News
0

Elephone U3H - smartphone with punch-hole camera

by Timo29. December 2019
The Elephone U2019H was announced in spring 3. However, it took more than half a year for the smartphone to hit the stores. For less than € 200, the China smartphone offers a MediaTek P70 mid-range system-on-chip and a striking design with a "punch-hole" front camera.
Overview
Manufacturer/Model

Elephone

Product

Elephone U3H

Specifications

Processor and memory
CPU: MediaTek P70
GPU: Mali-G72 MP3
RAM: 6GB LPDDR4x
Internal memory: 128GB eMMC5.1
Memory extension: Yes

Display
Type: IPS
Diagonal: 6,53 inches
Resolution: 2.340 x 1.080 pixels

cameras
* Main camera: 48 MP + 5MP
* Front camera: 24 MP

Mesh
Dual SIM: Yes
SIM size: Nano SIM

GSM: B2 / B3 / B5 / B8
WCDMA: B1 / B5 / B8
FDD-LTE: B1/B3/B5/B7/B8/B20
TDD-LTE: B40 / B41

wireless
WiFi: 802.11 a / b / g / n / ac
Bluetooth: 4.2
GPS: Yes

Accumulator
Battery: 3.500 mAh
Qi store: no
Connection: USB-C

other
Fingerprint scanner: Yes
Operating system: Android 9.0
Size: 16.30 x 7.80 x 0.87 cm
Weight: 187g

Elephone U3H

At the beginning of January Honor got it Honor View 20 fooled. A smartphone whose front camera is subtly integrated into the display. In contrast to the Notch, the in-display camera (or punch-hole camera) is not very successful. Nevertheless, smaller smartphone manufacturers from China could not miss it and the design of the Honor View 20 copied. Above all, Elephone, which announced a visually similar model in spring 2019. Almost forgotten, that is in December 2019 Elephone U3H appeared.

Here you can buy the Elephone U3H.

Design with punch-hole camera

The most striking design feature of the Elephone U3H is the one already mentioned "Punch-Hole Camera", The only 2.98 mm recess in the front camera is located directly on the display. The display itself covers a large part of the front with a diagonal of 6.53 inches. According to Elephone, the screen-to-body ratio is more than 91.38%. The built-in panel is of the IPS type and has a resolution of 2340 x 1080 pixels.

The back of the smartphone is just as striking as the front. The back is curved into the display frame. The colors “Midnight Black” and “Breathing Crystal” give the smartphone a special touch.

48 Megapixel main camera

There is one vertically arranged on the back 48 Megapixel main camera with central LED flash and 5 megapixel depth sensor underneath. The main camera uses a Sony IMX 586 image sensor. This would not only be based on the design of the Honor View 20, but would also use the identical camera sensor. However, information about camera sensors on China smartphones should be used with caution. The advertised sensors are often not installed!

Elephone U3H in Crystal Cream

The main camera is supported by Elephone's camera AI. The “Ultra-Dark Mode 2.0” is supposed to produce mostly noise-free and colorful images even in poor light conditions through “Multi-Frame Processing”. The same applies to the 24 megapixel front camera, which is supposed to deliver perfect selfies through numerous beauty filters. Face-Unlock, which takes more than 128 recognition features into account, ensures more security. But even this information is not always correct, especially with China smartphones. Many smartphones, including those from Elephone, can be tricked by taking photographs.

MediaTek P70 mid-range

Like the Elephone U2, the Elephone U3H is included MediaTek's P70 system-on-chip fitted. This is divided into an octa-core CPU with 2.1 GHz clock rate and a Mali G72-MP3 GPU. The storage equipment includes a 6GB LPDDR4x memory and a 128GB eMMC5.1 data storage. The data storage can be expanded with a microSD memory card at the expense of the second SIM slot.

In terms of performance, the MediaTek P70 belongs to the upper middle class. Experience has shown that the P70 should display both the user interface and games smoothly. The user interface is based on Android 9, which is largely based on stock Android.

4G LTE and 3500 mAh battery

The Elephone U3H supports the most common mobile radio frequencies in Europe. LTE reception is possible on both nano SIM slots. When it comes to WiFi, Elephone uses fast dual AC WiFi. Bluetooth is available in version 4.2. There is a fingerprint scanner on the back for safe unlocking. The capacity of the battery is given as 3500 mAh. It is loaded via USB-C. Wireless Qi charging is not possible.

Elephone U3H in Midnight Black

Initial Coverage

More than half a year after the Elephone U3H was announced, the time for the China punch-hole smartphone might have run out. Even if well-known manufacturers such as Honor, Samsung or OPPO have published or published smartphones with punch-holes, the trend around the punched-out front camera was not really successful.

On the data sheet, however, the smartphone cuts a good figure and presents itself as an inexpensive mid-range device. We are excited to see how the Elephone U3H will perform in the test.

Price Comparison

Price history

Current prices

Gearbest
10-30 working days
369,99€

Price too high? Use our price alarm clock!

Prices last updated on: 18. September 2020 05: 42
guest
0 Comments
Inline feedback
View all comments

News
0

Elephone U3H – Smartphone mit Punch-Hole Kamera

by Timo29. Dezember 2019
Bereits im Frühjahr 2019 wurde das Elephone U3H angekündigt. Mehr als ein halbes Jahr hat es jedoch gedauert, bis das Smartphone in den Handel gelangt ist.  Für weniger als 200€ bietet das China-Smartphone ein MediaTek P70 Mittelklasse System-on-Chip und ein auffälliges Design mit "Punch-Hole" Frontkamera.
Überblick
Hersteller

Elephone

Produktbezeichnung

Elephone U3H

Spezifikationen

Prozessor und Speicher
CPU: MediaTek P70
GPU: Mali-G72 MP3
RAM: 6GB LPDDR4x
Interner Speicher: 128GB eMMC5.1
Speichererweiterung: Ja

Display
Typ: IPS
Diagonale: 6,53 Zoll
Auflösung: 2.340 x 1.080 Pixel

Kameras
*Hauptkamera: 48 MP + 5MP
*Frontkamera: 24 MP

Netz
Dual-SIM: Ja
SIM-Größe: Nano SIM

GSM: B2/B3/B5/B8
WCDMA: B1/B5/B8
FDD-LTE: B1/B3/B5/B7/B8/B20
TDD-LTE: B40/B41

Wireless
WiFi: 802.11 a/b/g/n/ac
Bluetooth: 4.2
GPS: Ja

Akku
Akku: 3.500 mAh
Qi-Laden: Nein
Anschluss: USB-C

Sonstige
Fingerabdruckscanner: Ja
Betriebssystem: Android 9.0
Größe: 16.30 x 7.80 x 0.87 cm
Gewicht: 187g

Elephone U3H

Anfang Januar hat es Honor mit dem Honor View 20 vorgemacht. Ein Smartphone, dessen Frontkamera dezent in das Display integriert ist. Im Gegensatz zur Notch feiert die In-Display Kamera (oder Punch-Hole Kamera) keinen allzu großen Erfolg. Trotzdem haben es sich kleinere Smartphoneschmieden aus China nicht nehmen lassen und das Design des Honor View 20 kopiert. Allen voran Elephone, die bereits im Frühjahr 2019 ein optisch ähnliches Modell ankündigten. Fast schon vergessen, ist im Dezember 2019 das Elephone U3H erschienen.

Hier kannst du das Elephone U3H kaufen.

Design mit Punch-Hole Kamera

Das wohl auffälligste Designmerkmal des Elephone U3H ist die bereits erwähnte „Punch-Hole Kamera“. Die lediglich 2.98 mm große Aussparung der Frontkamera befindet sich dabei direkt im Display. Das Display selbst deckt mit einer Diagonale von 6.53 Zoll einen Großteil der Vorderseite ab. Laut Elephone beträgt das Screen-to-Body Verhältnis mehr als 91.38%. Das verbaute Panel ist vom Typ IPS und löst mit 2340 x 1080 Pixel auf.

Genauso markant wie die Vorderseite ist auch die Rückseite des Smartphones. Die Rückseite geht gekrümmt in den Displayrahmen über. Die Farben „Midnight Black“ und „Breathing Crystal“ verleihen dem Smartphone einen besonderen Touch.

48 Megapixel Hauptkamera

Vertikal angeordnet befindet sich rückseitig eine 48 Megapixel Hauptkamera mit mittigem LED-Blitz und darunterliegendem 5 Megapixel Tiefensensor. Die Hauptkamera nutzt einen Sony IMX 586 Bildsensor. Damit würde sich Elephone nicht nur am Design des Honor View 20 orientieren, sondern auch den identischen Kamerasensor verwenden. Angaben zur Kamerasensorik sind bei China-Smartphones jedoch mir Vorsicht zu genießen. Häufig ist nicht die angepriesene Sensorik verbaut!

Elephone U3H in Crystal Cream

Unterstützt wird die Hauptkamera durch Elephones Kamera-AI. Der „Ultra-Dark Mode 2.0“ soll durch „Multi-Frame Processing“ selbst bei schlechten Lichtverhältnissen weitestgehend rauschfreie und farbkräftige Bilder anfertigen. Gleiches gilt für die 24 Megapixel Frontkamera, die durch vielzählige Beauty-Filter astreine Selfies liefern soll. Für mehr Sicherheit sorgt der Face-Unlock, der mehr als 128 Erkennungsmerkmale berücksichtigt. Aber auch diese Angaben sind gerade bei China-Smartphones nicht immer korrekt. Viele Smartphones, auch solche von Elephone, lassen sich durch vorgehaltene Fotografien austricksen.

MediaTek P70 Mittelklasse

Wie schon das Elephone U2, ist auch das Elephone U3H mit MediaTeks P70 System-on-Chip ausgestattet. Dieses unterteilt sich in eine Octa-Core CPU mit 2.1 GHz Taktung und eine Mali G72-MP3 GPU. Die Speicherausstattung umfasst einen 6GB LPDDR4x Arbeitsspeicher und einen 128GB eMMC5.1 Datenspeicher. Der Datenspeicher lässt sich auf Kosten des zweiten SIM-Slots mit einer MicroSD-Speicherkarte erweitern.

In Sachen Leistung gehört das MediaTek P70 zur gehobenen Mittelklasse. Erfahrungsgemäß sollte das P70 sowohl Benutzeroberfläche, als auch Games flüssig darstellen. Die Benutzeroberfläche basiert auf Android 9, das sich weitestgehend an Stock-Android orientiert.

4G LTE und 3500 mAh Akku

Das Elephone U3H unterstützt die in Europa gängigsten Mobilfunkfrequenzen. LTE-Empfang ist auf beiden Nano-SIM-Slots möglich. Beim WLAN setzt Elephone auf schnelles Dual-AC WiFi. Bluetooth steht in Version 4.2 zur Verfügung. Zum sicheren Entsperren befindet sich rückseitig ein Fingerabdruckscanner. Die Kapazität des Akkus wird mit 3500 mAh angegeben. Geladen wird per USB-C. Kabelloses Qi-Laden ist nicht möglich.

Elephone U3H in Midnight Black

Ersteinschätzung

Mehr als ein halbes Jahr nach der Ankündigung des Elephone U3H, könnte die Zeit für das China-Punch-Hole Smartphone bereits abgelaufen sein. Auch wenn namhafte Hersteller wie Honor, Samsung oder OPPO Smartphones mit Punch-Hole veröffentlicht haben bzw. veröffentlichen, konnte sich der Trend um die ausgestanzte Frontkamera nicht so richtig durchsetzen.

Auf dem dem Datenblatt gibt das Smartphone allerdings eine gute Figur ab und präsentiert sich als ein preiswertes Mittelklasse-Gerät. Wir sind gespannt, wie sich das Elephone U3H im Test schlagen wird.

Preisvergleich

Preisentwicklung

Aktuelle Preise

Gearbest
10-30 Werktage
180,60€

Preis zu hoch? Nutze unseren Preiswecker!

Preise zuletzt aktualisiert am: 17. Januar 2020 13:02

Hinterlasse einen Kommentar

avatar