Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Xiaomi router 3G test review

Xiaomi WiFi Router 3G review - 2017 model

Test report prepared by Timo on January 4, 2019

The Xiaomi WiFi Router 3G is a continuing model of the 2016 released Xiaomi WiFi Router 3. What innovations the router has to offer and how it beats in practice, more in this review.

Twitter Facebook WhatsApp buffer pin It
8.1
Our rating
Specifications
Overview
Manufacturer

Xiaomi

Model

Xiaomi Mi WiFi Router 3G

Specifications

 Hardware 
CPU: MediaTek MT7621A MIPS
RAM: 256MB DDR3
NAND: 128MB Flash

 Connections 
1x Gigabit WAN
2x Gigabit LAN
1x USB 3.0
1x Power

 Network 
Protocols: IEEE 802.11a / b / g / n / ac, IEEE 802.3 / 3u / 3ab

2.4G channels: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13
5G channels: 36, 40, 44, 48, 52, 56, 60, 64, 149, 153, 157, 161, 165

2.4G WiFi: up to 300Mbps
5G WiFi: up to 867Mbps

 other 
NAS: External USB media
OS: Mod. OpenWRT
Size: 19.50 x 13.10 x 2.40 cm
Weight: 261g

First impression - Xiaomi Mi WiFi Router 3G

What's in the box

Like its predecessor, the scope of delivery only includes the router, a power supply unit with NEMA-1 plug (12V - 1.5A) and a Chinese operating manual. If you want to use the included power supply in this country, you also need an EU adapter.

Design and workmanship

Xiaomi has the case of the  3. Xiaomi routers  recycled, which is why the Xiaomi 3G router doesn't look a bit different from the previous model. The plain white case measures 19.5 cm in length, 13.10 cm in width and 2.40 cm in height. The total weight of the router is 261g. Wall mounting is not intended. Rather, the router is intended to be set up, which is why it is also equipped with four tiltable, omnidirectional antennas. All connections are placed on the back. The reset button and the power connection are also located there. There is a multi-colored status LED on the front. The processing quality is nothing to complain about. 

Xiaomi router 3G included

Hardware

Although the Xiaomi 3G router has not been visually updated, a lot has changed in terms of hardware instead. Xiaomi uses a MediaTek MT7621A System-on-Chip, whose dual-core MIPS1004Kc CPU clocks with up to 880 MHz. As a result, compared to its predecessor, which still relied on the MT7620N system-on-chip, not only has the number of cores increased, the processor is also faster, allows faster storage connections, is USB 3.0 compatible and can handle up to five gigabit Support Ethernet connections.

As a result, the Xiaomi Mi WiFi Router 3G also cuts a good figure in terms of storage facilities. The router offers a 128MB SLC Nand Flash and a 256MB DDR3-1200 RAM (model 3 only with 128MB DDR2). The connection options amount to one WAN and two LAN ports with a fast gigabit connection as well as a USB 3.0 socket. The 4 omnidirectional antennas are used by both the 2.4G and 5G WiFi. The WiFi protocols IEEE 802.11a / b / g / n / ac, IEEE 802.3 / 3u / 3ab are supported. Xiaomi specifies the maximum data transfer rate of the Xiaomi Mi WiFi Router 3G with 300 Mbps in 2.4G WiFi and 867 Mbps in 5G WiFi. Multi-user MIMO (MU-MIMO) is not supported.

commissioning

The router's user interface is based on OpenWRT and is only available in Chinese by default. This makes commissioning seem complicated at first, but the setup is uncomplicated overall and can be carried out with the Google Translator without any problems. As soon as the router is set up, the user interface can be easily translated using the browser. Alternatively, it is also possible to flash the firmware intended for Hong Kong and Taiwan, which is also available in English. 

If you are familiar with the subject of firmware flashing and have no problem with alternative software, you can even flash the LEDE firmware, Prometheus or PandoraBox. These are open source projects, which are also based on OpenWRT and leave a significantly larger scope in terms of functions and options. Instructions for the individual projects can be found on the internet. The original firmware was left on the router for the test report.

Connectivity of the Xiaomi WiFi Router 3G

Web interface and functions

As mentioned earlier, Xiaomi uses a custom OpenWRT. There are hardly any differences between the individual Xiaomi router models. Although all Xiaomi routers receive different firmware updates, the web interface is mostly identical visually and functionally.

If you surf the web interface of the Xiaomi WiFi Router 3G, you are greeted by a detailed overview, which provides general information on the router status as well as information on the connected devices, the data throughput and the system load. The menu item for memory management explains how to connect an external medium to the router. Access from the computer is possible, for example, via the Mi WiFi Client, which is available for both Windows and OSX. For mobile devices there is the so-called Mi WiFi app (Android and iOS), which can also be used to set up a Samba server.

The WLANs can be managed within the general router settings. In addition to the typical configuration of the SSID, the password and the encryption, it is also possible to adjust the transmission power and the WiFi channel can be freely selected. The 2.4G and 5G networks are configured separately. It is interesting to have the option of creating a completely independent guest WLAN that operates separately from the "main WLAN". There are other setting options for DHCP, DNS and the white or blacklist.

In the sub-item of the extended settings, QoS can be configured, DDNS can be added, port forwarding rules can be created, a PPTP or L2TP VPN can be preset and there are settings for UPnP.

Xiaomi Mi WiFi App

The Xiaomi Mi WiFi app is available for Android and iOS mobile devices. In contrast to the router's standard Chinese web interface, the app is also available in English. Functionally, the app offers the same functions that are also available via the web interface. In addition, it is possible to install various plugins via the app, such as an ad blocker, a firewall or a Samba server. However, many plugins are primarily intended for the Chinese market.

Xiaomi Mi WiFi PC Client

The PC client is officially only available in Chinese. In contrast to the app and the web interface, the PC client mainly serves the simplified transmission of data. For example, you can start downloads that are made directly through the router and stored on the connected media. As an alternative to the HTTP or FTP download, it is also possible to use the Mi WiFi client to download torrents.

Practical test of the Xiaomi WiFi Router 3G

The Xiaomi router 3G was tested in the LAN with a Realtek 8111D network card and in WLAN with an Intel chip Wireless-AC 8260 module. The connected storage medium was a Toshiba STOR.E Basics USB 3.0 hard disk.

Signal strength WLAN

The WLAN built up by the router is convincing both in the 2.4 GHz and 5 GHz network with a constant signal with a long range. In terms of data throughput, the router cannot quite match the much more expensive one  Xiaomi R3P  keep in mind, however, the Xiaomi router 3G shows above-average performance in view of the price. The transition between 2.4 GHz and 5 GHz is fluent.

NAS function and data throughput

In contrast to its predecessor, the Xiaomi Router 3G is equipped with USB 2.0 instead of USB 3.0. The connected storage medium is managed via the Mi WiFi app. The file management via the app is clear and downloading and uploading works without any problems. If you activate the Samba server plug-in via the app, you can also conveniently create a network drive via the PC and access the storage medium.

If you want to use the USB 3.0 function, it has to be activated separately via the web interface or the app. At the same time it is pointed out that the USB 3.0 data transmission can interfere with the 2.4G WiFi. In the test, however, no differences or impairments were noticeable. Rather, the data throughput with active or deactivated USB 3.0 function was almost identical, at least in the WLAN. Only in the LAN was there a noticeable difference in speed with regard to data transmission.

Transmission in the LAN

Transmission in the WLAN

input

The power consumption of the Xiaomi WiFi Router 3G is 8.2 watts in idle. With normal use, values ​​of 10.8 watts are achieved. If a hard drive is also connected and accessed, consumption increases to 13 watts. It does not matter whether the USB 3.0 function is activated or deactivated.

rating
Positive

Design and workmanship
Dual-band AC
Gigabit WAN and LAN
signal stability
Signal range
OpenWRT possibility
USB 3.0 compatibility
Low energy consumption

Negative

No wall mounting option
Chinese user interface

Summary

Although the Xiaomi router 3G does not differ externally from the previous year's model, it offers much more powerful hardware. In the test convinced the router above all by a comparatively good data throughput, as well as a high-signal WLAN. The 100 Mbit connection, which was criticized in the previous year's model, replaced Xiaomi with three Gigabit WAN and LAN ports. At the same time, the only connection option for storage media has been upgraded to USB 3.0, which has a positive effect on the transmission speed with regard to the NAS function, at least in the LAN. The only criticism is the Chinese user interface, whose language can only be changed by firmware upgrades or modifications.

8.1
Our rating
Overview
Manufacturer

Xiaomi

Model

Xiaomi Mi WiFi Router 3G

Specifications

 Hardware 
CPU: MediaTek MT7621A MIPS
RAM: 256MB DDR3
NAND: 128MB Flash

 Connections 
1x Gigabit WAN
2x Gigabit LAN
1x USB 3.0
1x Power

 Network 
Protocols: IEEE 802.11a / b / g / n / ac, IEEE 802.3 / 3u / 3ab

2.4G channels: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13
5G channels: 36, 40, 44, 48, 52, 56, 60, 64, 149, 153, 157, 161, 165

2.4G WiFi: up to 300Mbps
5G WiFi: up to 867Mbps

 other 
NAS: External USB media
OS: Mod. OpenWRT
Size: 19.50 x 13.10 x 2.40 cm
Weight: 261g

Advertising

Oclean X Elite Amazon Prime Promo

Sonstige
2
Review

Xiaomi WiFi Router 3G Testbericht – Modell 2017

by September 27, 2017

Der Xiaomi WiFi Router 3G ist ein fortführendes Modell des 2016 erschienenen Xiaomi WiFi Router 3. Welche Neuerungen der Router zu bieten hat und wie er sich in der Praxis schlägt, dazu mehr in diesem Testbericht.

Überblick
Hersteller

Xiaomi

Produktbezeichnung

Xiaomi Mi WiFi Router 3G

Spezifikationen

Hardware
CPU: MediaTek MT7621A MIPS
RAM: 256MB DDR3
NAND: 128MB Flash

Anschlüsse
1x Gigabit WAN
2x Gigabit LAN
1x USB 3.0
1x Power

Netzwerk
Protokolle: IEEE 802.11a / b / g / n / ac, IEEE 802.3 / 3u / 3ab

2.4G Kanäle: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13
5G Kanäle: 36, 40, 44, 48, 52, 56, 60, 64, 149, 153, 157, 161, 165

2.4G WiFi: bis zu 300Mbps
5G WiFi: bis zu 867Mbps

Sonstige
NAS: Externes USB Medium
OS: Mod. OpenWRT
Größe: 19.50 x 13.10 x 2.40 cm
Gewicht: 261g

Sonstige

Zum Preisvergleich

Erster Eindruck – Xiaomi Mi WiFi Router 3G

Lieferumfang

Wie bereits der Vorgänger, umfasst der Lieferumfang lediglich den Router, ein Netzteil mit NEMA-1 Stecker (12V – 1.5A) sowie eine chinesische Bedienungsanleitung. Möchte man das mitgelieferte Netzteil hierzulande nutzen, benötigt man zusätzlich einen EU-Adapter.

Design und Verarbeitung

Xiaomi hat das Gehäuse des 3. Xiaomi Routers wiederverwertet, weshalb sich der Xiaomi Router 3G optisch kein bisschen vom Vorgängermodell unterscheidet. Das schlicht-weiße Gehäuse misst 19.5 cm in der Länge, 13.10 cm in der Breite und 2.40 cm in der Höhe. Das Gesamtgewicht des Routers liegt bei 261g. Eine Wandmontage ist nicht vorgesehen. Vielmehr ist der Router zum Hinstellen gedacht, weshalb er auch mit vier neigbaren, omnidirektionalen Antennen ausgestattet ist. Sämtliche Anschlüsse sind rückseitig platziert. Dort befinden sich auch die Reset-Taste und der Stromanschluss. Vorderseitig befindet sich eine mehrfarbige Status-LED. Die Verarbeitungsqualität ist nicht zu beanstanden.

Xiaomi Router 3G Lieferumfang

Hardware

Zwar hat der Xiaomi Router 3G optisch kein Update erfahren, stattdessen hat sich jedoch hardwareseitig einiges getan. Xiaomi verwendet ein MediaTek MT7621A System-on-Chip, dessen Dual-Core MIPS1004Kc CPU mit bis zu 880 MHz taktet. Dadurch hat sich im Vergleich zum Vorgänger, der noch auf den MT7620N System-on-Chip setzte, nicht nur die Anzahl der Kerne erhöht, der Prozessor taktet auch schneller, erlaubt eine schnellere Speicheranbindung, ist USB 3.0 kompatibel und kann bis zu fünf Gigabit-Ethernet Anschlüsse unterstützen.

Folglich gibt der Xiaomi Mi WiFi Router 3G auch hinsichtlich der Speicherausstattung eine gute Figur ab. Hierbei bietet der Router einen 128MB SLC Nand Flash und einen 256MB DDR3-1200 Arbeitsspeicher (Modell 3 nur mit 128MB DDR2). Die Anschlussmöglichkeiten belaufen sich auf einen WAN- und zwei LAN-Ports mit schneller Gigabit Anbindung sowie eine USB 3.0 Buchse. Die 4 Omnidirektionalen-Antennen werden sowohl vom 2.4G und 5G WiFi genutzt. Unterstützt werden die WiFi Protokolle IEEE 802.11a / b / g / n / ac, IEEE 802.3 / 3u / 3ab. Die maximale Datenübertragungsrate des Xiaomi Mi WiFi Router 3G gibt Xiaomi mit 300 Mbps im 2.4G WiFi und 867 Mbps im 5G WiFi an. Multi-User MIMO (MU-MIMO) wird nicht unterstützt.

Inbetriebnahme

Die Benutzeroberfläche des Routers basiert auf OpenWRT und ist von Haus aus nur auf Chinesisch verfügbar. Dadurch erscheint die Inbetriebnahme zunächst kompliziert, doch die Einrichtung ist insgesamt unkompliziert und mit dem Google Translator ohne Probleme durchzuführen. Sobald der Router eingerichtet ist, kann man die Benutzeroberfläche bequem über den Browser übersetzen. Alternativ ist es auch möglich, die für Hong Kong und Taiwan bestimmte Firmware zu flashen, die auch auf Englisch zur Verfügung steht.

Wer sich mit der Materie des Firmware flashens auskennt und kein Problem mit alternativer Software hat, der kann sogar die LEDE-Firmware, Prometheus oder PandoraBox flashen. Hierbei handelt es sich um Open Source Projekte, die ebenfalls auf OpenWRT basieren und bezüglich der Funktionen und Möglichkeiten einen deutlich größeren Spielraum lassen. Anleitungen zu den einzelnen Projekten findet man im Netz. Für den Testbericht wurde die originale Firmware auf dem Router belassen.

Anschlussmöglichkeiten des Xiaomi WiFi Router 3G

Weboberfläche und Funktionen

Wie bereits erwähnt, bedient sich Xiaomi einem angepassten OpenWRT. Unterschiede zwischen den einzelnen Xiaomi Routermodellen gibt es kaum. Sämtliche Xiaomi Router erhalten zwar unterschiedliche Firmwareupdates, optisch sowie funktional ist die Weboberfläche jedoch meist identisch.

Surft man die Weboberfläche des Xiaomi WiFi Router 3G an, wird man von einer detaillierten Übersicht begrüßt, die neben allgemeinen Angaben zum Routerstatus auch Angaben zu den verbundenen Geräten, dem Datendurchsatz sowie der Systemauslastung liefert. Im Menüpunkt zur Speicherverwaltung wird erklärt, wie man ein externes Medium mit dem Router verbindet. Ein Zugriff vom Computer aus ist beispielsweise über den Mi WiFi Client möglich, den es sowohl für Windows als auch OSX gibt. Für Mobilgeräte gibt es die so genannte Mi WiFi App (Android und iOS), worüber man auch einen Samba Server einrichten kann.

Innerhalb der allgemeinen Routereinstellungen lassen sich die WLANs verwalten. Neben der typischen Konfiguration der SSID, dem Passwort und der Verschlüsselung, ist es auch möglich die Sendeleistung anzupassen, als auch kann der WiFi-Kanal frei gewählt werden. Die 2.4G und 5G Netze werden dabei getrennt konfiguriert. Interessant ist die Möglichkeit ein völlig unabhängiges Gast-WLAN anzulegen, das getrennt vom „Haupt-WLAN“ agiert. Weitere Einstellungsmöglichkeiten gibt es zum DHCP, dem DNS und der White- bzw. Blacklist.

Im Unterpunkt der erweiternden Einstellungen kann QoS konfiguriert werden, DDNS lässt sich hinzufügen, Port Forwarding Regeln können angelegt werden, ein PPTP oder L2TP VPN kann voreingestellt werden und es gibt Einstellungen zu UPnP.

Xiaomi Mi WiFi App

Die Xiaomi Mi WiFi App gibt es für Android, als auch für iOS Mobilgeräte. Im Gegensatz zur standardmäßig chinesischen Weboberfläche des Routers, steht die App auch auf Englisch zur Verfügung. Funktional bietet die App die gleichen Funktionen, die auch über die Weboberfläche zur Auswahl stehen. Zusätzlich ist es möglich, über die App verschiedene Plugins zu installieren, bei denen es sich beispielsweise um einen Adblocker, eine Firewall oder einen Samba Server handelt. Viele Plugins sind jedoch hauptsächlich für den chinesischen Markt bestimmt.

Xiaomi Mi WiFi PC Client

Den PC Client gibt es offiziell nur auf Chinesisch. Im Gegensatz zur App und der Weboberfläche dient der PC Client hauptsächlich der vereinfachten Übertragung von Daten. So können beispielsweise Downloads gestartet werden, die direkt über den Router erfolgen und auf dem angeschlossenen Medium gespeichert werden. Alternativ zum HTTP oder FTP Download ist es auch möglich den Mi WiFi Client zum Download von Torrents zu verwenden.

Praxistest des Xiaomi WiFi Router 3G

Getestet wurde der Xiaomi Router 3G im LAN mit einer Realtek 8111D Netzwerkkarte und im WLAN mit einem Intel-Chip Wireless-AC 8260 Modul. Als verbundenes Speichermedium kam eine Toshiba STOR.E Basics USB 3.0 Festplatte zum Einsatz.

Signalstärke WLAN

Das vom Router aufgebaute WLAN überzeugt sowohl im 2.4 GHz, sowie 5 GHz Netz durch ein konstantes Signal bei hoher Reichweite. Zwar kann der Router in Sachen Datendurchsatz nicht ganz mit dem deutlich teureren Xiaomi R3P mithalten, in Anbetracht des Preises zeigt der Xiaomi Router 3G jedoch eine überdurchschnittliche Leistung. Der Wechsel zwischen 2.4 GHz und 5 GHz erfolgt fließend.

NAS Funktion und Datendurchsatz

Im Gegensatz zum Vorgänger ist der Xiaomi Router 3G statt mit USB 2.0, mit USB 3.0 ausgestattet. Die Verwaltung des angeschlossenen Speichermediums erfolgt über die Mi WiFi App. Die Dateiverwaltung über die App ist übersichtlich und das Down- und Uploaden funktioniert anstandslos. Sofern man das Samba Server Plugin über die App aktiviert, kann man auch bequem über den PC ein Netzwerklaufwerk anlegen und auf das Speichermedium zugreifen.

Möchte man die USB 3.0 Funktion nutzen, muss diese separat über die Weboberfläche oder aber die App aktiviert werden. Gleichzeitig wird darauf hingewiesen, dass die USB 3.0 Datenübertragungen das 2.4G WiFi stören kann. Im Test haben sich jedoch keine Unterschiede bzw. Beeinträchtigungen bemerkbar gemacht. Vielmehr war der Datendurchsatz bei aktiver bzw. deaktivierter USB 3.0 Funktion zumindest im WLAN fast identisch. Lediglich im LAN gab es einen spüren Geschwindigkeitsunterschied hinsichtlich der Datenübertragung.

Übertragung im LAN

Übertragung im WLAN

Leistungsaufnahme

Der Stromverbrauch des Xiaomi WiFi Router 3G liegt im Idle bei 8.2 Watt. Bei normaler Nutzung werden Werte von 10.8 Watt erreicht. Ist zusätzlich eine Festplatte angeschlossen und wird darauf zugegriffen, steigt der Verbrauch auf 13 Watt an. Dabei ist egal, ob die USB 3.0 Funktion aktiviert oder deaktiviert ist.

Preisvergleich

gearbestprice
  • 33.51€
  • Versand CN
banggoodprice
  • 43.00€
  • Versand CN
geekbuyingprice
  • 42.16€
  • Versand CN
tomtop
  • 41.99€
  • Versand CN
Positiv

►Design und Verarbeitung
►Dual-Band AC
►Gigabit WAN und LAN
►Signalstabilität
►Signalreichweite
►OpenWRT Möglichkeit
►USB 3.0 Kompatiblität
►Geringer Stromverbrauch

Negativ

►Keine Wandhalterungsmöglichkeit
►Chinesische Benutzeroberfläche

Bewertung
Punkte
Erster Eindruck
8.0
Verarbeitung
8.0
Design
8.0
Leistung
9.0
Benutzeroberfläche
6.5
App
9.0
Stromverbrauch
8.0
Fazit

Der Xiaomi Router 3G unterscheidet sich zwar äußerlich nicht vom Vorjahresmodell, bietet jedoch eine deutlich leistungsstärkere Hardwareausstattung. Im Test überzeugte der Router vor allem durch einen vergleichsweise guten Datendurchsatz, sowie einem signalstarken WLAN. Die beim Vorjahresmodell kritisierte 100 Mbit Anbindung hat Xiaomi durch drei Gigabit WAN- und LAN-Ports ersetzt. Gleichzeitig hat auch die einzige Anschlussmöglichkeit für Speichermedien ein Upgrade auf USB 3.0 erfahren, was sich zumindest im LAN positiv auf die Übertragungsgeschwindigkeit bezüglich der NAS-Funktion auswirkt. Einzig zu kritisieren ist weiterhin von Haus aus chinesische Benutzeroberfläche, deren Sprache nur durch Firmware-Upgrades bzw. Modifikationen umgestellt werden kann.

8.1
Punkte
You have rated this

Hinterlasse einen Kommentar

2 Kommentare An "Xiaomi WiFi Router 3G Testbericht – Modell 2017"

Benachrichtigung
avatar
Sortieren nach:   Neueste | Älteste
Raul
Gast
Raul

kann man den Router als Repeater konfigurieren?

wpDiscuz