Reviews
5
Review

Elephone P9000 Review - Tips China Smartphone

by 20. April 2016

Elephone is known for cheap Chinaphones and was able to establish myself the "P-Series" quite in the highly competitive market of smartphones from China. With the Elephone P9000, the manufacturer wants to continue the successful course of the predecessor model. Whether the P9000 actually maintains this course and what novelties the smartphone has to offer, I summarized in this current test for Elephone P9000 for you.

overview
Manufacturer/Model

Elephone

Product

Elephone P9000

Specifications

OS: Android 6
Display: 5.5 inch LTPS 1920x1080
SoC: MediaTek Helio P10 Octa Core
Memory: 4GB RAM, 32GB Internal
SIM: Dual-SIM (Hybrid)

Network:
4G: FDD-LTE: B1/B3/B7/B8/B20
TDD-LTE: B38 / B40
3G: WCDMA: B1/B2/B5/B8
2G: GSM: B2/B3/B5/B8

Battery: 3.000mAh (not changeable)

Sensors:
Gyroscope, accelerometer, brightness sensor,
Proximity sensor, Hall sensor, GPS, NFC

Bluetooth: V4.0
WIFI: 802.11a / b / g / n Dual Band 2.4G / 5G

Scope of delivery

1x Elephone P9000
1x USB Type-C cable
1x SIM pin
1x Silicone Protective Case
1x user manual
1x advertising card

First impression of Elephone P9000

Update: The test report has been adapted again to the current OTA update P9000_20170112.

Scope of delivery

That was delivered Elephone P9000 in a modern plastic box. Included were next to the smartphone still one USB Type-C charging or data cable, SIM Pin to open the SIM slot, a multilingual Manual, also in German, one Silicone back to protect the smartphone, as well as a advertising cardsThat points to the smartphone's near-charge possibility. Anyone who wonders now if the charger was forgotten in the list, I have to disappoint. The Elephone P9000 comes without a charger. The promotional card indicates a Quick Charge charger, which can be purchased for about 13 €.

Elephone P9000 - Unboxing - Review [German / German]

Design and workmanship

The smartphone itself was convincing in the first hands-on. At a Weight of about 145g the P9000 is very easy. The case frame is a beautiful one anthracite-colored aluminum frame, The arrangement of the function keys is interesting. These are located almost in the center, which allows the keys to reach faster and the 5.5 inch device can be operated more easily. In addition to the ordinary Power button and the Volume rocker, the Elephone P9000 has an additional button, the so-called "Smart Key", which can be used as a quick launch button for a user-defined app. All physical controls are designed to fit, made of aluminum and sit in the rack without much play.

At the upper edge of the case, the P9000 has one 3.5mm jack audio output, At the bottom of the frame are the USB Type-C female, the microphone and the speaker. The SIM tray is inserted on the left side. It should be noted that the SIM slot is a so-called "Hybrid Slot" is. Here, either the dual-SIM function (2x Micro SIM) whoever wants to use the memory expansion option must "sacrifice" one of the slots (1x Micro SIM, 1x Micro SD).

The front side of the Chinaphone looks comparatively simple. On physical keys was waived and also the capacitive buttons, only amount to the main button below the display. However, these were assigned several functions. Above the display is the auricle, right next to it the 8 megapixel front camera, to the left of the auricle is the proximity sensor.

The non-removable back panel of the Elephone P9000 is made of plastic and has a texture similar to sandpaper. Below the 13 megapixel main camera there is still the Fingerprint scanner, In addition to the main camera, a dual LED flash and a laser focus were added.

Display

As soon as you turn on the P9000, it comes with you 1.6mm very low precipitating display bezel (Bezel) on. The display has a Diagonal of 5.5 inches and solve it 1920 × 1080 pixels (Full HD) on. The LTPS Panel is from LG.

The colors shown are very strong and the black value is good. Individual pixels are no longer recognizable due to the high resolution. The maximum brightness of the display could be a little better. Especially in strong sunlight, the display can not read so well.

In my test device has also the so-called "Clouding" made noticeable at the bottom of the display. Here are usually at the edges of the display different brightness marks. To what extent other devices of the row are concerned I can not judge, but the effect holds with the P9000 tested by me in the frame and is understandable only with everyday atypical situations.

The display settings have been changed "Miravision" extended, whereby the presentation can be customized. In addition to two predefined profiles, all settings within MiraVision can also be freely selected by the user.

All input made in the course of the test was accurately recognized by the touch screen. Multitouch is supported with up to 5 fingers.

Performance

The Elephone P9000 uses one MediaTek Helio P10 SoC (MT6755), one 64bit octa-core processor, the one with 2GHz overclocked. The SoC GPU amounts to one Mali-T860, The RAM is included 4GBwhich is internal memory 32GB.

In everyday life, the smartphone can be operated very smoothly. Multitasking is not a problem and even more computationally intensive games like Asphalt 8 could be played smoothly in the test. Even after prolonged use and numerous open apps, the memory usage was limited and a smooth operation was maintained.

User interface and functions

With Android 6 Elephone P9000 is one of the first Chinaphones with Android Marshmallow. The user interface differs visually hardly from Stock Android, but who changes in the settings, is surprised by a variety of additional settings and features. Here is an overview of the most important functions:

First of all, the additional extensions were not translated by the manufacturer!

Harlequin LED Notification: Control the notification LED located below the display. Here it can be set that the LED pulsates upon receipt of a notification, as well as it is possible to set at which day and night times the LED should be active. Unfortunately, no color settings can be made.

Finger Scanner: Here you can configure the fingerprint scanner. Overall, 5 finger profiles can be created. In the review, the scanner proved to be reliable. There were very few errors. The detection time was very low, which allowed the device to unlock in a timely manner.

Prevent Pocket Dial: This option prevents the smartphone from unlocking itself in your pocket, for example.

Safety: Functions have also been added in the security settings. It is thus possible to determine which apps are to be started when the smartphone starts up, the app authorizations can be individually controlled, individual files can be encrypted and an anti-theft function, which remotely locks or deletes the smartphone, has been specially integrated.

Smart Assistant: In the settings there is a separate category called "Smart Assistant". There are settings for gesture control and an already known from other manufacturers "Smart Wake" function, by means of which one can start by drawing a letter on the standby display, a predefined app. In addition, the side-mounted quick start button can be configured, there is a "Volume up key wake up" function, the laser focus on the back can be set, you can activate an additional navigation bar and you can set which apps should be closed at what time, for example, to empty the memory.

Another difference to Stock Android 6.0, is the app drawer. With Stock Android you can scroll through the app overview, with the Elephone P9000, however, you leaf through the pages. Due to the lack of capacitive keys, the user interface is controlled via the touchscreen on the one hand, and the capacitive key below the display on the other hand is multifunctional. Updates get the smartphone OTA (Over The Air).

Updates to the operating system

(Update Novemner 2016): The Elephone P9000 is one of the most widely used China smartphones, which is why the developer community is in constant growth. On XDA-Developers There are now numerous custom ROMs, tweaks and other useful tips for P9000. One of the most famous ROMs is the "Eragon" ROM, which was and still is very successful on the P8000. If you prefer to equip your device with CyanogenMod, there is a fully functional CyanogenMod 13.0 build. In mid-November is also a first beta of the Android 7.0 nougat update for the Elephone P9000 appear. However, it is still advisable to wait for the official release, as the current beta version still has some bugs to fight.

Android Nougat demo on #ElephoneP9000

(Update January 2017): With the release of the update P9000_20160810 For many devices, the recovery function has been damaged, resulting in an OTA update P9000_20170112 impossible. The remedy is to flash the recovery images again via the SP-Flashtool. The data is retained and an OTA update to the latest firmware is then possible! Detailed instructions can be found in the official Elephone Forum.

Camera

The main camera of the Elephone P9000 shoots recordings with up to 13 Megapixel, According to the manufacturer was one Image sensor from Sony, with the label IMX258 used. The f-number is included f / 2.0, Next to the main camera is a dual LED flashwhich triggers with different color temperatures to shoot even more beautiful pictures at night. Also next to the main camera is a Laser autofocus, Unlike conventional smartphones that focus on the contrast range, the Elephone P9000 focuses on the infrared laser. Especially in low light conditions, even faster focusing is possible.

Since I knew that a previous firmware of the P9000 just caused a lot of problems with the camera, I flashed the latest ROM, according to the manufacturer, these problems have been resolved. In practice, the Elephone P9000 shoots good pictures. The colors look crisp and natural. The sharpness is given in good light conditions and also the picture noise is limited. Nevertheless, the image quality, the camera app and the triggering time could be improved. In low light conditions, the images are increasingly blurred. Even in good light conditions, it may happen that the autofocus does not focus accurately and the images appear blurry. The camera app already has all the basic functions, but could be extended by additional shooting modes. The trip takes a relatively long time and the autofocus is still a bit sluggish.

The 8 megapixel front camera convinced. As an image sensor was a OmniVision OV8858 used. Even in low light conditions, this camera is suitable for useful selfies.

Update: Since the numerous OTA updates, the camera has also improved. Nevertheless, the potential is not exhausted! Meanwhile, the laser autofocus works a bit more accurately.

Shooting Elephone P9000 main camera

Klang

The sound from the external speaker is good at low volume. However, once you set the maximum volume, the sound is very tinny and can also partial scratching is not uncommon.

The sound over the 3.5mm audio output is good. A disturbing background noise has not made itself felt. Noteworthy is the maximum volume.

Telephony, Bluetooth, WiFi and NFC

All common frequencies in Germany are supported (also 800MHz / LTE band 20), 2G about 3G to 4G is possible. In the call test the Elephone P9000 could convince. My interlocutor could understand me clearly, as well as I could understand him well.

Active Bluetooth connections were stable and the range average. The WiFi has an excellent range and is very sensitive. Even far-off networks were displayed in the WiFi overview. Also the Dual Band Suitability is a big selling point of the P9000.

NFC (Near Field Communication) also works very well with the Elephone P9000. "Tags" I could easily describe and read out. A map emulation is possible. Also, the device can be used for mobile payment.

Another very interesting feature is the interface MHL (Mobile High-Definition Link), This is an alternative to HDMI, which allows the smartphone to transmit both audio and video data to a screen while being charged via the cable. Unfortunately I could not test this function because of the missing cable.

GPS and other sensors

The GPS fix was found with the Elephone P9000 in no time. In free space the GPS was consistently accurate up to 2 meters. For improved navigation, the smartphone also has an e-compass. Other sensors include a gyroscope, an acceleration sensor, a brightness sensor, a proximity sensor and a Hall sensor.

Update: The update has improved both the GPS and the gyroscope. The GPS finds the "GPS fix" even faster and the gyroscope works precisely.

Accumulator

According to the manufacturer, the capacity of the battery is 3.000mAh, I could also understand this value with a USB multimeter. Since the delivery was not accompanied by a charger, I used an alternative quick charger, which the Elephone P9000 within 1 ½ hours fully charged was. Incidentally, the smartphone can also be charged wirelessly with a Qi charger. In everyday life, the battery was convincing. After a day of conventional usage, I still had 40% of the battery available in the evening. With moderate use, the Elephone P9000 will last for a good two days. With the latest ROM, the battery life has improved even further, which also fixed the WiFi bug.

Update: With the latest June 2016 ROM, the Quick Charge feature will not work as it should. If you were able to recharge your smartphone with the appropriate charger in no time, it takes much longer now.

Final Words

Positive

►Good workmanship
►Good handling
►Android 6
►Performant Helio P10 and 4GB RAM
►High-resolution display
►Good network coverage
►NFC

Negative

►Maximum display brightness
►Light Clouding
►Camera needs improvement

rating
Our rating
user Rating
Rate Here
First impression
8.0
-
application
8.5
-
Design
8.5
-
Display
7.5
-
Performance
8.5
-
User Interface
8.5
-
Camera
6.5
-
Fingerprint scanner
8.0
-
connectivity
8.5
-
GPS & sensors
8.0
-
Audio
6.0
-
Accumulator
8.0
-
Summary

With the Helio P10 and 4GB RAM, the Elephone P9000 is a powerful midrange smartphone. The workmanship is good and the design is also appealing. With Android 6 Elephone uses the latest Android, which shines through clarity and is also very performant. The functional range is also impressive. Rarely does a smartphone of this price range have a quick-start button, a laser focus, NFC and even the latest USB Type-C standard.

The display is high resolution sharp and the color reproduction is successful. Only the maximum display brightness and the light clouding at the lower edge of the display have to be chalked to the smartphone here.

Both the main camera and the front camera produce good picture and video recordings. Nevertheless, the main camera is in need of improvement on the software side.

Overall, the Elephone P9000 is a recommended midrange smartphone.

7.9
Our rating
-
user Rating
You have rated this

5
Leave a comment

avatar
2 Comment threads
3 Thread replies
1 Followers
Mostïve comment
Hottest comment thread
3 Comment authors
TimoVolkerPeter Recent comment authors
Subscribe
Latest Oldest
notification
Peter
guest
Peter

"NFC (Near Field Communication) also works very well with the Elephone P9000. ... A map emulation is possible. Also, the device can be used for mobile payment. "

With which app was the payment possible? For example, when trying to use Payback Pay, I get the message: "Uncertain device detected. The use of Pay is not possible with this device for security reasons. "
Incidentally, my mobile is neither rooted nor otherwise "dangled".

For any further reference I am grateful. Unfortunately, I have been able to find only posts in various forums, which was complained that the payment function with the P9000 can not be used.

Timo
admin
Timo

The Elephone P9000 would certainly be able to be used for mobile payment, but it gets the manufacturer for months not on the series to properly sign the in-house ROM. Best to wait or play CM13. This should be possible mobile payment.

Peter
guest
Peter

Thanks for the quick post! Too bad that the manufacturer is doing something to this very successful device!

Volker
guest
Volker

How can I test the card emulation, are there any possibilities to describe the emulation?

Timo
admin
Timo

With the NFC map emulation, the smartphone can be described as an NFC tag and read by NFC readers.

Reviews
5
Review

Elephone P9000 Testbericht – Spitzen China Smartphone

by 20. April 2016

Elephone ist für preiswerte Chinaphones bekannt und konnte sich mir der „P-Reihe“ durchaus auf dem hart umkämpften Markt der Smartphones aus China etablieren. Mit dem Elephone P9000 möchte der Hersteller den Erfolgskurs des Vorgängermodells fortführen. Ob das P9000 auch tatsächlich diesen Kurs beibehält und welche Neuheiten das Smartphone zu bieten hat, habe ich in diesem aktuellen Test zum Elephone P9000 für euch zusammengefasst.

Überblick
Hersteller

Elephone

Produktbezeichnung

Elephone P9000

Spezifikationen

OS: Android 6
Display: 5.5 Zoll LTPS 1920x1080
SoC: MediaTek Helio P10 Octa-Core
Speicher: 4GB RAM, 32GB Intern
SIM: Dual-SIM (Hybrid)

Netz:
4G: FDD-LTE: B1/B3/B7/B8/B20
TDD-LTE: B38/B40
3G: WCDMA: B1/B2/B5/B8
2G: GSM: B2/B3/B5/B8

Akku: 3.000mAh (nicht-wechselbar)

Sensoren:
Gyroskop, Beschleunigungssensor, Helligkeitssensor,
Näherungssensor, Hall-Geber, GPS, NFC

Bluetooth: V4.0
WIFI: 802.11a/b/g/n Dual Band 2.4G/5G

Lieferumfang

1x Elephone P9000
1x USB Typ-C Kabel
1x SIM-Pin
1x Silikon-Schutzhülle
1x Bedienungsanleitung
1x Werbekärtchen

Erster Eindruck zum Elephone P9000

Update: Der Testbericht wurde nochmals auf das aktuelle OTA Update P9000_20170112 angepasst.

Lieferumfang

Geliefert wurde das Elephone P9000 in einer modernen Kunststoffbox. Enthalten waren neben dem Smartphone noch ein USB Typ-C Lade- bzw. Datenkabel, ein SIM-Pin zum Öffnen des SIM-Slots, eine mehrsprachige Bedienungsanleitung, auch in Deutsch, eine Silikonrückseite zum Schutz des Smartphones, sowie ein Werbekärtchen, das auf die Fast-Charge Möglichkeit des Smartphones hinweist. Wer sich jetzt fragt, ob bei der Aufzählung das Ladegerät vergessen wurde, den muss ich enttäuschen. Das Elephone P9000 wird ohne Ladegerät geliefert. Das Werbekärtchen weist auf ein Quick Charge Ladegerät hin, welches für ungefähr 13€ erworben werden kann.

Elephone P9000 – Unboxing – Review [Deutsch / German]

Design und Verarbeitung

Das Smartphone selbst konnte im ersten Hands-On überzeugen. Bei einem Gewicht von ungefähr 145g ist das P9000 überaus leicht. Beim Gehäuserahmen handelt es sich um einem schönen anthrazitfarbenen Aluminiumrahmen. Interessant ist die Anordnung der Funktionstasten. Diese befinden sich fast mittig, wodurch sich die Tasten schneller erreichen lassen und das 5.5 Zoll Gerät einfacher bedient werden kann. Neben der gewöhnlichen Power-Taste und der Lautstärkewippe, besitzt das Elephone P9000 eine zusätzliche Taste, den so genannten „Smart-Key“, der als Schnellstarttaste für eine vom Nutzer festgelegte App genutzt werden kann. Alle physischen Bedientasten sind dem Design angepasst, bestehen ebenfalls aus Aluminium und sitzen ohne viel Spiel im Gehäuserahmen.

Am oberen Gehäuserand besitzt das P9000 einen 3.5mm Klinke Audioausgang. Am unteren Rand des Rahmens befinden sich die USB Typ-C Buchse, das Mikrofon und der Lautsprecher. Der SIM-Tray wird an der linken Seite eingeschoben. Zu beachten ist, dass der SIM-Slot ein so genannter „Hybrid-Slot“ ist. Hierbei kann entweder die Dual-SIM Funktion (2x Micro SIM) genutzt werden, wer hingegen die Speichererweiterungsmöglichkeit nutzen möchte, der muss einen der Slots „opfern“ (1x Micro SIM, 1x Micro SD).

Vorderseitig sieht das Chinaphone vergleichsweise schlicht aus. Auf physische Tasten wurde verzichtet und auch die kapazitiven Tasten, belaufen sich lediglich auf die Haupttaste unterhalb des Displays. Dieser wurden jedoch mehrere Funktionen zugeteilt. Oberhalb des Displays befindet sich die Ohrmuschel, rechts daneben die 8 Megapixel Frontkamera, links der Ohrmuschel befindet sich der Näherungssensor.

Die nicht abnehmbare Rückseite des Elephone P9000 besteht aus Kunststoff und hat eine Struktur, die Sandpapier ähnelt. Unterhalb der 13 Megapixel Hauptkamera befindet sich dort noch der Fingerabdruckscanner. Neben der Hauptkamera wurden ein dualer LED-Blitz und ein Laserfokus eingelassen.

Display

Sobald man das P9000 einschaltet, fällt der mit 1.6mm sehr gering ausfallende Display-Rahmen (Bezel) auf. Das Display besitzt eine Diagonale von 5.5 Zoll und löst mit 1920×1080 Pixel (Full-HD) auf. Das LTPS Panel stammt von LG.

Die dargestellten Farben wirken sehr kräftig und auch der Schwarzwert ist gut. Einzelne Pixel sind durch die hohe Auflösung nicht mehr zu erkennen. Die maximale Leuchtkraft des Displays könnte etwas besser sein. Gerade bei starker Sonneneinstrahlung lässt sich das Display nicht mehr so gut ablesen.

Bei meinem Testgerät hat sich zudem das so genannte „Clouding“ am unteren Rand des Displays bemerkbar gemacht. Hierbei verlaufen meist an den Rändern des Displays unterschiedliche Helligkeitsabzeichnungen. Inwiefern andere Geräte der Reihe betroffen sind kann ich nicht beurteilen, doch der Effekt hält sich bei dem von mir getesteten P9000 im Rahmen und ist nur bei alltagsuntypischen Situationen nachvollziehbar.

Die Displayeinstellungen wurden um „MiraVision“ erweitert, womit sich die Darstellung individuell anpassen lässt. Neben zwei vorgegebenen Profilen können alle Einstellungen innerhalb von MiraVision auch vom Nutzer frei gewählt werden.

Alle im Laufe des Tests getätigten Eingaben wurden vom Touchscreen genauestens erkannt. Multitouch wird mit bis zu 5 Fingern unterstützt.

Leistung

Das Elephone P9000 verwendet einen MediaTek Helio P10 SoC (MT6755), einen 64bit Octa-Core Prozessor, der mit 2GHz taktet. Die GPU des SoC beläuft sich auf einen Mali-T860. Der RAM liegt bei 4GB, der interne Speicher beträgt 32GB.

Im Alltag lässt sich das Smartphone sehr flüssig bedienen. Multitasking stellt kein Problem dar und auch rechenintensivere Spiele wie Asphalt 8, konnten im Test flüssig gespielt werden. Selbst nach längerer Nutzung und zahlreichen geöffneten Apps, hielt sich die Speicherauslastung in Grenzen und eine flüssige Bedienbarkeit blieb erhalten.

Benutzeroberfläche und Funktionen

Mit Android 6 ist das Elephone P9000 eines der ersten Chinaphones mit Android Marshmallow. Die Benutzeroberfläche weicht optisch kaum von Stock Android ab, doch wer in die Einstellungen wechselt, wird durch eine Vielzahl an zusätzlichen Einstellungsmöglichkeiten und Features überrascht. Hier eine Übersicht zu den wichtigsten Funktionen:

Vorweg, die zusätzlichen Erweiterungen wurden nicht vom Hersteller übersetzt!

Harlequin LED Notification: Steuerung der Benachrichtigungs-LED, die sich unterhalb des Displays befindet. Hier lässt sich einstellen, dass die LED mit Erhalt einer Benachrichtigung pulsiert, als auch lässt sich einstellen, zu welchen Tages- und Nachtzeiten die LED aktiv sein soll. Leider lassen sich keine Einstellungen zur Farbgebung vornehmen.

Fingerscanner: Hier lässt sich der Fingerabdruckscanner konfigurieren. Insgesamt können 5 Fingerprofile angelegt werden. Im Review erwies sich der Scanner als zuverlässig. Fehlerkennungen gab es nur sehr wenige. Auch die Erkennungszeit war sehr gering, wodurch sich das Gerät zeitnah entsperren ließ.

Prevent Pocket Dial: Diese Option verhindert, dass sich das Smartphone beispielsweise in der Hosentasche selbstständig entsperrt.

Sicherheit: Auch in den Sicherheitseinstellungen wurden Funktionen hinzugefügt. So lässt sich bestimmen, welche Apps mit dem Systemstart des Smartphones gestartet werden sollen, die App-Berechtigungen lassen sich individuell regeln, einzelne Dateien lassen sich verschlüsseln und eine Anti-Diebstahlsfunktion, die das Smartphone aus der Ferne sperrt oder löscht, wurde eigens integriert.

Smart-Assistant: In den Einstellungen gibt es eine eigene Kategorie mit dem Namen „Smart Assistant“. Hier gibt es Einstellungsmöglichkeiten zur Gestensteuerung und eine bereits von anderen Herstellern bekannte „Smart Wake“ Funktion, mittels der man durch zeichnen eines Buchstaben auf das im Standby befindliche Display, eine vordefinierte App startet kann. Zudem lässt sich die seitlich angebrachte Schnellstarttaste konfigurieren, es gibt eine „Volume up key wake up“ Funktion, der rückseitig befindliche Laserfokus lässt sich einstellen, man kann eine zusätzliche Navigationsleiste aktivieren und es lässt sich einstellen, welche Apps zu welcher Zeit geschlossen werden sollen, um beispielsweise den Speicher zu leeren.

Ein weiterer Unterschied zu Stock Android 6.0, ist der App-Drawer. Bei Stock Android kann man durch die App-Übersicht scrollen, mit dem Elephone P9000 blättert man hingegen durch die Seiten. Durch die fehlenden kapazitiven Tasten, wird die Benutzeroberfläche einerseits über den Touchscreen gesteuert, andererseits ist kapazitive Taste unterhalb des Displays multifunktional. Updates erhält das Smartphone OTA (Over The Air).

Updates zum Betriebssystem

(Update Novemner 2016): Das Elephone P9000 gehört zu weit verbreitetsten China-Smartphones, weshalb auch die Entwickler-Community im ständigen Wachstum ist. Auf XDA-Developers gibt es mittlerweile zahlreiche Custom-ROMs, Tweaks und sonstige, nützliche Tipps zum P9000. Eine der bekanntesten ROMs ist die „Eragon“ ROM, die auch auf dem P8000 überaus erfolgreich war und immer noch ist. Wer sein Gerät lieber mit CyanogenMod ausstatten möchte, für den gibt es einen voll funktionsfähigen CyanogenMod 13.0 Build. Mitte November ist auch eine erste Beta des Android 7.0 Nougat Updates für das Elephone P9000 erscheinen. Es empfiehlt sich allerdings noch auf die offizielle Veröffentlichung zu warten, da die aktuelle Beta Version noch mit einigen Fehlern zu kämpfen hat.

Android Nougat demo on #ElephoneP9000

(Update Januar 2017): Mit der Veröffentlichung des Updates P9000_20160810 wurde bei vielen Geräten die Recovery Funktion beschädigt, was ein OTA Update auf P9000_20170112 unmöglich macht. Abhilfe schafft ein erneutes Flashen der Recovery Images via dem SP-Flashtool. Die Daten bleiben dabei erhalten und ein OTA Update auf die aktuellste Firmware ist anschließend möglich! Eine ausführliche Anleitung findet man im offiziellen Elephone Forum.

Kamera

Die Hauptkamera des Elephone P9000 schießt Aufnahmen mit bis zu 13 Megapixel. Laut Hersteller wurde ein Bildsensor von Sony, mit der Bezeichnung IMX258 verwendet. Die Blendenzahl liegt bei f/2.0. Neben der Hauptkamera befindet sich ein dualer LED-Blitz, der mit unterschiedlichen Farbtemperaturen auslöst, um so bei Nacht noch schönere Bilder zu schießen. Ebenfalls neben der Hauptkamera befindet sich ein Laser-Autofokus. Im Gegensatz zu üblichen Smartphones, die über den Kontrastbereich fokussieren, fokussiert das Elephone P9000 über den Infrarot-Laser. Gerade bei schlechten Lichtverhältnissen ist somit ein noch schnelleres Fokussieren möglich.

Da mir bekannt war, dass eine frühere Firmware des P9000 gerade bei der Kamera vielerlei Probleme verursachte, habe ich die aktuellste ROM geflasht, bei der laut Hersteller diese Probleme behoben wurden. In der Praxis schießt das Elephone P9000 gute Bilder. Die Farben wirken knackig und natürlich. Die schärfe ist bei guten Lichtverhältnissen gegeben und auch das Bildrauschen hält sich in Grenzen. Dennoch sind die Bildqualität, die Kamera-App und auch die Auslösezeit verbesserungswürdig. Bei schlechten Lichtverhältnissen werden die Bilder zunehmend verschwommen. Auch bei guten Lichtverhältnissen kann es vorkommen, dass der Autofokus nicht akkurat fokussiert und die Bilder verschwommen wirken.  Die Kamera-App besitzt bereits alle Basis-Funktionen, könnte aber um zusätzliche Aufnahmemodi erweitert werden. Die Auslösezeit dauert vergleichsweise lange und auch der Autofokus ist noch etwas träge.

Die 8 Megapixel Frontkamera überzeugt. Als Bildsensor wurde ein OmniVision OV8858 verwendet. Selbst bei schlechten Lichtverhältnissen eignet sich diese Kamera für brauchbare Selfies.

Update: Seit den zahlreichen OTA Updates hat sich die Kamera ebenfalls verbessert. Dennoch ist das mögliche Potential noch nicht ausgeschöpft! Der Laser-Autofokus arbeitet mittlerweile aber etwas genauer.

Aufnahmen Elephone P9000 Hauptkamera

Klang

Der Klang über den externen Lautsprecher ist auf niedriger Lautstärke gut. Sobald man jedoch die maximale Lautstärke einstellt, wird der Klang sehr blechern und kann auch teilweises Kratzen ist keine Seltenheit.

Der Klang über den 3.5mm Audioausgang ist gut. Ein störendes Grundrauschen hat sich nicht bemerkbar gemacht. Beachtlich ist die maximale Lautstärke.

Telefonie, Bluetooth, WiFi und NFC

Alle in Deutschland gängigen Frequenzen werden unterstützt (auch 800MHz / LTE Band 20), 2G über 3G bis 4G ist möglich. Im Gesprächstest konnte das Elephone P9000 überzeugen. Mein Gesprächspartner konnte mich klar und deutlich verstehen, als auch konnte ich ihn gut verstehen.

Aktive Bluetooth-Verbindungen waren stabil und die Reichweite durchschnittlich. Das WiFi besitzt eine hervorragende Reichweite und ist sehr empfindlich eingestellt. Selbst weit entfernte Netze wurden in der WiFi Übersicht angezeigt. Auch die Dual Band Tauglichkeit ist ein großer Pluspunkt des P9000.

NFC (Near Field Communication) funktioniert mit dem Elephone P9000 ebenfalls sehr gut. „Tags“ konnte ich problemlos beschreiben und auch auslesen. Eine Kartenemulation ist möglich. Auch kann das Gerät zum mobilen Bezahlen verwendet werden.

Eine weitere sehr interessante Funktion ist die Schnittstelle MHL (Mobile High-Definition Link). Hierbei handelt es sich um eine Alternative zu HDMI, wodurch das Smartphone einerseits Audio- und Videodaten zu einem Bildschirm überträgt und gleichzeitig über das Kabel aufgeladen wird. Leider konnte ich diese Funktion wegen des fehlenden Kabels nicht testen.

GPS und sonstige Sensoren

Der GPS-Fix wurde mit dem Elephone P9000 in kürzester Zeit gefunden. Auf freier Fläche war das GPS bis auf 2 Meter durchgehend genau. Zur verbesserten Navigation besitzt das Smartphone auch einen E-Kompass. Weitere Sensoren sind ein Gyroskop, ein Beschleunigungssensor, ein Helligkeitssensor, ein Näherungssensor und ein Hall-Geber.

Update: Mit dem Update hat sich sowohl das GPS, aber auch das Gyroskop verbessert. Das GPS findet den „GPS-Fix“ nun noch schneller und auch das Gyroskop arbeitet präzise.

Akku

Laut Hersteller beträgt die Kapazität des Akkus 3.000mAh. Diesen Wert konnte ich mit einem USB Multimeter auch nachvollziehen. Da dem Lieferumfang kein Ladegerät beilag, verwendete ich ein alternatives Schnellladegerät, womit das Elephone P9000 innerhalb von 1 ½ Stunden vollständig aufgeladen war. Übrigens lässt sich das Smartphone auch drahtlos mit einem Qi-Ladegerät aufladen. Im Alltag konnte der Akku überzeugen. Nach einem Tag herkömmlicher Nutzung hatte ich am Abend noch 40% des Akkus zur Verfügung. Bei gemäßigter Nutzung kommt man mit dem Elephone P9000 gut zwei Tage über die Runden. Mit der aktuellsten ROM hat sich die Akkulaufzeit nochmals verbessert, womit auch der WiFi Bug behoben wurde.

Update: Mit der aktuellen ROM vom Juni 2016 funktioniert die Quick Charge Funktion nicht mehr, wie sie eigentlich sollte. Konnte man das Smartphone mit entsprechendem Ladegerät noch in kürzester Zeit aufladen, dauert es nun deutlich länger.

Positiv

►Gute Verarbeitung
►Gutes Handling
►Android 6
►Performanter Helio P10 und 4GB RAM
►Hochauflösendes Display
►Gute Netzabdeckung
►NFC

Negativ

►Maximale Displayhelligkeit
►Leichtes Clouding
►Kamera verbesserungswürdig

Bewertung
Punkte
Erster Eindruck
8.0
Verarbeitung
8.5
Design
8.5
Display
7.5
Leistung
8.5
Benutzeroberfläche
8.5
Kamera
6.5
Fingerabdruckscanner
8.0
Konnektivität
8.5
GPS & Sensoren
8.0
Audio
6.0
Akku
8.0
Fazit

Mit dem Helio P10 und 4GB RAM ist das Elephone P9000 ein leistungsfähiges Mittelklasse-Smartphone. Die Verarbeitung ist gut und auch das Design ist ansprechend. Mit Android 6 setzt Elephone auf das aktuellste Android, welches durch Übersichtlichkeit glänzt und zudem besonders performant ist. Auch der Funktionsumfang kann sich sehen lassen. Selten besitzt ein Smartphone dieser Preisklasse eine Schnellstarttaste, einen Laserfokus, NFC und auch den neusten USB Typ-C Standard.

Das Display ist hochauflösend scharf und auch die Farbdarstellung ist gelungen. Lediglich die maximale Displayhelligkeit und das leichte Clouding am unteren Displayrand muss dem Smartphone hier angekreidet werden.

Sowohl die Hauptkamera, als auch die Frontkamera produzieren gute Bild- und Videoaufnahmen. Dennoch ist die Hauptkamera softwareseitig verbesserungswürdig.

Insgesamt ist das Elephone P9000 ein empfehlenswertes Mittelklasse-Smartphone.

7.9
Punkte
You have rated this

5
Hinterlasse einen Kommentar

avatar
2 Comment threads
3 Thread replies
1 Followers
 
Most reacted comment
Hottest comment thread
3 Comment authors
TimoVolkerPeter Recent comment authors
  Subscribe  
Neueste Älteste
Benachrichtigung
Peter
Gast
Peter

„NFC (Near Field Communication) funktioniert mit dem Elephone P9000 ebenfalls sehr gut. …Eine Kartenemulation ist möglich. Auch kann das Gerät zum mobilen Bezahlen verwendet werden.“

Mit welcher App war die Bezahlung bitte möglich? Ich erhalte z.B. beim Versuch der Verwendung von Payback Pay die Meldung: „Unsicheres Gerät festgestellt. Die Nutzung von Pay ist mit diesem Gerät aus Sicherheitsgründen nicht möglich.“
Mein Handy ist übrigens weder gerootet noch sonst irgendwie „verbastelt“.

Für jeden weiter führenden Hinweis bin ich dankbar. Ich konnte bisher leider auch nur Beiträge in unterschiedlichen Foren finden, in denen beklagt wurde, dass die Bezahlfunktion mit dem P9000 nicht genutzt werden kann.

Timo
Admin
Timo

Das Elephone P9000 wäre durchaus in der Lage zum mobilen Bezahlen genutzt zu werden, allerdings bekommt es der Hersteller seit Monaten nicht auf die Reihe, die hauseigene ROM korrekt zu signieren. Am besten abwarten oder CM13 aufspielen. Damit sollte mobiles Bezahlen möglich sein.

Peter
Gast
Peter

Danke für den schnellen Beitrag! Schade, dass der Hersteller diesem sehr gelungenen Gert so etwas antut!

Volker
Gast
Volker

Wie kann man die Kartenemulation testen, gibt es da Möglichkeiten die Emulation zu beschreiben?

Timo
Admin
Timo

Durch die NFC Kartenemulation kann das Smartphone wie ein NFC-Tag beschrieben werden und von NFC Lesegeräten ausgelesen werden.