Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

UMIDIGI Z Pro test - dual camera smartphone

Test report created by Timo A. on April 7, 2017

With UMIDIGI (formerly UMi) it goes haywire. Although the UMi Z has only just been available for a few months, the Chinese smartphone manufacturer - which has since renamed itself "UMIDIGI" - publishes a successor, the "UMIDIGI Z Pro". What innovations the UMIDIGI Z Pro brings with it and whether we can recommend the smartphone, more about this in this review.

Twitter Facebook WhatsApp buffer pin It
7.3
Our rating
Specifications
Overview
Manufacturer

UMIDIGI (UMi)

Model

UMIDIGI Z Pro

Specifications

 Processor and memory 
CPU: MediaTek Helio X27
GPU: Small T880 MP4
RAM: 4GB
Internal memory: 32GB
Memory extension: Yes

 Display 
Display Type: Sharp IGZO
Display diagonal: 5.5 inches
Display resolution: 1920x1080 pixels
Multitouch: 5 fingers

 Cameras 
Main Camera: 2x 13 Megapixel Sony IMX258
* Aperture: virtual F11 to F0.8
* PDAF
* Quad LED flash
Front camera: 13 Megapixel Samsung S5K3L8

 wireless 
WiFi: 802.11a / b / g / n
Bluetooth: 4.1
GPS: Yes

 Sensors 
* Brightness sensor
* Proximity Sensor
*Gyroscope
* Accelerometer
* E-Compass
* Hall sensor
* G-Sensor

 mesh 
GSM 850(B5)/900(B8)/1800(B3)/1900(B2)
WCDMA 900 (B8) / 2100 (B1)
LTE FDD 2100(B1)/1800(B3)/2600(B7)/800(B20)

 Accumulator 
Battery: 3.780 mAh
Quick-Charge: Pump Express +
Connection: USB Type-C

 other 
SIM: 2x Nano / 1x Nano + Micro SD
Fingerprint scanner: Yes
Operating system: Android 6
Size: 15.4 x 7.6 x 0.82 cm
Weight: 175g

What's in the box

1x UMIDIGI Z Pro
1x USB-C cable
1x charging adapter
1x SIM needle
1x user manual

First impression of the UMIDIGI Z Pro

UMIDIGI Z Pro Review | Unboxing & hands-on

What's in the box

Like the model, the UMIDIGI Z Pro is delivered in a practical metal box without the addition of Pro. There are no differences in the scope of delivery either. In addition to the smartphone, it also includes a Pump Express charger, a cool USB Type-C cable, multilingual operating instructions and a SIM needle.

Design and workmanship

As with the scope of delivery, UMIDIGI also remains true to the design. The UMIDIGI Z Pro impresses with a sleek unibody metal housing in a cool anthracite look. Because of the unibody housing, the back is not removable, which is why the battery cannot be replaced easily. The SIM slot is on the left side of the housing. Either two nano SIM cards or one nano SIM card with an additional micro SD memory card can be inserted here. If you inevitably need the memory expansion, you have to do without the dual SIM function of the smartphone because of the hybrid slot!

Another design feature is the capacitive home button on the front, which also contains the fingerprint scanner. Two more capacitive control buttons are located to the left and right of the home button. Unfortunately, these control buttons are not illuminated. The physical volume rocker and the power button are located on the right side of the case. There are no other design elements that would distinguish the UMIDIGI Z Pro from other smartphones.

Unfortunately UMi or UMIDIGI was never known for high quality workmanship. The UMIDIGI Z Pro, on the other hand, shines with its solid workmanship. The entire case is clean and processed without any gaps or deviations. The control buttons are tight and don't rustle even when you move quickly.

Display

The smartphone uses a Full HD Sharp IGZO display with a diagonal of 5.5 inches. The higher electron mobility of the “indium-gallium-zinc-oxide” (IGZO) display means that higher reaction speeds are achieved, which largely avoids a “dragging effect”. The display covers the NTSC color space with up to 95%. UMIDIGI uses what is known as "Dragontrail Glass" as a screen protector.

The UMIDIGI Z Pro's display does well in practice, but it is not perfect. The color reproduction is comparatively cool. Within the display settings there is the possibility of individually adapting the color display via “MiraVision” or the “Color Temperature” option. What is also noticeable is a slight "backlight bleedling" on the upper and lower edge of the display. If, for example, very dark content is displayed, an uneven brightness curve becomes noticeable. The UMIDIGI Z Pro can convince with its viewing angle stability and display sharpness. Even at extreme viewing angles, the colors are displayed unadulterated and fonts remain legible.

The maximum display brightness is average. It is difficult to read content well in strong sunshine, as the display is extremely reflective and very susceptible to fingerprints. The accuracy of the touchscreen is good. There was no ghosting or incorrect detection in the test. Multitouch is supported with a maximum of 5 simultaneous inputs.

Performance

The MediaTek Helio X27 (MT6797X) processor is also on board again. The processor has a total of 10 processor cores, which are divided into 2 Cortex-A72 and 4x2 Cortex-A53 cores. Due to the division into 3 clusters, work tasks are efficiently distributed to the respective clusters depending on the computation intensity in order to guarantee better performance. At the same time (at least in theory) the battery consumption should be reduced. Regarding the memory equipment, the smartphone is equipped with a 4GB RAM and a 32GB internal memory.

Although the UMIDIGI Z Pro uses a high-end MediaTek processor, the performance is only partially satisfactory. Delays and app crashes have become noticeable, especially in multitasking, which are presumably not due to the processor itself, but to its adaptation to the user interface. Sometimes apps even refused to start at all or got stuck with a white screen. There is clearly still a need for optimization on the part of UMIDIGI.

A Mali T880 MP4 GPU is used as the processor graphics, which can also cope with demanding games. If you like to play mobile games such as Dead Trigger 2 or Asphalt 8, you can also play them smoothly in high details. But beware! The smartphone gets hot after a short playing time.

user interface

A clean Android 6.0 based on stock Android is used, which works completely without bloatware. Additional functions were only added in the settings. There are, among other things, extended display settings or an “intelligent assistant” that includes power-saving functions, settings for the notification LED and button control. The virtual control buttons activated by default can be completely switched off so that the display can be used extensively.

The smartphone receives updates over-the-air. UMIDIGI has announced an update to Android 7. However, it is not yet known when the time will come.

Camera

Probably the most decisive difference between the UMIDIGI Z and the Pro version is the main camera. The UMi Z's single camera system (Samsung S5K3L8) has been replaced in the UMIDIGI Z Pro by a dual camera system consisting of two 13 megapixel Sony IMX258 image sensors. Laser autofocus is not used. Instead, you have to be satisfied with a conventional PDAF (phase detection autofocus). The 13 megapixel front camera with Samsung S5K3L8 image sensor is retained.

main camera

In practice, the recording quality of the main camera can be assigned to the middle class. In good lighting conditions, it is possible to take good pictures with good sharpness, strong colors and low image noise. In poor lighting or poor lighting conditions, recordings become increasingly blurred and the image noise also increases significantly. The autofocus works accurately and reliably. The “Quad-LED Flash” provides adequate illumination in the dark, but is not brighter than a conventional dual-LED flash.

The so-called "bokeh" effect, which is made possible by the dual camera system, is particularly interesting. "Bokeh" means nothing else than "blurred or out of focus". Objects or people can be brought into the foreground better, while the background is shown blurred. This effect is generated by the software using a virtual aperture that extends from F11 to F0.8. Bokeh recordings that have already been taken can also be edited later in the gallery by moving the virtual aperture and refocusing. Unfortunately, the bokeh recording mode is not implemented too well on this smartphone. Compared to the one we recently tested Honor 6X, which also has a bokeh mode, adjusting the virtual aperture on the UMIDIGI Z Pro is comparatively difficult. To bring the person or the recorded object perfectly into the foreground requires a certain amount of tact and patience. In addition to bokeh photo recordings, bokeh video recordings are also possible.

Other photo modes are monochrome black and white recording mode, there is a "Facebeauty" mode, which did not work in the test, however, there is a "Pro Photo" mode with individual adjustment options and a panorama mode. If you want to spice things up a bit, there are various filters that can be placed directly over the live image. The main camera of the UMIDIGI Z Pro records videos with maximum 4K resolution. Unfortunately, the refresh rate cannot be adjusted individually.

Recording mode: Standard

Shooting mode: Bokeh

front camera

The front camera surprises with its decent recording quality. Those who like to take selfies will get their money's worth. Also surprising is the LED flash on the front, which provides sufficient illumination even at night. The front camera also offers a face beauty mode and a panorama mode as additional recording modes. Videos can even be recorded in full HD.

Connectivity, GPS and sensors

In the cellular network, the UMIDIGI Z Pro supports all of the usual frequencies in this country. Even LTE can be used in full. The connection stability in the cellular network is good. Mobile surfing works flawlessly. The call quality is mediocre, which is mainly due to the weak microphone. Even with the speakerphone function, the smartphone does not deliver a brilliant performance. The speaker sounds slightly tinny and there is a significant lack of volume.

The smartphone behaves flawlessly in WLAN and maintains a constant signal even when it is further away from the transmitter. Dual-band WiFi is supported and switching between 2.4G and 5G works without errors. Bluetooth is supported up to version 4.1. Again, there is nothing to complain about.

The smartphone finds a GPS fix within a few seconds. Even inside the building, a GPS fix is ​​possible after a good 10 to 20 seconds. The signal strength of a Xiaomi Mi5S However, the UMIDIGI Z Pro does not come close. Nevertheless, precise navigation is not a problem. The position determination was consistently accurate in a diverse test navigation through urban areas and over land. An e-compass is also available so that the smartphone can also be used for pedestrian navigation.

The sensor equipment consists of a proximity sensor, an acceleration sensor, a brightness sensor, a gyroscope, a Hall sensor and a G sensor. A fingerprint sensor is also available. This is characterized by a good recognition rate, but is a bit sluggish when unlocking the smartphone.

Accumulator

 The battery life is to be criticized. Despite a capacity of 3.780 mAh, you can barely get through the day with one battery charge. The battery consumption is noticeably high in power-hungry applications, but also in standby. The charging time is an average of 2 hours and 30 minutes. No trace of the promised Pump Express. 

Rating
Positive

Attractive design
Very good workmanship
Sharp display
Bokeh recording mode
Good front camera
Very good cellular quality
Stable GPS

Negative

Backlight Bleeding
Weak microphone
Performance
Mediocre main camera
Carrier fingerprint scanner
Low battery life
Pump Express not working

Summary

Great design, good workmanship, but greatly improved by the software. Especially the occasional app crashes and the often sluggish usability of the user interface led to much frustration in the test. But there is hope, because the release of future updates and an upgrade to Android 7, it is not so bad. Fortunately, the UMIDIGI Z Pro has no major hardware defects. Although the microphone and speaker quality are rather average, the smartphone shines with the stability of the connection in the mobile network.

The dual camera system also wins no price, but allows at least in good lighting conditions passable video and video recordings. The bokeh recording mode is a nice addition, but it requires a lot of tact. Again to criticize is the battery life. Despite the high capacity, the smartphone is barely accessible during the day. In addition, the promised Pump Express fast charge does not work. But again, there is hope that future updates will eliminate these errors.

7.3
Our rating
author

Launched the website techreviewer.de in 2016 and has been an active editor of news and test reports in all areas of technology ever since.

3 comments

3 comments

  1. RED

    18. April 2017 11 to: 06

    UMIDIGI is already promoting the smartphone with Android 7. When should the update come?

    • Timo admin

      19. April 2017 10 to: 11

      Allegedly, the update should come as early as the end of April. We'll wait and see if that doesn't shift backwards after all.

  2. Richard

    19. April 2017 23 to: 49

    Hello, can I use the smartphone in the German LTE cellular network or are there any restrictions?

Leave a Reply

Your e-mail address will not be published.

Overview
Manufacturer

UMIDIGI (UMi)

Model

UMIDIGI Z Pro

Specifications

 Processor and memory 
CPU: MediaTek Helio X27
GPU: Small T880 MP4
RAM: 4GB
Internal memory: 32GB
Memory extension: Yes

 Display 
Display Type: Sharp IGZO
Display diagonal: 5.5 inches
Display resolution: 1920x1080 pixels
Multitouch: 5 fingers

 Cameras 
Main Camera: 2x 13 Megapixel Sony IMX258
* Aperture: virtual F11 to F0.8
* PDAF
* Quad LED flash
Front camera: 13 Megapixel Samsung S5K3L8

 wireless 
WiFi: 802.11a / b / g / n
Bluetooth: 4.1
GPS: Yes

 Sensors 
* Brightness sensor
* Proximity Sensor
*Gyroscope
* Accelerometer
* E-Compass
* Hall sensor
* G-Sensor

 mesh 
GSM 850(B5)/900(B8)/1800(B3)/1900(B2)
WCDMA 900 (B8) / 2100 (B1)
LTE FDD 2100(B1)/1800(B3)/2600(B7)/800(B20)

 Accumulator 
Battery: 3.780 mAh
Quick-Charge: Pump Express +
Connection: USB Type-C

 other 
SIM: 2x Nano / 1x Nano + Micro SD
Fingerprint scanner: Yes
Operating system: Android 6
Size: 15.4 x 7.6 x 0.82 cm
Weight: 175g

What's in the box

1x UMIDIGI Z Pro
1x USB-C cable
1x charging adapter
1x SIM needle
1x user manual

More from UMIDIGI
UMIDIGI Z2 Pro Smartphone

Reviews

The UMIDIGI Z2 Pro is a China smartphone with a 6.2 inch FHD + display, a powerful Helio P60 SoC and a generous 6 + 128GB storage capacity. The price is ...

Advertising

GOGOBest May Banner

Reviews
3
Review

UMIDIGI Z Pro Test – Dual-Kamera Smartphone

by 7. April 2017
Bei UMIDIGI (ehemals UMi) geht es drunter und dr√ľber. Obwohl das UMi Z gerade erst wenige Monate erh√§ltlich ist, ver√∂ffentlicht der chinesische Smartphone-Hersteller ‚Äď der sich zwischenzeitlich in ‚ÄěUMIDIGI‚Äú umbenannt hat ‚Äď einen Nachfolger, das ‚ÄěUMIDIGI Z Pro‚Äú. Welche Neuerungen das UMIDIGI Z Pro mit sich bringt und ob wir das Smartphone weiterempfehlen k√∂nnen, dazu mehr in diesem Testbericht.
√úberblick
Hersteller

UMIDIGI (UMi)

Produktbezeichnung

UMIDIGI Z Pro

Spezifikationen

Prozessor und Speicher
CPU: MediaTek Helio X27
GPU: Mali T880 MP4
RAM: 4GB
Interner Speicher: 32GB
Speichererweiterung: Ja

Display
Displaytyp: Sharp IGZO
Displaydiagonale: 5.5 Zoll
Displayauflösung: 1920x1080 Pixel
Multitouch: 5 Finger

Kameras
Hauptkamera: 2x 13 Megapixel Sony IMX258
*Blende: virtuell F11 bis F0.8
*PDAF
*Quad-LED Blitz
Frontkamera: 13 Megapixel Samsung S5K3L8

Wireless
WiFi: 802.11a/b/g/n
Bluetooth: 4.1
GPS: Ja

Sensoren
*Helligkeitssensor
*Näherungssensor
*Gyroskop
*Beschleunigungssensor
*E-Kompass
*Hall-Sensor
*G-Sensor

Netz
GSM 850(B5)/900(B8)/1800(B3)/1900(B2)
WCDMA 900(B8)/2100(B1)
LTE FDD 2100(B1)/1800(B3)/2600(B7)/800(B20)

Akku
Akku: 3.780 mAh
Quick-Charge: Pump Express+
Anschluss: USB Typ-C

Sonstige
SIM: 2x Nano / 1x Nano + Micro SD
Fingerabdruckscanner: Ja
Betriebssystem: Android 6
Größe: 15.4 x 7.6 x 0.82 cm
Gewicht: 175g

Lieferumfang

1x UMIDIGI Z Pro
1x USB-C Kabel
1x Ladeadapter
1x SIM-Nadel
1x Bedienungsanleitung

Erster Eindruck zum UMIDIGI Z Pro

UMIDIGI Z Pro Review | Unboxing & Hands-On

Lieferumfang

Das UMIDIGI Z Pro wird genauso wie das Modell ohne Pro-Zusatz in einer praktischen Metallbox ausgeliefert. Auch beim Lieferumfang gibt es keine Unterschiede. Enthalten sind neben dem Smartphone noch ein Pump Express Ladegerät, ein cooles USB-Typ-C Kabel, eine mehrsprachige Bedienungsanleitung und eine SIM-Nadel.

Design und Verarbeitung

Wie schon beim Lieferumfang, bleibt UMIDIGI auch dem Design treu. Das UMIDIGI Z Pro besticht durch ein schnittiges Unibody Metallgeh√§use im coolen Anthrazit-Look. Wegen des Unibody Geh√§uses ist die R√ľckseite nicht abnehmbar, weshalb auch der Akku nicht problemlos getauscht werden kann. Auf der linken Geh√§useseite befindet sich der SIM-Slot. Hier lassen sich entweder zwei Nano SIM-Karten oder eine Nano SIM-Karte mit zus√§tzlicher¬†Micro SD-Speicherkarte einlegen. Wer zwangsl√§ufig die Speichererweiterung ben√∂tigt, muss wegen des Hybrid-Slots auf die Dual-SIM Funktion des Smartphones verzichten!

Ein weiteres Design-Merkmal ist die kapazitive und vorderseitig befindliche Home-Taste, die gleichzeitig den Fingerabdruckscanner beinhaltet. Zwei weitere kapazitive Bedientasten befinden sich links und rechts neben der Home-Taste. Leider sind diese Bedientasten nicht beleuchtet. Auf der rechten Geh√§useseite befinden sich die physische Lautst√§rkewippe und die Einschalttaste. Weitere Design-Elemente, wodurch sich das UMIDIGI Z Pro von anderen Smartphones unterscheiden w√ľrde, gibt es nicht.

Leider war UMi bzw. UMIDIGI noch nie f√ľr eine qualitativ hochwertige Verarbeitung bekannt. Das UMIDIGI Z Pro hingegen gl√§nzt durch eine solide Verarbeitungsqualit√§t. Das gesamte Geh√§use ist sauber und ohne Spaltma√üe oder Abweichungen verarbeitet. Die Bedientasten sitzen fest und rascheln selbst bei schnellen¬†Bewegungen nicht.

Display

Das Smartphone verwendet ein Full-HD Sharp IGZO Display mit einer Diagonale von 5.5 Zoll. Durch die h√∂here Eletronenbeweglichkeit des ‚ÄěIndium-Gallium-Zink-Oxid‚Äú (IGZO) Displays werden unter anderem h√∂here Reaktionsgeschwindigkeiten erreicht, wodurch ein „Nachzieh-Effekt“ weitestgehend vermieden wird. Den NTSC Farbraum deckt das Display mit bis zu 95% ab. Als Displayschutz verwendet UMIDIGI das so genannte ‚ÄěDragontrail Glas‚Äú.

In der Praxis schl√§gt sich das Display des UMIDIGI Z Pro gut, ist allerdings nicht perfekt. Die Farbdarstellung ist vergleichsweise k√ľhl. Innerhalb der Displayeinstellungen gibt es die M√∂glichkeit via ‚ÄěMiraVision‚Äú oder der Option ‚ÄěColor Temperature‚Äú die Farbdarstellung individuell anzupassen. Was ebenfalls auff√§llt ist ein geringes ‚ÄěBacklight Bleedling‚Äú am oberen und unterem Displayrand. Werden beispielsweise sehr dunkle Inhalte dargestellt, macht sich ein ungleichm√§√üiger Helligkeitsverlauf bemerkbar. √úberzeugen kann das UMIDIGI Z Pro bei der Blickwinkelstabilit√§t und der Displaysch√§rfe. Selbst bei extremen Betrachtungswinkeln werden Farben unverf√§lscht dargestellt und Schriften blieben lesbar.

Die maximale Displayhelligkeit ist durchschnittlich. Inhalte bei starkem Sonnenschein noch gut ablesen zu k√∂nnen wird schwierig, da das Display √ľberaus stark spiegelt und sehr anf√§llig f√ľr Fingerabdr√ľcke ist. Die Genauigkeit des Touchscreens ist gut. Ghosting oder fehlerhafte Erkennungen gab es im Test nicht. Multitouch wird mit maximal 5 gleichzeitigen Eingaben unterst√ľtzt.

Leistung

Auch der MediaTek Helio X27 (MT6797X) Prozessor ist wieder mit an Bord. Der Prozessor besitzt insgesamt 10 Prozessorkerne, die sich in 2 Cortex-A72, und 4x2 Cortex-A53 Kerne unterteilen. Durch die Unterteilung in 3 Cluster werden Arbeitsaufgaben je nach Rechenintensit√§t auf die jeweiligen Cluster effizient verteilt um eine bessere Leistung zu garantieren. Gleichzeitig sollte (zumindest in der Theorie) der Akkuverbrauch reduziert werden. Bez√ľgliches der Speicherausstattung ist das Smartphone mit einem 4GB gro√üen Arbeitsspeicher und einem 32GB gro√üen internen Speicher ausgestattet.

Obwohl das UMIDIGI Z Pro einen High-End MediaTek Prozessor verwendet, ist die Leistung nur bedingt zufriedenstellen. Gerade im Multitasking haben sich Verz√∂gerungen und App-Abst√ľrze bemerkbar gemacht, die vermutlich nicht auf den Prozessor selbst, sondern auf dessen Anpassung an die Benutzeroberfl√§che zur√ľckzuf√ľhren sind. Teilweise wollten Apps sogar √ľberhaupt nicht starten oder blieben mit einem wei√üen Bildschirm h√§ngen. Hier besteht eindeutig noch Optimierungsbedarf von Seiten UMIDIGIs.

Als Prozessorgrafik wird eine Mali T880 MP4 GPU verwendet, die auch anspruchsvolleren Spielen gewachsen ist. Wer gerne mobile Games wie z.B. Dead Trigger 2 oder Asphalt 8 spielt, der kann diese auch auf hohen Details fl√ľssig spielen. Aber Vorsicht! Das Smartphone wird bereits nach kurzer Spieldauer hei√ü.

Benutzeroberfläche

Verwendet wird ein sauberes, an Stock-Android angelehntes Android 6.0, das komplett ohne Bloatware auskommt. Lediglich in den Einstellungen wurden Zusatzfunktionen hinzugef√ľgt. So gibt es unter anderem erweiternde Displayeinstellungen oder aber einen ‚Äěintelligenten Assistenten‚Äú, der Stromsparfunktionen, Einstellungen zur Benachrichtigungs-LED und zur der Tasten-Steuerung beinhaltet. Die standardm√§√üig aktivierten, virtuellen Bedientasten lassen sich so komplett abschalten, sodass das Display umf√§nglich¬†genutzt werden kann.

Updates empfängt das Smartphone Over-The-Air. Ein Update auf Android 7 stellt UMIDIGI in Aussicht. Wann es allerdings soweit sein wird, ist derweil noch nicht bekannt.

Kamera

Der wohl ausschlaggebendste Unterschied zwischen dem UMIDIGI Z und der Pro-Variante ist die Hauptkamera. Das Single-Kamerasystem (Samsung S5K3L8) des UMi Z, wurde beim UMIDIGI Z Pro durch ein Duales-Kamerasystem bestehend aus zwei 13 Megapixel Sony IMX258 Bildsensoren ersetzt. Verzichtet wird auf den Laser-Autofokus. Stattdessen muss man sich mit einem herkömmlichen PDAF (Phase-Detection-Autofocus) zufriedengeben. Die 13 Megapixel Frontkamera mit Samsung S5K3L8 Bildsensor bleibt erhalten.

Hauptkamera

In der Praxis l√§sst sich die Aufnahmequalit√§t der Hauptkamera der Mittelklasse zuordnen. Bei guten Lichtverh√§ltnissen sind ansehnliche Bildaufnahmen mit guter Sch√§rfe, kr√§ftigen Farben und geringem Bildrauschen m√∂glich. Bei schlechter Ausleuchtung bzw. schlechten Lichtverh√§ltnissen werden Aufnahmen zunehmend unscharf und auch das Bildrauschen nimmt deutlich zu. Der Autofokus arbeitet akkurat und zuverl√§ssig. Der ‚ÄěQuad-LED Flash‚Äú bietet im Dunkeln eine passable Ausleuchtung, ist jedoch nicht heller als ein herk√∂mmlicher Dual-LED Blitz.

Besonders interessant ist der so genannten ‚ÄěBokeh‚Äú Effekt, der durch das Duale-Kamerasystem erm√∂glicht wird. ‚ÄěBokeh‚Äú bedeutet nichts anderes als ‚Äěverschwommen bzw. unscharf‚Äú. Objekte oder Personen lassen sich dadurch besser in den Vordergrund r√ľcken, wohingegen der Hintergrund unscharf dargestellt wird. Erzeugt wird dieser Effekt softwareseitig durch eine virtuelle Blende, die von F11 bis F0.8 reicht. Bereits geschossene Bokeh-Aufnahmen k√∂nnen auch nachtr√§glich in der Galerie durch verschieben der virtuellen Blende und einem nachfokussieren bearbeitet werden. Der Bokeh Aufnahmemodus ist bei diesem Smartphone leider nicht allzu gut umgesetzt. Im Vergleich zum erst k√ľrzlich von uns getesteten Honor 6X, das ebenfalls einen Bokeh-Modus besitzt, ist die Anpassung der virtuellen Blende beim UMIDIGI Z Pro vergleichsweise schwierig. Die Person oder das aufgenommene Objekt perfekt in den Vordergrund zu r√ľcken, verlangt einiges an Fingerspitzengef√ľhl und Geduld. Neben Bokeh-Fotoaufnahmen sind auch Bokeh-Videoaufnahmen m√∂glich.

Weitere Fotomodi sind monochrome Schwarz-Wei√ü Aufnahmemodus, es gibt einen ‚ÄěFacebeauty‚Äú Modus, der im Test allerdings nicht funktionieren wollte, es gibt einen ‚ÄěPro Photo‚Äú Modus mit individuellen Anpassungsm√∂glichkeiten und einen Panoramamodus. Wer Bilder nebenbei noch etwas aufpeppen m√∂chte, f√ľr den gibt es verschiedene Filter, die sich direkt √ľber das Live-Bild legen lassen. Videos nimmt die Hauptkamera des UMIDIGI Z Pro mit maximaler 4K Aufl√∂sung auf. Die Bildwiederholrate l√§sst sich leider nicht individuell anpassen.

Aufnahmemodus: Standard

Aufnahmemodus: Bokeh

Frontkamera

Die Frontkamera √ľberrascht durch eine ordentliche Aufnahmequalit√§t. Wer gerne Selfies aufnimmt, kommt auf seine Kosten. √úberraschend ist auch, der vorderseitige LED-Blitz, der auch bei Nacht f√ľr eine ausreichende Ausleuchtung sorgt. Als zus√§tzliche Aufnahmemodi bietet die Frontkamera ebenfalls einen Facebeauty-Modus und einen Panoramamodus. Videos k√∂nnen sogar in Full-HD aufgenommen werden.

Konnektivität, GPS und Sensoren

Im Mobilfunknetz unterst√ľtzt das UMIDIGI Z Pro alle hierzulande √ľblichen Frequenzen. Selbst LTE ist vollumf√§nglich nutzbar. Die Verbindungsstabilit√§t im Mobilfunknetz ist gut. Mobiles Surfen funktioniert anstandslos. Die Gespr√§chsqualit√§t ist mittelm√§√üig, was vor allem auf das schwache Mikrofon zur√ľckzuf√ľhren ist. Auch bei der Freichsprechfunktion liefert das Smartphone keine Glanzleistung ab. Der Lautsprecher klingt leicht blechern und es fehlt deutlich an Volumen.

Im WLAN verh√§lt sich das Smartphone tadellos und beh√§lt auch bei weiteren Entfernungen zur Sendeeinheit ein konstantes Signal. Dual-Band WiFi wird unterst√ľtzt und ein Wechsel zwischen 2.4G und 5G funktioniert fehlerfrei. Bluetooth wird bis Version 4.1 unterst√ľtzt. Auch hier gibt es nichts zu beanstanden.

Einen GPS Fix findet das Smartphone binnen weniger Sekunden. Selbst im Geb√§udeinneren ist ein GPS Fix nach gut 10 bis 20 Sekunden m√∂glich. An die Signalst√§rke eines Xiaomi Mi5S kommt das UMIDIGI Z Pro allerdings nicht heran. Trotzdem ist ein pr√§zises Navigieren kein Problem. Die Positionsbestimmung war bei einer vielf√§ltigen Testnavigation durch st√§dtisches Gebiet und √ľber Land durchg√§ngig genau. Ein E-Kompass ist ebenfalls vorhanden, sodass sich das Smartphone auch zur Fu√üg√§ngernavigation nutzen l√§sst.

Die sensorische Ausstattung beläuft sich auf einen Näherungssensor, einen Beschleunigungssensor, einen Helligkeitssensor, ein Gyroskop, einen Hall-Sensor und einen G-Sensor. Ein Fingerabdrucksensor ist ebenfalls vorhanden. Dieser zeichnet sich durch eine gute Erkennungsrate aus, ist allerdings etwas träge beim Entsperren des Smartphones.

Akku

Zu kritisieren ist die Akkulaufzeit. Trotz einer Kapazit√§t von 3.780 mAh kommt man mit einer Akkuladungen nur gerade so √ľber den Tag. Bei leistungshungrigen Anwendungen, aber auch im Standby ist der Akkuverbrauch auff√§llig hoch. Die Ladezeit liegt bei durchschnittlichen 2 Stunden und 30 Minuten. Von dem versprochenen Pump Express keine Spur.

Testergebnis

Bewertung
Positiv

Ansprechendes Design
Sehr gute Verarbeitung
Scharfes Display
Bokeh-Aufnahmemodus
Gute Frontkamera
Sehr gute Mobilfunkqualität
Stabiles GPS

Negativ

Backlight-Bleeding
Schwaches Mikrofon
Performance
Mittelmäßige Hauptkamera
Träger Fingerabdruckscanner
Geringe Akkulaufzeit
Nicht funktionierendes Pump Express

Erster Eindruck
8.5
Verarbeitung
9.0
Design
9.0
Display
8.0
Leistung
5.0
Benutzeroberfläche
8.0
Kamera
6.5
Fingerabdruckscanner
7.0
Konnektivität
8.5
GPS & Sensoren
8.0
4.3
Audio
6.5
Akku
4.0
9.0
Fazit

Tolles Design, gute Verarbeitung, aber softwareseitig stark verbesserungsw√ľrdig. Gerade die vereinzelten App-Abst√ľrze und die h√§ufig tr√§ge Bedienbarkeit der Benutzeroberfl√§che f√ľhrten im Test zu viel Frustration. Es besteht aber Hoffnung, denn um die Ver√∂ffentlichung zuk√ľnftiger Updates und einem Upgrade auf Android 7, steht es gar nicht so schlecht. Gravierende Hardwarem√§ngel besitzt das UMIDIGI Z Pro zum Gl√ľck keine. Zwar sind die Mikrofon- und Lautsprecherqualit√§t eher durchschnittlich, daf√ľr gl√§nzt das Smartphone bei der Verbindungsstabilit√§t im Mobilfunknetz.

Das Duale-Kamerasystem gewinnt ebenfalls keinen Preis, erm√∂glicht aber zumindest bei guten Lichtverh√§ltnissen passable Bild- und Videoaufnahmen. Der Bokeh-Aufnahmemodus ist ein netter Zusatz, der jedoch viel Fingerspitzengef√ľhl verlangt. Wiederum zu kritisieren ist die Akkulaufzeit. Trotz der hohen Kapazit√§t kommt man mit dem Smartphone nur knapp √ľber den Tag. Zudem funktioniert die versprochene Pump Express Schnellladefunktion nicht. Aber auch hier besteht die Hoffnung, dass zuk√ľnftige Updates diese Fehler beseitigen werden.

7.3
Unsere Bewertung
6.7
Nutzerbewertung
You have rated this

3
Hinterlasse einen Kommentar

avatar
Neueste √Ąlteste
red
Gast
red

UMIDIGI bewirbt das Smartphone hier schon mit Android 7. Wann soll das Update denn kommen?

Richard
Gast
Richard

Hallo, kann ich das Smartphone im deutschen LTE Mobilfunk verwenden oder gibt es Einschränkungen?