News
2

Xiaomi Black Shark - gaming smartphone with water cooling

by Timo30. July 2018
The Xiaomi Black Shark Smartphone is the Chinese answer to the Razer Gaming Phone. Equipped with a powerful Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, which is tamed by a novel liquid cooling, the smartphone is aimed primarily at mobile gamers who do not need performance drops. In this preview we take a first look at the Xiaomi Gaming Smartphone.
Overview
Manufacturer/Model

Xiaomi

Product

BlackShark SKR-A0

Specifications

Processor and memory
CPU: Qualcomm Snapdragon 845
GPU: Adreno 630
RAM: 6GB / 8GB (LPDDR4x)
Internal memory: 64GB / 128GB (UFS2.1)
Memory extension: no

Display
Display diagonal: 5.99 inches
Display resolution: 2160 x 1080 pixels
Image Enhancer: Pixelworks Chip, MEMC
Screen protector: Toughened protective glass
Multitouch: 10 fingers

cameras
Main Camera: 12 Megapixel + 20 Megapixel
* Aperture f / 1.75 and f / 1.75
* Autofocus
* Dual Tone LED Flash
Front camera: 20 megapixel
* HDR
* Beauty

Network
Dual SIM: Yes
SIM size: Nano SIM

GSM Band B2 / B3 / B5 / B8
WCDMA Band B1 / B2 / B5 / B8
SCDMA Band B34 / B39
CDMA / EVDO band BC0
FDD LTE B1 / B3 / B4 / B5 / B7 / B8 / B12
TDD LTE B34 / B38 / B39 / B40 / B41

wireless
WiFi: 802.11 a / b / g / n / ac MU-MIMO
Bluetooth: 5.0
GPS: Yes

sensors
* Ambient light sensor
* Accelerometer
* Proximity Sensor
* Hall sensor
* E-Compass
*Gyroscope
* Fingerprint Sensor

Accumulator
Battery: 4.000 mAh
Quick charge function: Quick Charge 3.0
Connection: USB-C

other
Operating system: Android 8
Size: 161.62 75.4 x x 9.25 mm
Weight: 190g

Xiaomi "Black Shark"

The Xiaomi Gaming product line is growing rapidly. Was it just a few weeks ago, the new Xiaomi gaming notebook, it is already today Xiaomi Gaming Smartphone, Interesting approaches that promise Xiaomi Black Shark including its efficient liquid cooling, modular plug-on controller and gaming-optimized user interface. The official launch is the 20. April 2018. Appear the smartphone in two versions with different memory size. The (Chinese) selling price is equivalent to 387 € (6GB + 64GB) or 452 € (8GB + 128GB).

Update 17. May 2018

Meanwhile, the Black Shark smartphone has appeared in another version. The "Top Model" is with one 8GB + 256GB memory equipment available and costs converted 529€, Sales start is the 22. May.

As one of the first import shops has Geekbuying added the gaming smartphone to the range. There, the 6GB + 64GB model is available for just under 500 €. The price is likely to fall in the coming weeks and adjust to the Chinese selling price.

Buy Xiaomi Gaming Smartphone Black Shark

Design and display

Already that Design makes it clear that this is not an ordinary mobile device. The Xiaomi Black Shark is remembered for being striking and at the same time massive appearance primarily to an outdoor smartphone. This is also shown by the Dimensions, With the 161.62 x 75.4 x 9.25 mm and a Weight by 190 g comparatively bulky. Due to the trapezoidal tapered back and the in X placed antenna arrangement, Xiaomi promises improved grip and improved reception performance. An optical highlight is the centrally located Black Shark logo, which lights up green depending on the activity. In addition to the usual control buttons, there is also one "SHARK button", with which a separate game administration, the so-called Shark Space, lets start. On Fingerprint scanner is integrated in the front-side home button.

Luminous back with Black Shark logo

Display solve one Diagonal of 5.99 inches with 2160 x 1080 pixels on. Of the DCI-P3 color space becomes 97% covered. The luminance reached the panel above-average 550 cd / m²so that nothing stands in the way of readability in the sunshine. A separate one Image processing chip from "Pixelworks" ensures a high-contrast, colorful and particularly fluid presentation. Among other things, the Xiaomi Black Shark uses the MEMC (Motion Estimation Motion Compensation) technology, which is an interframe calculation (FI). Using algorithms frames or images are added, so that one (artificial) higher refresh rate is reached. Xiaomi does not specify the actual refresh rate of the display. In comparison, the panel of the Razer Phone comes to a refresh rate of 120 Hz.

Display comparison

Processor and memory

Under the hood, the current works High-end system-on-chip "Snapdragon 845" from Qualcomm, which among other things also in the Xiaomi Mi Mix 2S is used. The processor takes off 8 Kyro 385 processor cores together, in the big.LITTLE composite work and a maximum 2.8 GHz clock rate to reach. To a performance drop by so-called "Thermal Throttling" To prevent is the smartphone with a novel Liquid cooling fitted. Compared to the standard heat pipe this works 20 times more efficient and keeps the core temperature of the CPU below 8 ° C.

Black Shark liquid cooling

Also the storage facilities turns out lush. The smartphone is available as Basic model with 6GB + 64GB and in a more powerful Version with 8GB + 128GB, The memory is of type LPDDR4X Dual Channel. The built-in flash memory type UFS 2.1. A memory expansion by means of MicroSD memory card is not provided. For a decent gaming performance, the Adreno GPU 630, Cutting-edge mobile games such as the recently published PUBG Mobile are therefore playable without any picture loss.

camera

A much lower focus is on the camera equipment, which was even a minor matter in the presentation of the Black Shark. Installed is one dual main camera with a 12 megapixels and a 20 megapixel image sensor, The exact name of the sensors is not known by Xiaomi. Based on the specifications, however, it can be assumed that a Sony IMX386 or IMX486 was installed in combination with a Sony IMX376 or IMX350. Both sensors rely on one f / 1.75 aperture and 6 layer lens, On Dual tone LED flash ensures better lighting conditions. The focus is on one Phase Detection Autofocus (PDAF).

The front camera solve with 20 Megapixel and probably uses a Sony IMX376 or IMX350 image sensor. The cover gives Xiaomi f / 2.2 at. In addition to various beauty filters, the front camera supports high-resolution video recordings in 4K.

Shark Space

Gaming features

Essential for any gaming smartphones are special ones Gaming features, In addition to the already mentioned Bildverarbeitungschip and the Shark Space game management, the smartphone with a "Game Dock" fitted. About the Game Dock, the user receives in the form of a Drop-down menus a quick access to the system administration. One gets access to one, among other things eye-friendly display mode, one Performance mode to increase processor performance, as well as you get one Overview of system utilization, The user interface is based on Android 8.1 and visually differs from the conventional Xiaomi MIUI.

Game dock

For a better sound and improved communication HiFi DAC chip, two powerful stereo speakers and in total 3 microphones, The microphones are arranged so that the own game sound is not captured and a trouble-free communication is possible. A lossless sound reproduction via Bluetooth is with the help of aptX HD audio codecs realized.

As an optional accessory, Xiaomi also introduces the so-called Black Shark Hammerhead Game Controller (about 25 €) to the side. This controller, which is equipped with a thumbstick and several trigger buttons, is plugged into the smartphone and connected via Bluetooth. Operation is in combination with the virtual control buttons of the respective mobile games. Thanks to the rechargeable 340 mAh battery, the controller can be operated more than 30 hours at a time. Updates can be uploaded to the controller via USB-C OTG.

Blackshark Game Controller

Connectivity and others

Like most Xiaomi smartphones, comes the Black Shark without full LTE support therefore. The LTE bands 3 and 7 are supported, which are common in this country LTE band 20 is missing in turn. You can populate the both 4G LTE-enabled SIM slots with two Nano-SIM cards, The wireless connection leaves nothing to be desired. Next Dual band AC WiFi with MU-MIMO Compatibility, the smartphone also supports Bluetooth 5.0, Wired is the smartphone only one USB-C socket available. An 3.5 mm jack audio output is missing. The battery capacity is 4000 mAh. If Quick Charge stands Quick Charge 3.0 to the side. Contactless Qi loading is not possible.

Initial Coverage

With the Xiaomi Black Shark you feel a little bit in it year 2003 translated as Nokia with the N-Gage presented the first gaming phone. However, the difference between the Xiaomi Gaming smartphone and traditional mobile devices is much smaller. The handheld still looks like a smartphone, offers the usual features including additional gaming features and even the modular gamepad sounds well resolved. The question that arises however is: Do you need such a thing at all? After all, there are much more compact mobile devices with almost identical hardware. However, considering that the gaming smartphone appears mainly in the Chinese market, it sounds quite plausible to bring out such a device. Especially in Asia, mobile gaming is a leader and far ahead of conventional PC or console gaming.

Once we have a test copy, the open questions will of course be investigated. What do you think of Xiaomi's new gaming smartphone? With it in the comments!

Price Comparison

Price history

Current prices

Buy geekbuying
10-30 working days
404,90€
Banggood
10-30 working days
487,11€
Gearbest
10-30 working days
554,63€

Price too high? Use our price alarm clock!

Prices last updated on: April 5st, 2020 08:00

Price history

Current prices

Buy geekbuying
10-30 working days
485,88€
Banggood
10-30 working days
503,98€
Gearbest
10-30 working days
634,99€

Price too high? Use our price alarm clock!

Prices last updated on: April 5st, 2020 08:00

2
Leave a comment

avatar
Latest Oldest
Christoph
guest
Christoph

I was in China in December and how the smartphones are handled is not comparable to us at all. I am not surprised that Xiaomi jumped on the train. Even the grandma with 60 still daddelt on her smartphone.

Justen
guest
Justen

Is there something new about the smartphone? Will that buy but habs found nowhere? Is that even out ???

News
1

Xiaomi Black Shark – Gaming Smartphone mit Wasserkühlung

by TimoApril 17, 2018

Das Xiaomi Black Shark Smartphone ist die chinesische Antwort auf das Razer Gaming Phone. Ausgestattet mit einem leistungsstarken Qualcomm Snapdragon 845, der durch eine neuartige Flüssigkühlung gebändigt wird, richtet sich das Smartphone vor allem an Mobile-Gamer, die Leistungseinbrüche nicht gebrauchen können. In dieser Vorschau werfen wir einen ersten Blick auf das Xiaomi Gaming Smartphone.

Überblick
Hersteller

Xiaomi

Produktbezeichnung

BlackShark SKR-A0

Spezifikationen

Prozessor und Speicher
CPU: Qualcomm Snapdragon 845
GPU: Adreno 630
RAM: 6GB / 8GB ( LPDDR4x)
Interner Speicher: 64GB / 128GB ( UFS2.1)
Speichererweiterung: Nein

Display
Displaydiagonale: 5.99 Zoll
Displayauflösung: 2160 x 1080 Pixel
Bildverbesserer: Pixelworks Chip, MEMC
Displayschutz: Gehärtetes Schutzglas
Multitouch: 10 Finger

Kameras
Hauptkamera: 12 Megapixel + 20 Megapixel
*Blende f/1.75 und f/1.75
*Autofokus
*Dual-Tone LED Blitz
Frontkamera: 20 Megapixel
*HDR
*Beauty

Netz
Dual-SIM: Ja
SIM-Größe: Nano SIM

GSM Band B2 / B3 / B5 / B8
WCDMA Band B1 / B2 / B5 / B8
SCDMA Band B34 / B39
CDMA / EVDO Band BC0
FDD LTE B1 / B3 / B4 / B5 / B7 / B8 / B12
TDD LTE B34 / B38 / B39 / B40 / B41

Wireless
WiFi: 802.11 a/b/g/n/ac MU-MIMO
Bluetooth: 5.0
GPS: Ja

Sensoren
*Umgebungslichtsensor
*Beschleunigungssensor
*Näherungssensor
*Hall-Sensor
*E-Kompass
*Gyroskop
*Fingerabdrucksensor

Akku
Akku: 4.000 mAh
Schnellladefunktion: Quick-Charge 3.0
Anschluss: USB-C

Sonstige
Betriebssystem: Android 8
Größe: 161.62 x 75.4 x 9.25 mm
Gewicht: 190g

Xiaomi „Black Shark“

Die Xiaomi Gaming Produktreihe erhält rasend schnell Zuwachs. War es vor wenigen Wochen noch das neue Xiaomi Gaming Notebook, ist es heute bereits das Xiaomi Gaming Smartphone. Interessante Ansätze verspricht das Xiaomi Black Shark unter anderem durch seine effiziente Flüssigkühlung, den modularen Aufsteck-Controller und die Gaming-optimierte Benutzeroberfläche. Der offizielle Verkaufsstart ist der 20. April 2018. Erscheinen wird das Smartphone in zwei Ausführungen mit unterschiedlicher Speichergröße. Der (chinesische) Verkaufspreis liegt bei umgerechnet 387€ (6GB+64GB) bzw. 452€ (8GB+128GB).

Xiaomi Gaming Smartphone Black Shark Kaufen

Design und Display

Bereits das Design lässt erkennen, dass es um kein gewöhnliches Mobilgerät handelt. Das Smartphone erinnert durch sein markantes und gleichzeitig massives Äußeres in erster Linie an ein Outdoor-Smartphone. Das zeigen auch die Maße, die mit 161.62 x 75.4 x 9.25 mm und einem Gewicht von 190g vergleichsweise wuchtig ausfallen. Durch die trapezförmig-zulaufende Rückseite und die im X platzierte Antennenanordnung, verspricht sich Xiaomi eine verbesserte Griffigkeit und eine gleichzeitig verbesserte Empfangsleistung. Ein optisches Highlight ist das mittig befindliche Black Shark Logo, das je nach Aktivität giftgrün aufleuchtet. Neben den üblichen Bedientasten gibt es auch eine „SHARK-Taste“, mit der sich eine gesonderte Spieleverwaltung, der so genannte „Shark Space“, starten lässt. Ein Fingerabdruckscanner ist in die vorderseitige Home-Taste integriert.

Leuchtende Rückseite mit Black Shark Logo

Das Display löst bei einer Diagonale von 5.99 Zoll mit 2160 x 1080 Pixel auf. Der DCI-P3 Farbraum wird zu 97% abgedeckt. Die Leuchtdichte des Panels erreicht überdurchschnittliche 550 cd/m², sodass einer Lesbarkeit bei Sonnenschein nichts im Wege steht. Ein eigener Bildverarbeitungschip von „Pixelworks“ sorgt für eine kontrastreiche, farbenkräftige und besonders flüssige Darstellung. Unter anderem bedient sich das Xiaomi Black Shark der MEMC (Motion Estimation Motion Compensation) Technologie, bei der es sich um eine Zwischenbildberechnung (FI) handelt. Mittels Algorithmen werden Frames bzw. Bilder hinzugerechnet, sodass eine (künstlich) höhere Bildwiederholrate erreicht wird. Zur tatsächlichen Bildwiederholfrequenz des Displays macht Xiaomi keine Angabe. Im Vergleich dazu kommt das Panel des Razer Phones auf eine Bildwiederholfrequenz von 120 Hz.

Display Vergleich

Prozessor und Speicher

Unter der Haube arbeitet das aktuelle High-End System-on-Chip „Snapdragon 845“ von Qualcomm, das unter anderem auch im Xiaomi Mi Mix 2S zum Einsatz kommt. Der Prozessor setzt sich aus 8 Kyro 385 Prozessorkernen zusammen, die im big.LITTLE-Verbund arbeiten und eine maximale 2.8 GHz Taktrate erreichen. Um einen Leistungsabfall durch so genanntes „Thermal Throttling“ zu verhindern, ist das Smartphone mit einer neuartigen Flüssigkeitskühlung ausgestattet. Im vergleich zur Standard-Heatpipe arbeitet diese 20-mal effizienter und hält die Kerntemperatur der CPU auf unter 8°C.

Black Shark Flüssigkühlung

Auch die Speicherausstattung fällt üppig aus. Erhältlich ist das Smartphone als Grundmodell mit 6GB+64GB und in einer leistungsstärkeren Ausführung mit 8GB+128GB. Der Arbeitsspeicher ist vom Typ LPDDR4X Dual Channel. Der verbaute Flash-Speicher vom Typ UFS 2.1. Eine Speichererweiterung mittels MicroSD-Speicherkarte ist nicht vorgesehen. Für eine ordentliche Gaming-Performance sorgt die Adreno 630 GPU. Topaktuelle Mobile-Games wie z.B. das kürzlich erschienene PUBG Mobile sind damit ganz ohne Bildeinbrüche spielbar.

Kamera

Ein deutlich geringerer Fokus liegt auf der Kameraausstattung, die bei der Präsentation sogar eher zur Nebensache wurde. Verbaut ist eine duale Hauptkamera mit einem 12 Megapixel und einem 20 Megapixel Bildsensor. Die exakte Bezeichnung der Sensoren gibt Xiaomi nicht bekannt. Anhand der Spezifikationen ist allerdings davon auszugehen, dass ein Sony IMX386 oder IMX486 in Kombination mit einem Sony IMX376 oder IMX350 verbaut wurde. Beide Sensoren setzen auf eine f/1.75 Blende und eine 6-Layer Linse. Ein Dual-Tone LED-Blitz sorgt für bessere Lichtverhältnisse. Fokussiert wird über einen Phase Detection Autofokus (PDAF).

Die Frontkamera löst mit 20 Megapixel auf und bedient sich höchstwahrscheinlich auch einem Sony IMX376 oder IMX350 Bildsensor. Die Blende gibt Xiaomi mit f/2.2 an. Neben verschiedenen Beauty-Filtern unterstützt die Frontkamera hochauflösende Videoaufnahmen in 4K.

Shark Space

Gaming-Funktionen

Essentiell für jedes Gaming-Smartphones sind spezielle Gaming-Features. Neben dem bereits erwähnten Bildverarbeitungschip und der Shark Space Spieleverwaltung, ist das Smartphone mit einem „Game Dock“ ausgestattet. Über das Game Dock erhält der Nutzer in Form eines Drop-Down-Menüs einen Schnellzugriff auf die Systemverwaltung.  Zugriff erhält man unter anderem auf einen augenschonenden Displaymodus, einen Performancemodus zum steigern der Prozessorleistung, als auch erhält man einen Überblick zur Systemauslastung. Die Benutzeroberfläche basiert auf Android 8.1 und weicht optisch vom herkömmlichen Xiaomi MIUI ab.

Game Dock

Für einen besseren Sound und eine verbesserte Kommunikation sorgen ein HiFi DAC-Chip, zwei klangstarke Stereo-Lautsprecher und insgesamt 3 Mikrofone. Die Mikrofone sind dabei so angeordnet, dass der eigene Spielsound nicht eingefangen wird und eine störfreie Kommunikation möglich ist. Eine verlustfreie Klangwiedergabe über Bluetooth wird mit Hilfe des aptX HD Audio-Codecs realisiert.

Als optionales Zubehör stellt Xiaomi dem Black Shark auch den so genannten Hammerhead Game Controller (ungefähr 25€) zur Seite. Dieser, mit einen Thumbstick und mehreren Trigger-Knöpfen versehene Controller, wird an das Smartphone angesteckt und über Bluetooth verbunden. Die Bedienung erfolgt in Kombination mit den virtuellen Bedientasten des jeweiligen Mobile-Games. Durch den wiederaufladbaren 340 mAh Akku kann der Controller mehr als 30 Stunden am Stück betrieben werden. Updates können via USB-C OTG auf den Controller aufgespielt werden.

Blackshark Game Controller

Konnektivität und Sonstige

Wie die meisten Xiaomi Smartphones, kommt auch das Black Shark ohne vollumfängliche LTE-Unterstützung daher. Die LTE Bänder 3 und 7 werden unterstützt, das hierzulande häufig anzutreffende LTE Band 20 fehlt wiederum. Bestücken lassen sich die beiden 4G LTE-fähigen SIM-Slots mit zwei Nano-SIM-Karten. Die Wireless-Anbindung lässt keine Wünsche offen. Neben Dual-Band AC WiFi mit MU-MIMO Kompatibilität, unterstützt das Smartphone auch Bluetooth 5.0. Kabelgebunden stellt das Smartphone nur eine USB-C Buchse zur Verfügung. Ein 3.5 mm Klinken-Audioausgang fehlt. Die Akkukapazität liegt bei 4000 mAh. Als Schnellladefunktion steht Quick Charge 3.0 zur Seite. Kontaktloses Qi-Laden ist nicht möglich.

Ersteinschätzung

Mit dem Xiaomi Black Shark fühlt man sich ein wenig in das Jahr 2003 hineinversetzt, als Nokia mit dem N-Gage das erste Gaming-Handy präsentierte. Der Unterschied des Xiaomi Gaming Smartphones zu herkömmlichen Mobilgeräten fällt jedoch deutlich geringer aus. Das Handheld sieht weiterhin aus wie ein Smartphone, bietet die üblichen Funktionen inklusive zusätzlicher Gaming-Features und auch das modulare Gamepad klingt gut gelöst. Die Frage die sich allerdings stellt ist: Braucht man sowas überhaupt? Immerhin gibt es deutlich kompaktere Mobilgeräte mit fast identischer Hardwareausstattung. Betrachtet man allerdings, dass das Gaming Smartphone hauptsächlich auf dem chinesischen Markt erscheint, klingt es durchaus plausibel ein solches Gerät herauszubringen. Gerade im asiatischen Raum ist Mobile-Gaming führend und liegt weit vor dem herkömmlichen PC- oder Konsolen-Gaming.

Sobald uns ein Testexemplar erreicht, wird den offenen Fragen selbstverständlich auf den Grund gegangen. Was hältst du von Xiaomis neuem Gaming Smartphone? Ab damit in die Kommentare!

Quelle: mi.com/blackshark/

Hinterlasse einen Kommentar

1 Kommentar An "Xiaomi Black Shark – Gaming Smartphone mit Wasserkühlung"

avatar
  Subscribe  
Neueste Älteste
Benachrichtigung
Christoph
Gast
Christoph

Ich war im Dezember in China und wie da mit den Smartphones umgegangen wird ist überhaupt nicht mit uns vergleichbar. Mich wundert es nicht, dass Xiaomi auf den Zug aufgesprungen ist. Dort daddelt selbst die Oma mit 60 noch auf ihrem Smartphone.