Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

UMi Emax Mini

Umi Emax Mini Test / Review

Test report created by Timo A. on October 27, 2015

After the very successful "Umi Emax", the Chinese smartphone manufacturer is continuing the name of the series and is releasing the so-called "Emax Mini". You might think that this is just a smaller version of the “Emax”, but the “Emax Mini” differs from the original Emax smartphone not only externally, but also in terms of hardware. Umi relies on a Snapdragon SoC for the first time, namely the Snapdragon 615 (MSM8939). You can find out how the Umi Emax Mini performs otherwise in this review.

Twitter Facebook WhatsApp buffer pin It
8.4
Our rating
Technical data
Overview
Manufacturer

UMI DIGI COMPANY

Model

UMI Emax Mini

Specifications

* OS: Android 5.0
* SoC: MSM8939 Octacore 1.5GHz
* GPU: Adreno 405
* RAM: 2GB
* ROM: 16GB
* Extended Storage: 64GB

* Screen Type: IPS OGS Full lamination technology
* Screen Size: 5.0 inch
* Screen Resolution: 1920 * 1080 Pixels

* Wireless Connectivity: GSM, 3G, 4G, GPS, WiFi, Bluetooth
* Frequency: GSM, 3G, 4G, GPS, WiFi, Bluetooth
*2G: GSM 850/900/1800/1900MHz
* 3G: WCDMA 900 / 1900 / 2100MHz
* 4G: FDD-LTE 1800 / 2100 / 2600 MHz
* Bluetooth: Yes, 4.0
* WiFi: Yes, IEEE 802.11b / g / n, Support Wi-Fi hotspot
* GPS: Support GPS and AGPS

* Camera type: 13MP Sony IMX214 Back, 8MP Samsung ISOCELL Front
* SIM: Two Standard micro sim card, dual standby
* TF: Yes
* Sensor: Gravity sensor, Light sensor, Proximity sensor

* Battery: 3050mAh lithium
* Dimension: 139.8x69.6x8.9mm
* Weight: 130g

What's in the box

* Emax Mini
*Battery pack
*USB cable
* AC adapter
*Operating manual

UMI Emax Mini Smartphone - Unboxing

What's in the box

This was glutinous Umi Emax Mini Smartphone in an attractive box to slide open. The label "UMI" is on the front and the specifications of the smartphone are printed on the back. After pulling out the inner unit of the box, you can see the Umi Emax Mini embedded in foam, a flat ribbon USB data and charging cable and an EU charger with USB socket. A rather brief instruction manual in English was also included. A screen protector was already applied to the smartphone.

 

First impression

The housing frame and the back of the 5-inch (according to CPU-Z 4.97-inch) smartphone are made of hardened plastic with an anthracite-colored look. The back is also grooved and can be completely removed. There is also a 13 megapixel rear camera (Sony IMX 214) and an LED flash on the back.

Overall, the Umi Emax Mini measures 139.8x69.6x8.9mm and weighs 130g. The bezel is rather average at 4mm.

The device's physical buttons, volume rocker and power button, are located on the right edge of the case. The smartphone does not have any other physical buttons. There are three capacitive buttons below the display, with the middle button highlighted. The buttons on the left and right light up when used.

Above the display are the 8 megapixel front camera (Samsung ISOCELL), the speaker, the notification LED and the light sensor.

After the first inspection, the Umi Emax Mini surprised me positively. Despite the plastic housing, it feels valuable and is also well made.

UMI Emax Mini smartphone test | Review | Hands-On

Display

Umi uses a high-quality panel from Sharp for the 5-inch display. The resolution is 1920x1080 pixels, the pixel density is 443 dpi. The display is razor sharp, the colors look strong and lively and the viewing angle stability was also convincing. I was able to read this display without any problems, especially in strong sunlight. MiraVision was not used on this smartphone, but the display was already perfectly set from the factory.

Performance

The Umi Emax Mini has a Snapdragon 615 SoC installed. This is a 64-bit octa-core processor with 4 cores clocking up to 1.5GHz and 4 cores clocking up to 1.11GHz. The graphics unit is an Adreno 405 with 550MHz. The smartphone also has 2GB of RAM. Overall, this is mid-range hardware, but the overall performance is extremely impressive. The navigation through Android 5.0.2 is consistently smooth and apps can also be opened quickly. However, this smartphone can also cause image breakdowns when playing computer-intensive games. Here are the results of individual benchmark tests:

user interface

The operating system used is Android 5.0.2. Already on the lockscreen it is noticeable that Umi does not use Stock Android. There are several quick start icons on the lockscreen, which can be used to open the calculator app, the camera app, the music app, the contacts app and a barcode scanner.

Within the user interface, the rounded custom icons immediately catch the eye. Otherwise, the Umi interface is very little different from Stock Android. Third-party apps were installed, but with the exception of an untranslated Chinese app, I could not find any suspicious apps.

Within the settings menu there are a few additional functions. For example, you can configure a gesture control, as well as you can regulate the LED notification. Unfortunately, the gesture control does not offer many functions. There is a "Double Tap 2 Wake" feature and a feature that mutes your smartphone should you put it on display. Also under the menu item "LED notification" you can only turn the notification on or off.

The Umi Emax Mini can be updated via OTA updates, which are received directly from the manufacturer.

Umi Emax Mini Test - Top View

Camera

I was especially looking forward to this test point. Umi has the Emax Mini missed a 13 megapixel rear camera with a Sony IMX214 image sensor and a 8 megapixel front camera with a Samsung ISOCELL image sensor. Especially for a mid-range smartphone, this is a very good hardware.

The camera app is a custom app that has not only the usual functions but also a time-lapse function, a barcode scanner or a "beauty picture". Images can be shot with 10 and 13 megapixels, videos are taken with up to 1080p. An image stabilizer can also be activated via the camera settings.

The 13 Megapixel rear camera offers decent pictures in daylight where there is virtually no picture noise. The colors look real and not overdriven. In lower light conditions, unfortunately, a stronger noise is observed.

The triggering time is fast. Recordings with flash are also implemented quickly. With the car focus, I had no problems so far.

The front camera with 8 megapixels is also good, and here, too, in low light conditions, there is a picture noise.

 reverse camera 

 front camera 

UMI EMax Mini Test / Review Bild1 Front

Telephony, WLAN, Bluetooth

I would call the call quality good. I could understand my interlocutor well, as well as he could understand me properly. Noise I could not find any. The integrated speaker is also quite useful and is suitable as a speakerphone.

What I miss with so many Chinese smartphones and the Emax Mini is the LTE band 20 or LTE 800MHz. Especially if you live in the countryside you have to do without LTE. In the cities, however, an LTE reception is possible.

The WLAN and the Bluetooth connection are stable and the range is on average.

GPS

Again, I could not find anything negative. The GPS fix was quick and easy. The signal was constant and stable.

Accumulator

The Chinaphone has a 3050mAh battery installed, which is quite remarkable for a 5 inch smartphone. After 2 days of normal use with 4 hours of SOT (Screen On Time) and all tests, the battery is still around 35%. The Emax Mini is a real battery monster.

Unfortunately, there is a downside here. The smartphone's battery cannot be replaced.

Umi Emax Mini Test - Battery

Rating
Positive

Snapdragon 615 with good performance
Great FHD display with strong colors
Good workmanship
Good camera (Sony IMX214)
Long battery life

Negative

No recovery!
Missing LTE band 20
Notification LED is not working properly

Summary

The Emax Mini is a really decent midrange smartphone that does almost nothing wrong. You get a truly fair package that can even stand out from comparable smartphones. But even this smartphone is no egg-laying Wollmilchsau. So Umi waived LTE Band 20 again as well as the OS does not run so well, which can be seen, among other things, the notification LED, which was not set correctly.

Update: Unfortunately, no update has been released for the Umi Emax Mini so far. Particularly problematic is this fact, since no recovery was integrated. For example, if you try to flash cyanogenmod, it is quite possible to disable your smartphone.

8.4
Our rating
Timo Altmeyer Avatar
author

Launched the website techreviewer.de in 2016 and has been an active editor of news and test reports in all areas of technology ever since.

2 comments

2 comments

  1. Armin

    17. March 2016 11 to: 23

    Hello. Did you flash a CM on the eMax Mini?

    • Timo admin

      17. March 2016 13 to: 46

      Hello Armin, I have not yet flashed CyanogenMod to the Emax Mini. Mine is still running on an older ROM from the end of September 2015. I didn't want to risk anything because of the faulty recovery and left the smartphone as it was.

Leave a Reply

Your e-mail address will not be published.

Overview
Manufacturer

UMI DIGI COMPANY

Model

UMI Emax Mini

Specifications

* OS: Android 5.0
* SoC: MSM8939 Octacore 1.5GHz
* GPU: Adreno 405
* RAM: 2GB
* ROM: 16GB
* Extended Storage: 64GB

* Screen Type: IPS OGS Full lamination technology
* Screen Size: 5.0 inch
* Screen Resolution: 1920 * 1080 Pixels

* Wireless Connectivity: GSM, 3G, 4G, GPS, WiFi, Bluetooth
* Frequency: GSM, 3G, 4G, GPS, WiFi, Bluetooth
*2G: GSM 850/900/1800/1900MHz
* 3G: WCDMA 900 / 1900 / 2100MHz
* 4G: FDD-LTE 1800 / 2100 / 2600 MHz
* Bluetooth: Yes, 4.0
* WiFi: Yes, IEEE 802.11b / g / n, Support Wi-Fi hotspot
* GPS: Support GPS and AGPS

* Camera type: 13MP Sony IMX214 Back, 8MP Samsung ISOCELL Front
* SIM: Two Standard micro sim card, dual standby
* TF: Yes
* Sensor: Gravity sensor, Light sensor, Proximity sensor

* Battery: 3050mAh lithium
* Dimension: 139.8x69.6x8.9mm
* Weight: 130g

What's in the box

* Emax Mini
*Battery pack
*USB cable
* AC adapter
*Operating manual

More from UMIDIGI
UMIDIGI Z2 Pro Smartphone

Reviews

The UMIDIGI Z2 Pro is a China smartphone with a 6.2 inch FHD + display, a powerful Helio P60 SoC and a generous 6 + 128GB storage capacity. The price is ...

Advertising

GOGOBest July Banner

Reviews
2
Review

Umi Emax Mini Test / Review

by 27. Oktober 2015
Nach dem durchaus erfolgreichen "Umi Emax" fĂŒhrt der chinesische Smartphone Hersteller den Namen der Reihe fort und veröffentlicht das so genannte "Emax Mini". Man könnte nun denken, dass es sich hierbei nur um eine kleinere Version des "Emax" handelt, doch das "Emax Mini" unterscheidet sich nicht nur Ă€ußerlich, sondern auch in Sachen Hardware von dem ursprĂŒnglichen Emax Smartphone. Umi setzt das erste Mal auf einen Snapdragon SoC und zwar den Snapdragon 615 (MSM8939). Wie das Umi Emax Mini sonst abschneidet, erfahrt ihr in diesem Testbericht.
Überblick
Hersteller

UMI DIGI COMPANY

Produktbezeichnung

UMI Emax Mini

Spezifikationen

*OS: Android 5.0
*SoC: MSM8939 Octacore 1.5GHz
*GPU: Adreno 405
*RAM: 2GB
*ROM: 16GB
*Extended Storage: 64GB

*Screen Type: IPS OGS Full lamination technology
*Screen Size: 5.0 inch
*Screen Resolution: 1920*1080 Pixels

*Wireless Connectiveity: GSM, 3G, 4G, GPS, WiFi, Bluetooth
*Frequency: GSM, 3G, 4G, GPS, WiFi, Bluetooth
*2G: GSM 850/900/1800/1900MHz
*3G: WCDMA 900/1900/2100MHz
*4G: FDD-LTE 1800/2100/2600 MHz
*Bluetooth: Yes, 4.0
*WiFi: Yes, IEEE 802.11b/g/n, Support Wi-Fi hotspot
*GPS: Support GPS and AGPS

*Camera type: 13MP Sony IMX214 Back, 8MP Samsung ISOCELL Front
*SIM: Two Standard micro sim card, Dual standby
*TF: Yes
*Sensor: Gravity sensor, Light sensor, Proximity sensor

*Battery: 3050mAh lithium
*Dimension: 139.8x69.6x8.9mm
*Weight: 130g

Lieferumfang

*Emax Mini
*Akku
*USB Kabel
*Netzadapter
*Betriebsanleitung

UMI Emax Mini Smartphone - Unboxing

Lieferumfang

Geleifert wurde das Umi Emax Mini Smartphone in einem durchaus ansprechenden Karton zum Aufschieben. Auf der Vorderseite befindet sich die Aufschrift „UMI“, auf der RĂŒckseite sind die Spezifikationen des Smartphones abgedruckt. Nach dem Herausziehen der inneren Einheit des Kartons, sieht man das in Schaumstoff eingelassene Umi Emax Mini, ein Flachband USB Daten- und Ladekabel und eine EU LadegerĂ€t mit USB Buchse. Ein recht knappe Betriebsanleitung in Englisch war ebenfalls enthalten. Eine Displayschutzfolie war bereits auf dem Smartphone aufgebracht.

 

Erster Eindruck

Der GehĂ€userahmen als auch die RĂŒckseite des 5 Zoll (laut CPU-Z 4.97 Zoll) großen Smartphones bestehen aus gehĂ€rtetem Kunststoff in anthrazit-farbener Optik. Die RĂŒckseite ist zudem gerillt und lĂ€sst sich komplett abnehmen. Auf der RĂŒckseite befinden sich zudem eine 13 Megapixel RĂŒckkamera (Sony IMX 214) und ein LED-Blitz.

Insgesamt misst das Umi Emax Mini 139.8x69.6x8.9mm und wiegt 130g. Der Bezel ist mit 4mm eher durchschnittlich.

Die physischen Tasten des GerÀtes, LautstÀrkewippe und Powerknopf, befinden sich am rechten Rand des GehÀuses.  Weitere physische Tasten besitzt das Smartphone nicht. Unterhalb des Displays befinden sich noch drei kapazitive Tasten, wobei die mittlere Taste optisch hervorgehoben wurde. Die links und rechts befindlichen Tasten leuchten bei Benutzung auf.

Oberhalb des Displays befinden sich die 8 Megapixel Frontkamera (Samsung ISOCELL), der Lautsprecher, die Benachrichtigungs-LED und der Lichtsensor.

Nach der ersten Inaugenscheinnahme hat mich das Umi Emax Mini durchaus positiv ĂŒberrascht. Trotz des KunststoffgehĂ€uses fĂŒhlt es sich wertig an und ist zudem gut verarbeitet.

UMI Emax Mini Smartphone - Test | Review | Hands-On

Display

Beim 5 Zoll großen Display verwendet Umi ein hochwertiges Panel von Sharp. Die Auflösung betrĂ€gt 1920x1080 Pixel, die Pixeldichte betrĂ€gt 443 dpi. Das Display ist gestochen scharf, die Farben wirken krĂ€ftig und lebendig und auch die BlickwinkelstabilitĂ€t konnte ĂŒberzeugen. Gerade bei starker Sonneneinstrahlung konnte ich dieses Display noch problemlos ablesen. Auf MiraVision wurde bei diesem Smartphone zwar verzichtet, doch das Display war bereits von Haus aus perfekt eingestellt.

Leistung

Das Umi Emax Mini hat einen Snapdragon 615 SoC verbaut. Hierbei handelt es sich um einen 64Bit Octa-Core Prozessor, bei dem 4 Kerne mit bis zu 1.5GHz und 4 Kerne mit bis zu 1.11GHz takten. Die Grafikeinheit ist ein Adreno 405 mit 550MHz. Daneben verfĂŒgt das Smartphone noch ĂŒber 2GB RAM. Insgesamt handelt es sich hier zwar um Mittelklasse-Hardware, doch die Gesamtperformance ist Ă€ußerst beachtlich. Die Navigation durch Android 5.0.2 ist durchweg flĂŒssig und auch Apps lassen sich zĂŒgig öffnen. Bei rechenintensiven Spielen kann es aber auch bei diesem Smartphone zu BildeinbrĂŒchen kommen . Hier die Ergebnisse einzelner Benchmark-Tests:

BenutzeroberflÀche

Das verwendete Betriebssystem ist Android 5.0.2. Bereits auf dem Lockscreen fÀllt auf, dass Umi kein Stock Android verwendet. Auf dem Lockscreen befinden sich mehrere Schnellstart-Icons, womit sich unter anderem die Taschenrechner-App, die Kamera-App, die Musik-App, die Kontakte-App und ein Barcode-Scanner öffnen lassen.

Innerhalb der BenutzeroberflĂ€che fallen die abgerundeten Custom Icons sofort ins Auge. Ansonsten unterscheidet sich die Umi BenutzeroberflĂ€che nur sehr wenig von Stock Android. Drittanbieter-Apps waren zwar installiert, doch konnte ich bis auf eine nicht ĂŒbersetzte, chinesische App, keine verdĂ€chtigen Apps ausfindig machen.

Innerhalb des EinstellungsmenĂŒs gibt es ein paar zusĂ€tzliche Funktionen. Beispielsweise lĂ€sst sich eine Gestensteuerung konfigurieren, als auch kann man die LED Benachrichtigung regeln. Viele Funktionen bietet die Gestensteuerung leider nicht. Es gibt eine „Double Tap 2 Wake“ Funktion und eine Funktion womit sich das Smartphone stummschalten lĂ€sst, sollte man es auf die Displayseite legen. Auch unter dem MenĂŒpunkt „LED Benachrichtigung“ kann man lediglich die Benachrichtigung ein- bzw. ausschalten.

Updaten lĂ€sst sich das Umi Emax Mini ĂŒber OTA Updates, welche man direkt von Hersteller erhĂ€lt.

Umi Emax Mini Test - Top View

Kamera

Auf diesen Testpunkt habe ich mich besonders gefreut. Umi hat dem Emax Mini eine 13 Megapixel RĂŒckkamera mit einem Sony IMX214 Bildsensor und eine 8 Megapixel Frontkamera mit einem Samsung ISOCELL Bildsensor verpasst. Gerade fĂŒr ein Mittelklasse Smartphone handelt es sich hierbei um eine durchaus sehr gute Hardware.

Bei der Kamera-App handelt es sich um eine Custom App, die neben den ĂŒblichen Funktionen noch eine Zeitrafferfunktion, einen Barcodescanner oder aber eine „Beauty Aufnahme“ zu bieten hat. Bilder lassen sich mit 10 und 13 Megapixel schießen, Videos werden mit bis zu 1080p aufgenommen. Ein Bildstabilisator lĂ€sst sich ebenfalls ĂŒber die Kameraeinstellungen aktivieren.

Die 13 Megapixel RĂŒckkamera bietet bei Tageslicht ordentliche Bilder, bei denen so gut wie kein Bildrauschen festzustellen ist. Die Farben wirken dabei echt und nicht ĂŒbersteuert. Bei schlechteren LichtverhĂ€ltnissen ist leider ein stĂ€rkeres Rauschen festzustellen.

Die Auslösezeit ist zĂŒgig. Aufnahmen mit Blitz werden ebenfalls schnell umgesetzt. Mit dem Auto-Fokus hatte ich soweit auch keine Probleme.

Die Frontkamera mit 8 Megapixel ist ebenfalls gut, wobei auch hier bei schlechten LichtverhÀltnissen ein Bildrauschen festzustellen ist.

RĂŒckkamera

Frontkamera

UMI EMax Mini Test / Review Bild1 Front

Telefonie, WLAN, Bluetooth

Die GesprĂ€chsqualitĂ€t wĂŒrde ich als gut bezeichnen. Meinen GesprĂ€chspartner konnte ich gut verstehen, als auch konnte er mich ordentlich verstehen. StörgerĂ€usche konnte ich keine feststellen. Der integrierte Lautsprecher ist ebenfalls durchaus brauchbar und eignet sich als Freisprechfunktion.

Was ich bei so vielen chinesischen Smartphones und auch bei dem Emax Mini vermisse, ist das LTE Band 20 bzw. LTE 800MHz. Gerade wenn man auf dem Land lebt muss man somit ohne LTE auskommen. In den StÀdten ist allerdings ein LTE Empfang möglich.

Die WLAN und auch die Bluetooth Verbindung sind stabil und die Reichweite bewegt sich im Durchschnitt.

GPS

Auch hier konnte ich nichts Negatives feststellen. Der GPS Fix erfolgte zĂŒgig und problemlos. Das Signal war konstant und stabil.

Akku

Das Chinaphone hat einen 3050mAh Akku verbaut, der fĂŒr ein 5 Zoll Smartphone durchaus beachtenswert ist. Nach 2 Tagen normaler Nutzung mit 4 Stunden SOT (Screen On Time) und sĂ€mtlichen Tests hat der Akku noch immer ungefĂ€hr 35%. Das Emax Mini ist ein regelrechtes Akku Monster.

Leider gibt es hier aber eine Kehrseite. Der Akku des Smartphones ist nicht wechselbar.

Umi Emax Mini Test - Akku

Testergebnis

Bewertung
Positiv

Snapdragon 615 mit guter Performance
Tolles FHD Display mit krÀftigen Farben
Gute Verarbeitung
Gute Kamera (Sony IMX214)
Lange Akkulaufzeit

Negativ

Kein Recovery!
Fehlendes LTE Band 20
Benachrichtungs-LED funktioniert nicht korrekt

Erster Eindruck
9.0
Verarbeitung
8.5
Design
8.5
Display
9.5
Leistung
8.0
BenutzeroberflÀche
8.5
Kamera
8.5
KonnektivitÀt
8.5
GPS & Sensoren
8.0
Audio
7.5
Akku
8.0
Fazit

Das Emax Mini ist ein wirklich ordentliches Mittelklasse Smartphone, das fast nichts falsch macht. Man bekommt ein wirklich gerechtes Gesamtpaket geschnĂŒrt, das sich sogar von vergleichbaren Smartphones abheben kann. Doch auch dieses Smartphone ist keine eierlegende Wollmilchsau. So verzichtet Umi mal wieder auf LTE Band 20 als auch lĂ€uft das OS noch nicht so rund, was man unter anderem an der Benachrichtigungs-LED erkennt, die nicht korrekt eingestellt wurde.

Update: Leider wurde bislang kein Update fĂŒr das Umi Emax Mini veröffentlicht. Besonders problematisch ist dieser Umstand, da kein Recovery integriert wurde. Versucht man beispielsweise Cyanogenmod zu flashen, ist es durchaus möglich, dass man sein Smartphone unbrauchbar macht.

8.4
Unsere Bewertung
Nutzerbewertung
You have rated this

2
Hinterlasse einen Kommentar

avatar
Neueste Älteste
Armin
Gast
Armin

Hallo. Hast du ein CM auf das eMax Mini geflasht?

Timo
Admin
Timo

Hallo Armin, CyanogenMod habe ich bisher noch nicht auf das Emax Mini geflasht. Meines lÀuft noch auf einer Àlteren ROM von Ende September 2015. Ich wollte wegen des fehlerhaften Recovery damals nichts riskieren und habe das Smartphone so belassen.