Other
5
Feedback

Zhiyun Smooth 3 Test - 3 Axis Smartphone Gimbal

by 3. June 2017

The Zhiyun Smooth 3 is a semi-professional 3-axis smartphone and action cam gimbal that aims to add a touch of professionalism to amateur photography with full image stabilization. What features the Smooth 3 offers and what else the gimbal has on the box, more on this review.

overview
Manufacturer/Model

Zhiyun

Product

Zhiyun Smooth 3

Specifications

Under Construction
Axes: 3 axes
Material: Aluminum
Smartphones: 58 - 85 mm
Action Cams: Yes
Capacity: 75g - 260g

stabilization
Tilting Angle: 320 °
Rolling Angle: 320 °
Panning Angle: 360 °

Accumulator
Capacity: 4600 mAh
Running time: up to 14 hours
Charging time: 3 hours

Other
Tripod socket: 1 / 4 inch
Operation: handle + app
Size: 13.4 x 9.7 x 30.3 cm
Weight: 520g

Scope of delivery

1x gimbal
1x Hard Case
1x Lanyard
1x Micro USB Cable
1x 26650 battery
1x user manual

First impression of the Zhiyun Smooth 3

Scope of delivery

Compared to the recently reviewed consumer gimbal "Feiyu Vimble C", the Zhiyun Smooth 3 offers a - reasonable price - delivery consisting of the Gimbal, One Hard case with lanyard, One Micro USB cable as well as an English-speaking one Manual, A changeable one 26650 battery was already inserted in the gimbal.

Design and workmanship

The Zhiyun Smooth 3 is completely off aluminium Made and convinced by a very clean and high-quality workmanship, Unattractive gap dimensions, clamping threads or sharp edges are looked for in vain on the CNC machined aluminum parts.

With Dimensions of 134 x 97 x 303 mm the Smooth 3 is slightly larger than the predecessor Smooth 2 and the consumer counterpart Smooth Q. The Weight of the gimbal is with inserted battery but without smartphone already included 520g, Due to the comparatively narrow and long shaft, the gimbal fits comfortably in the hand. If you want to extend the shaft, the possibility of the underside located ¼ inch tripod thread to screw on an extension. All control buttons, such as the control stick, a selection keys and the side Steering wheel are placed close to each other and can be easily reached by one-handed operation. Somewhat unfavorably solved is that the Micro USB socket also located on the handle has no cover and is exposed unprotected. At least a small rubber cover would have been desirable here. The same applies to the Micro USB socket on the motor of the tilt axis. For example, a connected device can be charged via this USB socket. A corresponding USB adapter cable is not included and is only available separately. According to Zhiyun, a matching adapter cable will soon be available as an official accessory.

Into the clamp of the Zhiyun Smooth 3 can Smartphones with a width from 58 mm to 85 mm be inserted. For example, an iPhone 5 (58.6 mm) or a Xiaomi Mi Mix (81.9 mm) fits easily into the clamp. The load capacity is between 75g and 260g. An adjustment screw can be used to change the orientation of the holder. Aligning the mount horizontally, Action Cams can be stabilized. The holder is rubberized to all bearing surface, so that the smartphone rests non-slip and at the same time is protected from scratches.

Zhiyun Smooth 3 Review | Unboxing & Hands-On

Preparations and commissioning

It's essentially a gimbal Never switch on without the counterweight inserted, otherwise damage to the brushless motors can occur. If you want to enjoy your gimbal for a long time, you should take this hint to heart! In the Manual The Zhiyun Smooth 3 is again referred to this crucial point. Also very amateur friendly explains how to insert the smartphone and how to operate the gimbal.

Depending on the size and weight of the inserted device, the gimbal must first be balanced. For this purpose, the rail of the X-axis is displaceable via an adjusting screw. A scale on the rail helps to quickly find the previously found position. Unlike many other gimbals, such as the Feiyu Vimble C, the strong engines of the Smooth 3 do not need to achieve perfect balance. Even a not properly balanced smartphone is stabilized. However, it should be noted that this increases the stress on the motors and reduces the battery life at the same time.

Functions and Zhiyun Assistant

Without having the gimbal connected to the app, it offers a total 3 control modes, On the Joystick In addition, the Zhiyun Smooth 3 is free 320 ° roll and tilt (roll and tilt), as well as around Pan 360 °.

Pan following fashion

After switching on the gimbal, it is in the "Pan following fashion", In this mode, the tilt and roll axes are locked, so only the horizontal pan moves are followed. However, all axes can be moved freely via the joystick.

Locking fashion

By clicking on the Mode button you end up in the "Locking Mode", In this mode, all axes are locked. No matter how you move the gimbal, it always stays horizontal on a line. Even in Locking Mode, the axes can be moved freely via the joystick.

Following fashion

Double-click on the Mode button to get into the "Following Fashion", The gimbal follows all pan, tilt and roll movements in this mode. The control via the joystick is retained.

If you press the Mode button three times in a row, will automatically turn on 180 ° swivel carried out. Once you become familiar with the different modes, changing modes back and forth is easy. To distinguish the currently selected mode, there is no own LED indicator, Only the locking mode is indicated by a constant blue LED above the joystick. At the same time, the LED indicator reflects the current battery level. Unfortunately, the indicator does not indicate a distinction between Pan Following Mode or Following Mode.

Zhiyun Assistant / ZY Play

If you want to use all the features of the Zhiyun Smooth 3, you come to an installation of the Zhiyun Assistant or the ZY Play App not around. The Zhiyun Assistant is available for both Android and iOS devices in their respective app stores. The advanced ZY Play App is currently only available for iOS devices. Below I refer to the Zhiyun Assistant.

The connection to the app is over Bluetooth manufactured. There were no problems in the test. Within seconds, the smartphone was connected to the gimbal. A security question does not exist during the pairing. On the one hand, a connection can be established within a very short time, on the other hand theoretically everyone could connect with the gimbal.

If you are connected, you will be clear Home screen Welcomes, inter alia, information on remaining battery life, The axes und dem active mode supplies. The sub-point "Control" leads to the control surface of the gimbal. All physical buttons are there in virtual form. In the settings of the Zhiyun Assistant there is the possibility to configure the individual axes. Among other things, the movement speeds can be adjusted here. Another subpoint is the "Calibration", If the gimbal is misplaced, it can be recalibrated.

Within the app there is also an integrated camera function, This offers in addition to general recording options as well Setting options for ISO, White Balance and Exposure, A feature that is only possible via the camera function of the Zhiyun Assistant is the Object Tracking, If you focus on an object or a person and mark them, the gimbal remains permanently fixed on the marker. The zoom function on the handle attached to the wheel works only on the camera function of the Zhiyun Assistant!

field test

After getting acquainted with the functions of the Zhiyun Smooth 3, let's take a look at how the gimbal works in practice. For this the gimbal accompanied me a week on Tenerife and 2 more weeks at home.

Preparation

By the time I got the Smooth 3 ready, not even a minute passed. Due to the counterweight is the gimbal quickly balanced and by the scale I could just remember the balance point. The Connection to the app is, as already mentioned, also produced within a few seconds.

Zhiyun Smooth 3 Review | Sample footage

stabilization

The stabilization is literally "Smooth". The full 320 ° or 360 ° can be savored without a slight grunt of the engines. Even with strong inclinations has no typical vibration due to overload the engines noticeable. Fast running movements and even rabid camera pans are well balanced. This makes the Smooth 3 perfect for cinematic film movements, Surprisingly good was the Stability in stronger winds, Even then, the recordings remained largely stabilized. After several weeks of testing, I did not have to recalibrate the gimbal yet.

The only downer is not yet released for Android ZY Play app. This offers in contrast to the Zhiyun Assistant advanced camera features. Nevertheless, the Zhiyun Assistant should not be underestimated. Especially that Object or face tracking convinced in the test by a high accuracy and recognition rate. Again a disadvantage of the Zhiyun Assistant is the maximum selectable video resolution of 1920 x 1080 at 30 pictures-per-second.

Accumulator

The Battery of the Zhiyun Smooth 3 is of type 26650, has a capacity of 4600 mAh and is interchangeable. Zhiyun gives a maximum running time from 14 hours. With perfect balance are quite over 12 hours reachable. The charging time via the micro USB charging socket of the gimbal was included in the test 3 hours, Faster charging times can be achieved with a separate charger. Practically that is the battery Level can be read directly from the app and the gimbal displays the remaining capacity via an LED indicator.

Price Comparison

Price comparison - buy offer on Amazon
Shipping Shipped from Germany
139,00€
Price comparison - buy offer at TOMTOP
Shipping Shipping from China
358,70€
Price comparison - buy offer at GearBest
Shipping Shipping from China

Price too high? Use our price alarm clock!

Prices last updated on: 17. August 2019 20: 03

Final Words

Positive

►High quality of workmanship
►Suitable for smartphones and action cams
►Easy commissioning and operation
►Precise stabilization
►Easy functioning object tracking
►Very good battery life
►Battery exchangeable

Negative

►No USB to USB adapter cable included
►USB sockets not protected
►No LED indicator for modes
►ZY Play for Android not yet available

rating
Our rating
user Rating
Rate Here
First impression
9.0
8.2
application
9.0
9.3
Design
8.5
7.9
Features
8.5
8.4
beginner friendly
8.5
8.5
stabilization
9.0
9.5
App
6.5
8.9
Battery life
9.0
8.7
Summary

In the price range around 250 € the Zhiyun Smooth 3 offers an excellent price-performance ratio and can also record it with a DJI Osmo. The gimbal impresses with a very good workmanship, ease of use and proper stabilization. Also noteworthy is the long-lasting battery life. Minor weaknesses are still in the outdated Android App, which will hopefully soon be replaced by the ZY Play App.

8.5
Our rating
8.7
user Rating
1 rating
You have rated this

5
Leave a comment

avatar
2 Comment threads
3 Thread replies
0 Followers
Mostïve comment
Hottest comment thread
2 Comment authors
TimoRickardSebb Recent comment authors
Subscribe
Latest Oldest
notification
Sebb
guest
Sebb

Hi, you write you can use the gimbal with smartphones and cameras. what do you mean exactly? I'm looking for a gimbal that fits into my iPhone and that can carry my GoPro at the same time. Does that work with this?

Rickard
guest
Rickard

Do you have a comparison to the DJI Osmo?

Sonstige
5
Review

Zhiyun Smooth 3 Test – 3-Achsen Smartphone Gimbal

by Juni 3, 2017

Das Zhiyun Smooth 3 ist ein semiprofessionelles 3-Achsen Smartphone und Action Cam Gimbal, das Amateuraufnahmen durch eine vollumfängliche Bildstabilisierung einen gewissen Touch an Professionalität verleihen möchte. Welche Funktionen das Smooth 3 bietet und was das Gimbal sonst noch auf dem Kasten hat, dazu mehr in diesem Test.

Überblick
Hersteller

Zhiyun

Produktbezeichnung

Zhiyun Smooth 3

Spezifikationen

Allgemein
Achsen: 3-Achsen
Material: Aluminium
Smartphones: 58 - 85 mm
Action Cams: Ja
Tragkraft: 75g - 260g

Stabilisierung
Tilting Angle: 320°
Rolling Angle: 320°
Panning Angle: 360°

Akku
Kapazität: 4600 mAh
Laufzeit: bis 14 Stunden
Ladezeit: 3 Stunden

Sonstige
Stativgewinde: 1/4 Zoll
Bedienung: Handgriff + App
Größe: 13.4 x 9.7 x 30.3 cm
Gewicht: 520g

Lieferumfang

1x Gimbal
1x Hard-Case
1x Lanyard
1x Micro USB-Kabel
1x 26650 Akku
1x Bedienungsanleitung

Sonstige

Zum Preisvergleich

Erster Eindruck zum Zhiyun Smooth 3

Lieferumfang

Im Vergleich zum erst kürzlich von uns getesteten Consumer-Gimbal „Feiyu Vimble C“, bietet das Zhiyun Smooth 3 einen – dem Preis angemessenen – Lieferumfang bestehend aus dem Gimbal, einem Hard-Case mit Lanyard, einem Micro USB-Kabel sowie einer englischsprachigen Bedienungsanleitung. Ein wechselbarer 26650 Akku war bereits in das Gimbal eingelegt.

Design und Verarbeitung

Das Zhiyun Smooth 3 ist komplett aus Aluminium gefertigt und überzeugt durch eine sehr saubere und zugleich hochwertige Verarbeitung. Unschöne Spaltmaße, klemmende Gewinde oder scharfe Kanten sucht man an den CNC gefrästen Aluminiumteilen vergebens.

Mit Maßen von 134 x 97 x 303 mm ist das Smooth 3 minimal größer als der Vorgänger Smooth 2 und das Consumer-Pendant Smooth Q. Das Gewicht des Gimbals liegt mit eingelegtem Akku aber ohne Smartphone bereits bei 520g. Durch den vergleichsweise schmalen und langen Schaft liegt das Gimbal griffig in der Hand. Möchte man den Schaft verlängern, bietet sich die Möglichkeit über das unterseitig befindliche ¼ Zoll Stativgewinde eine Erweiterung anzuschrauben. Sämtliche Bedientasten, wie z.B. der Steuerstick, die Auswahltasten und das seitliche Steuerrad sind nah beieinander platziert und gut durch eine Einhandbedienung zu erreichen. Etwas ungünstig gelöst ist, dass die sich ebenfalls am Griff befindliche Micro USB-Buchse keine Abdeckung besitzt und ungeschützt offenliegt. Hier wäre zumindest eine kleine Gummiabdeckung wünschenswert gewesen. Gleiches gilt für die Micro USB-Buchse am Motor der Tilt-Achse. Über diese USB-Buchse kann beispielsweise ein verbundenes Gerät aufgeladen werden. Ein entsprechendes USB-Adapterkabel liegt dem Lieferumfang nicht bei und ist nur separat erhältlich. Laut Zhiyun wird ein passendes Adapterkabel demnächst als offizielles Zubehörteil erhältlich sein.

In die Klemmhalterung des Zhiyun Smooth 3 können Smartphones mit einer Breite von 58 mm bis 85 mm eingelegt werden. So passen beispielsweise ein iPhone 5 (58.6 mm) oder aber ein Xiaomi Mi Mix (81.9 mm) problemlos in die Klemmhalterung. Die Tragkraft liegt zwischen 75g und 260g. Über eine Stellschraube kann die Ausrichtung der Halterung verändert werden. Richtet man die Halterung horizontal aus, können auch Action Cams stabilisiert werden. Die Halterung ist zu sämtlichen Auflagefläche hin gummiert, sodass das Smartphone rutschfest einliegt und gleichzeitig vor Kratzern geschützt ist.

Vorbereitungen und Inbetriebnahme

Es ist entscheidend ein Gimbal niemals ohne eingelegtes Gegengewicht einzuschalten, da es sonst zu Beschädigungen an den Brushless-Motoren kommen kann. Wenn man lange Freude an seinem Gimbal haben möchte, sollte man sich diesen Hinweis zu Herzen nehmen! In der Bedienungsanleitung des Zhiyun Smooth 3 wird auf diesen entscheidenden Punkt nochmals hingewiesen. Ebenfalls sehr laienfreundlich erklärt wird, wie das Smartphone einzulegen ist und wie man das Gimbal bedient.

Je nach Größe und Gewicht des eingelegten Gerätes muss das Gimbal zunächst ausbalanciert werden. Hierzu ist die Schiene der X-Achse über eine Stellschraube verschiebbar. Eine Skala an der Schiene hilft, die zuvor gefundene Position schnell wiederzufinden. Im Gegensatz zu vielen anderen Gimbals, wie z.B. dem Feiyu Vimble C, muss durch die starken Motoren des Smooth 3 kein perfektes Gleichgeweicht erreicht werden. Auch ein nicht korrekt ausbalanciertes Smartphone wird stabilisiert. Beachten sollte man allerdings, dass dadurch die Motoren stärker beansprucht werden und sich gleichzeitig die Akkulaufzeit reduziert.

Funktionen und Zhiyun Assistant

Ohne das Gimbal mit der App verbunden zu haben, bietet es insgesamt 3 Steuermodi. Über den Joystick lässt das Zhiyun Smooth 3 zudem frei um 320° rollen und neigen (Roll und Tilt), sowie um 360° schwenken (Pan).

Pan Following Mode

Nach dem Einschalten des Gimbals befindet sich dieses im „Pan Following Mode“. In diesem Modus sind die Tilt- und Roll-Achse gesperrt, sodass nur den horizontalen Schwenkbewegungen (Pan) gefolgt wird. Über den Joystick sind jedoch sämtliche Achsen frei bewegbar.

Locking Mode

Mit einem Klick auf die Mode-Taste landet man im „Locking Mode“. In diesem Modus sind sämtliche Achsen gesperrt. Egal wie man das Gimbal nun bewegt, es bleibt immer horizontal auf einer Linie ausgerichtet. Auch im Locking Mode sind die Achsen über den Joystick frei bewegbar.

Following Mode

Mit einem Doppelklick auf die Mode-Taste kommt man in den „Following Mode“. Das Gimbal folgt in diesem Modus sämtlichen Pan, Tilt und Roll Bewegungen. Die Steuerung über den Joystick bleibt erhalten.

Betätigt man die Mode-Taste dreimal hintereinander, wird automatisch ein 180° Schwenk durchgeführt. Sobald man sich etwas mit den verschiedenen Modi vertraut gemacht hat, geht das Vor- und Zurückwechseln der Modi einfach von der Hand. Zum Unterscheiden des aktuell ausgewählten Modus gibt es keinen eigenen LED-Indikator. Lediglich der Locking Mode wird durch eine konstant blau leuchtende LED oberhalb des Joysticks angezeigt. Gleichzeitig gibt der LED-Indikator den aktuellen Akkustand wieder. Eine Unterscheidung zwischen Pan Following Mode oder Following Mode zeigt der Indikator leider nicht an.

Zhiyun Assistant / ZY Play

Möchte man sämtliche Features des Zhiyun Smooth 3 nutzen, kommt man um eine Installation des Zhiyun Assistant oder der ZY Play App nicht herum. Der Zhiyun Assistant ist sowohl für Android, als auch für iOS Geräte in den jeweiligen App-Stores erhältlich. Die weiterentwickelte ZY Play App gibt es aktuell nur für iOS Geräte. Im Folgenden beziehe ich mich auf den Zhiyun Assistant.

Die Verbindung zur App wird über Bluetooth hergestellt. Im Test gab es dabei keine Probleme. Binnen weniger Sekunden war das Smartphone mit dem Gimbal verbunden. Eine Sicherheitsabfrage gibt es während des Pairing nicht. Einerseits kann dadurch binnen kürzester Zeit eine Verbindung aufgebaut werden, andererseits könnte sich theoretisch jeder mit dem Gimbal verbinden.

Ist man verbunden, wird man von einem übersichtlichen Startbildschirm begrüßt, der unter anderen Angaben zur verbleibenden Akkulaufzeit, den Achsen und dem aktiven Modus liefert. Der Unterpunkt „Control“ führt zur Steueroberfläche des Gimbals. Sämtliche physische Bedientasten gibt es dort in virtueller Form. In den Einstellungen des Zhiyun Assistant gibt es die Möglichkeit die einzelnen Achsen zu konfigurieren. Unter anderem lassen sich hier die Bewegungsgeschwindigkeiten anpassen. Ein weiterer Unterpunkt ist die „Calibration“. Sollte das Gimbal verstellt sein, kann es hierüber neu kalibriert werden.

Innerhalb der App gibt es auch eine integrierte Kamerafunktion. Diese bietet neben allgemeinen Aufnahmemöglichkeiten auch Einstellungsmöglichkeiten zum ISO, der White Balance und zur Belichtung. Ein Feature, das nur über Kamerafunktion des Zhiyun Assistant ermöglicht wird, ist das Objekt-Tracking. Nimmt man ein Objekt oder eine Person in den Fokus und markiert diese, bleibt das Gimbal dauerhaft auf die Markierung fixiert. Die Zoom-Funktion über das am Griff angebrachte Rädchen funktioniert nur über die Kamerafunktion des Zhiyun Assistent!

Praxistest

Nachdem wir uns mit den Funktionen des Zhiyun Smooth 3 vertraut gemacht haben, schauen wir uns noch an, wie sich das Gimbal in der Praxis schlägt. Hierfür hat mich das Gimbal eine Woche auf Teneriffa und 2 weitere Wochen zu Haus begleitet.

Vorbereitung

Bis ich das Smooth 3 startklar hatte, verging nicht einmal eine Minute. Durch das Gegengeweicht ist das Gimbal schnell balanciert und durch die Skala konnte ich mir den Balancepunkt einfach merken. Die Verbindung zur App ist, wie bereits erwähnt, ebenfalls binnen weniger Sekunden hergestellt.

Stabilisierung

Die Stabilisierung erfolgt im wahrsten Sinne des Wortes „Smooth“. Die vollen 320° bzw. 360° lassen sich ohne ein kleinstes Murren der Motoren auskosten. Selbst bei starken Neigungen hat sich kein typisches Vibrieren wegen Überlastung der Motoren bemerkbar gemacht. Schnelle Laufbewegungen und auch rabiate Kameraschwenks werden gut ausgeglichen. Dadurch eignet sich das Smooth 3 hervorragend für cinematische Filmbewegungen. Überraschend gut war auch die Stabilität bei stärkerem Wind. Selbst dabei blieben die Aufnahmen weitestgehend stabilisiert. Nach einem mehrwöchigen Test musste ich das Gimbal bisher noch nicht neu kalibrieren.

Einziger Wermutstropfen ist die noch nicht für Android erschienene ZY Play App. Diese bietet im Gegensatz zum Zhiyun Assistant erweiterte Kamerafunktionen. Dennoch ist der Zhiyun Assistant nicht zu unterschätzen. Gerade das Objekt bzw. Face-Tracking überzeugte im Test durch eine hohe Genauigkeit und Erkennungsrate. Wiederum ein Nachteil des Zhiyun Assistant ist die maximal auswählbare Videoauflösung von 1920 x 1080 bei 30 Bildern-pro-Sekunde.

Akku

Der Akku des Zhiyun Smooth 3 ist vom Typ 26650, besitzt eine Kapazität von 4600 mAh und ist austauschbar. Zhiyun gibt eine maximale Laufzeit von 14 Stunden an. Mit perfekter Balance sind durchaus über 12 Stunden erreichbar. Die Ladezeit über die Micro USB Ladebuchse des Gimbals lag im Test bei 3 Stunden. Schnellere Ladezeiten können mit einem separaten Ladegerät erreicht werden. Praktisch ist, dass der Akkustand direkt über die App abgelesen werden kann und das Gimbal die verbleibende Restkapazität über einen LED-Indikator anzeigt.

Preisvergleich

amzprice
  • 309.00€
  • Versand DE
gearbestprice
  • 231.94€
  • Versand CN
camfereprice
  • 257.14€
  • Versand CN
tomtop
  • 225.32€
  • Versand CN
Positiv

►Hohe Verarbeitungsqualität
►Geeignet für Smartphones und Action Cams
►Einfache Inbetriebnahme und Bedienung
►Präzise Stabilisierung
►Gut funktionierendes Objekt-Tracking
►Sehr gute Akkulaufzeit
►Akku austauschbar

Negativ

►Kein USB zu USB Adapterkabel enthalten
►USB Buchsen nicht geschützt
►Kein LED-Indikator für Modi
►ZY Play für Android noch nicht verfügbar

Bewertung
Punkte
Erster Eindruck
9.0
Verarbeitung
9.0
Design
8.5
Funktionsumfang
8.5
Einsteigerfreundlichkeit
8.5
Stabilisierung
9.0
App
6.5
Akkulaufzeit
9.0
Fazit

In der Preisklasse um 250€ bietet das Zhiyun Smooth 3 ein hervorragendes Preis-Leistungsverhältnis und kann es durchaus auch mit einem DJI Osmo aufnehmen. Das Gimbal überzeugt durch eine sehr gute Verarbeitung, eine einfache Bedienung sowie eine ordentliche Stabilisierung. Hervorzuheben ist auch die langanhaltende Akkulaufzeit. Kleinere Schwächen gibt es noch bei der veralteten Android App, die hoffentlich bald durch die ZY Play App ersetzt wird.

8.5
Punkte
You have rated this

Hinterlasse einen Kommentar

5 Kommentare An "Zhiyun Smooth 3 Test – 3-Achsen Smartphone Gimbal"

Benachrichtigung
avatar
Sortieren nach:   Neueste | Älteste
Sebb
Gast
Sebb

Hi, du schreibst man kann das Gimbal mit Smartphones und Kameras verwenden. Wie genau meinst du das? Ich suche nämlich ein Gimbal, in das mein iPhone passt und das gleichzeitig meine GoPro tragen kann. Funktioniert das mit diesem?

Rickard
Gast
Rickard

Hast du einen Vergleich zur DJI Osmo?

wpDiscuz