernzugriff auf den Videostream ermöglicht. Zwar verspricht Yi Technology eine sichere Datenverbindung (P2P) und eine Datenverschlüsselung, trotzdem kann man nie wissen wo die Daten gespeichert werden und wie diese Daten letztendlich genutzt werden. Wer auf Nummer sicher gehen möchte, der sollte den Internetzugriff für die Yi Überwachungskamera komplett ausschließen. Der Videostream ist nämlich auch rein lokal erreichbar.

8.3
Punkte
You have rated this

2
Hinterlasse einen Kommentar

avatar
1 Comment threads
1 Thread replies
0 Followers
 
Most reacted comment
Hottest comment thread
2 Comment authors
TimoAlexander Reder Recent comment authors
  Subscribe  
Neueste Älteste
Benachrichtigung
Alexander Reder
Gast
Alexander Reder

Liebes TECHREVIEWER-Team,
ich fand den Beitrag zur Yi Home Camera 2 sehr hilfreich, habe aber 2 für für mich sehr wichtige Fragen. Erstens würde ich gerne wissen ob sich die Yi Camera auch über eine Powerbank an Stelle des Netzteils betreiben ließe und zweitens ob “ ein 2.4GHz WiFi Modul integriert“ bedeutet dass die Kamera selbs WiFi-direct fähig ist. Wenn dies nicht der Fall sein sollte, ist es dann möglich die Kamera an ein WiFI-direct fähiges Gerät wie ein Handy (also ohne Router) zu koppeln?
Vielen Dank,

Alexander Reder

Timo
Admin
Timo

Hi Alexander, du kannst die Kamera mit einer Powerbank betreiben. WiFi-Direct ist allerdings nicht vorhanden. Mit dem WiFi ist gemeint, dass die Kamera kein eigenes WLAN erstellt, zu dem du dich verbinden kannst, sondern als Client in ein bestehendes WLAN eingebunden werden muss.