News
3

ZUK Edge 5.5 Lenovo Phablet with Snapdragon 821

by Timo24. January

It was announced at the end of December. Meanwhile it is (at least) already available in China. We are talking about the ZUK Edge, a smartphone or phablet that can be added to the "Lenovo" subsidiary "ZUK". On the datasheet, the ZUK Edge presents itself as an almost fantastic phablet, which with the Qualcomm Snapdragon 821 has one of the fastest processors available. Unfortunately, due to lack of availability, the first reviews are still waiting for a while. Nevertheless, we were able to get a first impression from the data provided by ZUK.

overview
Manufacturer/Model

ZUK (Lenovo)

Product

YOU Edge

Specifications

SoC: Qualcomm Snapdragon 821
RAM: 4GB / 6GB
Internal memory: 64GB
Memory extension: no

Display diagonal: 5.5 inches
Display resolution: 1920 x 1080 pixels
Display glass: Corning Gorilla Glass

SIM: dual nano SIM
networks:
FDD-LTE B1/B2/B3/B4/B5/B7/B8/B20
TDD-LTE B38 / B39 / B40 / B41
TD-SCDMA B34 / B39
WCDMA 850 / 900 / 1900 / 2100MHz
CDMA2000 (800MHz)
GSM 850 / 900 / 1800 / 1900MHz

Main Camera: 13 Megapixel (Samsung) with PDAF and LED Flash
Front camera: 8 megapixel

WiFi: 802.11a / b / g / n / ac
Bluetooth: 4.1 BLE
GPS: Yes

Android: 6.0
Battery: 3100mAh
Size: 14.29 x 7.45 x 0.77 cm
Weight: 160g

YOU Edge

ZUK "Edge" design and display

The name ZUK Edge suggests a device with a rounded and bezeless display, similar to the Samsung Galaxy S7 Edge. Lenovo and ZUK put the term a little differently and mean much more a display with 2.5D Curved Glass, which is far from a frameless display. Nevertheless, the "Screen-to-Body" ratio with a hefty 86.4% is comparatively high. A Xiaomi Mi Mix compares to a screen-to-body ratio of 91.3%.

The built TDDI (Touch and Display Driver Integration) Display triggers on a display diagonal of 5.5 inches in Full HD (1920 x 1080). Thus, a dot density of 403PPI is achieved. The contrast ratio of the display is 1500: 1 and covers the NTSC color space by 85%. Other features include a stable viewing angle of up to 178 ° and a rather average luminance of 500 cd / m². The display is protected by Corning Gorilla Glass.

Quick Qualcomm Snapdragon 821

The Qualcomm Snapdragon 821 is currently the most powerful Qualcomm SoC, which is also used in some Xiaomi top models and the high-end model "Google Pixel". The 14bit processor, manufactured using the 64nm process, has a total of 4 Kyro cores that clock up to 2.35 GHz and ensure the best possible performance. The Adreno 530 GPU of the SoC allows even current smartphone games to play smoothly without any losses.

The RAM is 4GB or 6GB, depending on which model you choose. The internal memory of both models is 64GB and can not be expanded. The storage type UFS 2.0 in combination with USB Type-C ensures fast data transfers. Even wireless, the smartphone is well connected. All current WiFi standards as well as Bluetooth 4.1 are supported.

ZUK Edge Screen Ratio

Nothing new at the camera

For the exact description of the used image sensor of the main camera ZUK makes no statements. The information provided by the manufacturer, however, are sufficient to guess which image sensor is installed. According to the published specifications, the main camera of the ZUK Edge with 13 resolves megapixels and uses Samsung's ISOCELL technology. Many 13 megapixel sensors with Samsung ISOCELL are not available, which is why most likely the same Samsung S5K3M2 image sensor is used, which was already used in the ZUK Z2. Other features of the main camera include dual PDAF + CDAF autofocus, f / 2.2 aperture, and LED flash. An optical image stabilization is missing! The front camera resolves with 8 megapixels and also offers an f / 2.2 aperture. Especially in low light conditions the main camera of the ZUK Z2 was criticized. Whether the main camera of the ZUK Edge allows better picture and video recordings remains to be seen.

ZUI and others

Anyone who has dealt with the brand a little bit knows that the first ZUK smartphones were still delivered with CyanogenOS. In the meantime, the devices have the so-called ZUI 2.5, a CustomOS based on Android 7. With ZUI, the ZUK Edge is a long way from a Stock Android 7. Functions have been added, the appearance of the user interface changed and overall, ZUI feels a little different, but this is not necessarily a disadvantage.

Interesting are the many sensors of the smartphone. In addition to the usual sensors are also rather unusual sensors, such as a UV light sensor, an altimeter and even a heart rate monitor installed. It is also interesting that Galileo is also listed as an alternative satellite navigation on the data sheet in addition to GPS, A-GPS, GLONASS and Beidou.

ZUK Edge L smartphone

In mobile communications, the ZUK Edge is compatible with all common frequency bands. Even the LTE band 20 used in many places in this country is available, so that nothing stands in the way of the best possible reception quality. If you would like to secure your smartphone with a fingerprint scanner, the device has a "U-Touch 2.0" fingerprint scanner, which is integrated in the home button. The capacity of the battery is 3100mAh. You can not replace the battery. Quick Charge 3.0 ensures a shorter loading time.

Price and availability

In the Chinese market is the small model for 2.299 RMB to have, which corresponds to about 316 €. The big model is only slightly more expensive and costs 2.499 RMB, about 343 €. In this country, the smartphone can be purchased through relevant online shops. Gearbest has already listed the smartphone, so you can expect a soon sales start.

3
Leave a comment

avatar
1 Comment threads
2 Thread replies
0 Followers
Mostïve comment
Hottest comment thread
1 Comment authors
tsumk3ndrik Recent comment authors
Subscribe
Latest Oldest
notification
tsum
guest
tsum

A pity, I thought the smartphone will look like the new Xiaomi. That does not even have a display like the S7 Edge, or am I wrong now?

k3ndrik
guest
k3ndrik

What do you understand by the "new Xiaomi"? They are constantly releasing something new ?! Do you mean the Mi Mix? This is unique and has no display like the Galaxy S7 Edge, but is borderless at the top. Otherwise, I can only think of the note 2, which should be like the S7 Edge, but also could not deliver. With the ZUK Edge you have up and down less and a little more of the display. I personally do not even feel wrong!

tsum
guest
tsum

Yes, I thought of the Mi Mix. A combination of S7 and Mix would be the perfect phone, but until something comes ...

News
3

ZUK Edge – 5.5 Zoll Lenovo Phablet mit Snapdragon 821

by Timo24. Januar 2017
Erst Ende Dezember wurde es angekĂŒndigt. Mittlerweile ist es (zumindest) in China schon erhĂ€ltlich. Die Rede ist vom ZUK Edge, ein Smartphone bzw. Phablet, das dem "Lenovo" Tochterunternehmen "ZUK" zuzuzĂ€hlen ist. Auf dem Datenblatt prĂ€sentiert sich das ZUK Edge als fast schon fantastisches Phablet, das mit dem Qualcomm Snapdragon 821 einen der aktuell schnellsten Prozessoren verbaut hat. Erste Testberichte lassen mangels VerfĂŒgbarkeit leider noch etwas auf sich warten. Dennoch haben wir uns anhand der von ZUK vorgegebenen Daten ein erstes Bild verschaffen können.
Überblick
Hersteller

ZUK (Lenovo)

Produktbezeichnung

ZUK Edge

Spezifikationen

SoC: Qualcomm Snapdragon 821
RAM: 4GB / 6GB
Interner Speicher: 64GB
Speichererweiterung: Nein

Displaydiagonale: 5.5 Zoll
Displayauflösung: 1920 x 1080 Pixel
Displayglas: Corning Gorilla Glass

SIM: Dual-Nano-SIM
Netze:
FDD-LTE B1/B2/B3/B4/B5/B7/B8/B20
TDD-LTE B38/B39/B40/B41
TD-SCDMA B34/B39
WCDMA 850/900/1900/2100MHz
CDMA2000 ( 800MHz )
GSM 850/900/1800/1900MHz

Hauptkamera: 13 Megapixel (Samsung) mit PDAF und LED-Blitz
Frontkamera: 8 Megapixel

WiFi: 802.11a/b/g/n/ac
Bluetooth: 4.1 BLE
GPS: Ja

Android: 6.0
Akku: 3100mAh
GrĂ¶ĂŸe: 14.29 x 7.45 x 0.77 cm
Gewicht: 160g

ZUK Edge

ZUK „Edge“ Design und Display

Der Name ZUK Edge lĂ€sst ein GerĂ€t mit abgerundetem und bezeless Display, Ă€hnlich dem Samsung Galaxy S7 Edge erahnen. Lenovo bzw. ZUK legen den Begriff etwas anders aus und meinen damit viel mehr ein Display mit 2.5D Curved Glass, das von einem rahmenlosen Display weit entfernt ist. Trotzdem fĂ€llt das „Screen-to-Body“ VerhĂ€ltnis mit satten 86.4% vergleichsweise hoch aus. Ein Xiaomi Mi Mix erreicht im Vergleich ein „Screen-to-Body“ VerhĂ€ltnis von 91.3%.

Das verbaute TDDI (Touch and Display Driver Integration) Display löst bei einer Displaydiagonale von 5.5 Zoll in Full-HD (1920 x 1080) auf. Somit wird eine Punktdichte von 403PPI erreicht. Das KontrastverhĂ€ltnis des Displays betrĂ€gt 1500 : 1 und deckt den NTSC Farbraum um 85% ab. Weitere Merkmale sind ein stabiler Betrachtungswinkel mit bis zu 178° und eine eher durchschnittliche Leuchtdichte von 500 cd/mÂČ. GeschĂŒtzt wird das Display durch Corning Gorilla Glass.

Schneller Qualcomm Snapdragon 821

Der Qualcomm Snapdragon 821 ist der aktuell leistungsstĂ€rkste Qualcomm SoC, der unter anderem auch in einigen Xiaomi Top-Modellen und dem High-End Modell „Google Pixel“ verbaut ist. Der im 14nm Verfahren gefertigte 64bit Prozessor besitzt insgesamt 4 Kyro-Kerne, die mit bis zu 2.35GHz takten und fĂŒr eine bestmögliche Leistung sorgen. Die Adreno 530 GPU des SoC erlaubt es auch aktuelle Smartphone-Spiele ohne Verluste flĂŒssig zu spielen.

Der Arbeitsspeicher belĂ€uft sich auf 4GB bzw. 6GB, je nachdem fĂŒr welches Modell man sich entscheidet. Der interne Speicher betrĂ€gt bei beiden Modellen jeweils 64GB und ist nicht erweiterbar. FĂŒr schnelle DatenĂŒbertragungen sorgt der Speichertyp UFS 2.0 in Kombination mit USB-Typ-C. Auch kabellos ist das Smartphone gut angebunden. Alle aktuellen WiFi-Standards sowie Bluetooth 4.1 werden unterstĂŒtzt.

ZUK Edge Screenratio

Bei der Kamera nichts Neues

Zur genauen Bezeichnung des verwendeten Bildsensores der Hauptkamera macht ZUK keine Angaben. Die Angaben die der Hersteller allerdings macht, reichen aus um zu erahnen, welcher Bildsensor verbaut ist. Laut den veröffentlichten Spezifikationen löst die Hauptkamera des ZUK Edge mit 13 Megapixel auf und verwendet Samsungs ISOCELL Technologie. Viele 13 Megapixel Sensoren mit Samsung ISOCELL gibt es nicht, weshalb sehr wahrscheinlich der gleiche Samsung S5K3M2 Bildsensor verbaut ist, der bereits im ZUK Z2 zum Einsatz kam. Weitere Merkmale der Hauptkamera sind ein Dual PDAF + CDAF Autofokus, eine Blende f/2.2 sowie ein LED Blitz. Eine optische Bildstabilisierung fehlt! Die Frontkamera löst mit 8 Megapixel auf und bietet ebenfalls eine f/2.2 Blende. Gerade bei schlechten LichtverhÀltnissen wurde die Hauptkamera des ZUK Z2 kritisiert. Ob die Hauptkamera des ZUK Edge bessere Bild- und Videoaufnahmen ermöglicht bleibt abzuwarten.

ZUI und Sonstiges

Wer sich mit der Marke ein wenig beschĂ€ftigt hat weiß, dass die ersten ZUK Smartphones noch mit CyanogenOS ausgeliefert wurden. Mittlerweile befindet sich auf den GerĂ€ten das so genannte ZUI 2.5, ein CustomOS auf Basis von Android 7. Mit ZUI ist das ZUK Edge von einem Stock Android 7 weit entfernt. Funktionen wurden hinzugefĂŒgt, das Aussehen der BenutzeroberflĂ€che verĂ€ndert und auch insgesamt fĂŒhlt sich ZUI etwas anders an, was aber nicht unbedingt als Nachteil zu sehen ist.

Interessant sind die vielzĂ€hligen Sensoren des Smartphones. Neben den ĂŒblichen Sensoren sind auch eher ungewöhnliche Sensoren, wie z.B. einen UV-Lichtsensor, einen Höhenmesser und sogar einen Herzfrequenzmesser verbaut. Ebenfalls interessant ist, dass auf dem Datenblatt neben GPS, A-GPS, GLONASS und Beidou auch Galileo als alternative Satellitennavigation gelistet ist.

ZUK Edge L Smartphone

Im Mobilfunk ist das ZUK Edge zu allen gĂ€ngigen FrequenzbĂ€ndern kompatibel. Auch das hierzulande vielerorts verwendete LTE Band 20 ist vorhanden, sodass einer bestmöglichen EmpfangsqualitĂ€t nichts im Wege steht. Wer sein Smartphone gerne durch einen Fingerabdruckscanner sichern möchte, fĂŒr den besitzt das GerĂ€t einen „U-Touch 2.0“ Fingerabdruckscanner, der in die Home-Taste integriert ist. Die KapazitĂ€t des Akkus betrĂ€gt 3100mAh. Austauschen lĂ€sst sich der Akku nicht. FĂŒr eine verkĂŒrzte Ladezeit sorgt Quick Charge 3.0.

Preis und VerfĂŒgbarkeit

Auf dem chinesischen Markt ist das kleine Modell fĂŒr 2.299 RMB zu haben, was etwa 316€ entspricht. Das große Modell ist nur geringfĂŒgig teurer und kostet 2.499 RMB, umgerechnet etwa 343€. Hierzulande kann das Smartphone ĂŒber einschlĂ€gige Online-Shops erworben werden. Gearbest hat das Smartphone bereits gelistet, sodass mit einem baldigen Verkaufsstart zu rechnen ist.

3
Hinterlasse einen Kommentar

avatar
Neueste Älteste
tsum
Gast
tsum

Schade, ich habe gedacht das Smartphone wird wie das neue Xiaomi aussehen. Das hat doch noch nicht einmal ein Display wie das S7 Edge, oder irre ich mich jetzt?

k3ndrik
Gast
k3ndrik

Was verstehst du unter dem „neuen Xiaomi“? Die veröffentlichen doch stĂ€ndig was neues?! Meinst du das Mi Mix? Das ist einzigartig und hat zwar auch kein Display wie das Galaxy S7 Edge, ist dafĂŒr aber oben randlos. Ansonsten fĂ€llt mir nur das Note 2 ein, das wie das S7 Edge sein sollte, aber auch nicht liefern konnte. Mit dem ZUK Edge hast du oben nach oben und nach unten weniger und dafĂŒr etwas mehr vom Display. Find ich persönlich gar nicht mal verkehrt!

tsum
Gast
tsum

Ja, ich dachte an das Mi Mix. Eine Kombi aus S7 und Mix wĂ€re das perfekte phone, aber bis sowas kommt…